General question regarding 19" rack projects

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
User avatar
terjewinther
Common Wiggler
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:51 am
Location: Norway

General question regarding 19" rack projects

Post by terjewinther » Sun Apr 12, 2020 2:54 am

On the Oakley web site, you can see photos of several 19" rack projects with professional front panels, many of which are the prototypes built by Tony Allgood. Several of them are black front panels that seems to be mounted on a ready-bought enclosure. I know how to order front panels from Schaeffer in Germany, and have build many of the larger projects where I substituted the full 19" front from Schaeffer with the blank front that came with the 19" rack enclosure (bought seperately).

This is a question for the smaller rack-mounted projects. On the photos you can see that the (Schaeffer or something similar) front panel is placed outside of the blank front that came with the enclosure.

1. Is the new front panel in some way needed to be glued of fastened to the original blank panel?

2. Do you cut out a large open space for the module, or is it enough to drill the necessary holes required? (If so, I guess you can use the new panel to mark where the holes needs to be)

3. If one choose the "only holes necessary" option in the question above, how much extra space would you recommend for each hole?

4. New front panels for the Oakley projects are usually 3 mm thick. If mounted outside the blank front that comes with the enclosure, are there any considerations needed to be taken when it comes to total thickness when mounting parts? With other (non-Oakley) projects, I have sometimes run into problems of too thick total front panel, making it a challenge to secure pots or something else. So maybe 1,5 to 2 mm thickness is enough if mounted outside another (blank) front?

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: General question regarding 19" rack projects

Post by Synthbuilder » Sun Apr 12, 2020 3:15 am

terjewinther wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 2:54 am
Is the new front panel in some way needed to be glued of fastened to the original blank panel?
The overlay panel is held in place by two or more M3 machine screws. They're black so you may not see them.

Image

You can see the screw heads to the right of the input level, in between the two sine LFO controls, and to the left of the output level.
Do you cut out a large open space for the module, or is it enough to drill the necessary holes required?
You just need to drill the holes for the components. For the pots it's the usual 7.5mm and for the switches 6.9mm is fine. The LED holes need to be made a little bigger as you want the base of the LED in there to allow the LEDs to poke through the overlay. 4.5mm would be sufficient.

The overlay panel thickness would ideally be 1mm but Schaeffer only supply 1.5mm or 2mm because of the size of the panel. 2mm is probably is little too much because the switches don't quite stick out as far as you'd want. However, it is what it is, and you still end up with a very usable panel. One aspect of the thickness that isn't clear in the photo is that the pots are mounted onto the main panel and not through the overlay. That is, the nut of each pot is secured onto the main panel. The holes of the overlay are therefore very large to accommodate the pot nut and washer. The edge of the large holes and the nuts and washer are hidden by the control knob which is visually pleasing. You do have to tighten all the nuts before you fit the overlay.

Tony

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2952
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: General question regarding 19" rack projects

Post by Synthbuilder » Sun Apr 12, 2020 3:22 am

One thing I didn't mention is the power switch. This is the only component that is mounted to the overlay, although this would depend on the switch you used. The ones I use are push fit types that rely on a couple of springy bits of plastic behind the front flange. The hole in the main panel needs to be big enough to accommodate the complete switch body, including the springy bits, which is much bigger than the panel hole.

The FPD database on the project webpages do not include the full size hole for the switch. You'll need to edit or manually drill the hole according to the switch you want to use.

Tony

User avatar
terjewinther
Common Wiggler
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:51 am
Location: Norway

Re: General question regarding 19" rack projects

Post by terjewinther » Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:59 am

Thanks for all this info - highly appreciated.

Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”