Module Current Draw Database

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:53 pm

milkyjoe wrote:Hmm, are my questions too stupid or something ?
I feel like no one ever wants to help me out here. I get a negative vibe from this forum.......
Why is that ?
because this is a thread for LISTING the module currents you have measured yourself (please see the first post). a quick use of the advanced search tool (using the string "measure current" for topic titles only) brings up the following threads that might help you:

http://muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic. ... re+current

http://muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic. ... re+current

http://muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic. ... re+current

i think you'll find this a very positive forum in general, the only negativity being that which you bring to it yourself.

:zen:

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:22 pm

milkyjoe,

I don't think your questions are stupid but I do think you've probably asked these ones in the wrong area. All the technical boffins hang out in the DIY section!

From what you've said in your original post, I suspect you've gotten a bit confused on measuring of current. To measure current, you need to use an ammeter (or a multimeter set to measure current) and insert it BETWEEN the power source and the modules (known as "in series"). It sounds like you stuck the meter (which for measuring current has a VERY low resistance) across the supply, effectively presenting it with a short circuit, hence the modules cutting out. I'm sure there's a thread somewhere here that covers the correct way to measure the current draw of a module if you search for it.

Cheers,
Adam-V

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:23 pm

Well, I followed the directions in this thread exactly as it says:

(put the black prong from your DMM to ground and put the red to the plus or negative voltage).

Step 2: Plug your ASR in and measure again. The difference will be the current draw of the ASR..

-------------------
So now I have damaged my power supply /and/or modules??
Then I am told I'm being negative....

How do I know if I damaged anything ?

Why is there incorrect info here ?
P
Too bad nobody was willing to help me, including module manufacturers or the place I spent thousands of dollars buying my gear..
Yes, I am feeling negative right about now....

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:24 pm

Thanks for the help though, I don't know why I didn't think to use that search term and try google.

Well, now I know how to measure, and I just have to worry that I may have damaged something.

Apparently I need to learn to use search better. :doh:

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:12 pm

That sounds like instructions for measuring voltage which is measured by placing a voltmeter across the supply rather than an ammeter in series.

I don't think you'll have damaged your modules. The supply may not have survived though. Does it all still work?

Cheers,
Adam-V

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:46 pm

I think It still works, but I won't be sure until I get back home in a day.

I find it very strange that wrong information would be put in this thread.
If one looks through it, there are actually 2 people giving wrong instructions.

The worst part right now is that I am stuck away from home for the next 24 hrs, and I am worrying.

Don't you think that someone should remove the bad info in this thread so anyone else doesn't potentially destroy thousand of dollars worth of gear ?.

I am really starting to regret getting into modular at this point.
It's like "don't do this wrong, or you may fry this really expensive gear", but the important info needed is kept hidden from people.

I find it completely ridiculous how many manufacturers refuse to provide the current draw of there modules...this would not have happened if they did!
Is it just so people can screw up their system and buy more ?..

This sucks.....

I really hope my modules are ok. If they aren't, then I am done with this bs.

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:52 pm

I hope your system is OK too. Don't give up on modular synthesis based on this experience though. Learn from it and move on.

Which thread are you talking about that has the bad info?

Cheers,
Adam-V

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:53 pm

I posted in the DIY section asking if I could have damaged anything by doing this stupid thing. I'll see if I get a reply....

I wonder why the fuse did't blow in my new 650$ doepfer
case ?

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:55 pm

In this thread, I recall at least two people instructing to test for current the way I did. Or, am I really that stupid to have misunderstood the instructions?

Thanks for you replies Adam, I really appreciate it.

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:56 pm

You'll definitely get more help for this sort of stuff in the DIY section.

As for the fuse, is it the right one?

Cheers,
Adam-V

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:13 am

I certainly would think so, as I bought the case new from analogue haven...

Although, I have received faulty equipment from there before..

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:19 am

many manufacturers don't give current draw info, because it's a fluctuating thing, and can only ever be a guess. it depends on a lot of variables. some may give a minimum requirement, whilst others a maximum that will never be exceeded. if you are really worried about it, then you are doing the right thing by trying to measure it yourself. good luck!

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Wed Dec 21, 2011 12:37 pm

That's good to know. Thanks babaluma

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:25 pm

Well, i finally got a chance to test things, and i seem to have gotten lucky, as everything seems to work.

Thanks for the help

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:02 pm

Great to hear your system is OK milkyjoe.

You're not Boosh fan by any chance are you?

Cheers,
Adam-V

milkyjoe
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 10:46 am

Post by milkyjoe » Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:08 pm

Yes i am ! Havent watched it in awhile, but that (the one with milkyjoe) was one of my fav episodes .

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:27 am

Nanageddon's probably my favourite episode.

Cheers,
Adam-V

User avatar
futuresoundsystems
<3 CMOS
Posts: 1034
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Bristol, England
Contact:

Post by futuresoundsystems » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:54 pm

Can the list please be updated with the below? The DC1 measurement is wrong.

FSS DC1 Decade Counter: 20mA on +12V
FSS FIL1 Convulsion Generator: 20mA on +12V, 20mA on -12V
Unique designs and ideas in sound since 2005:
http://www.futuresoundsystems.co.uk

User avatar
Demi Jon
Switched Out
Posts: 1065
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:38 pm
Location: Otepoti, Te Waipounamu

Post by Demi Jon » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:18 pm

More Eurorack current draw info on this thread: List of Eurorack Modular Current Draw - can you help?

User avatar
Demi Jon
Switched Out
Posts: 1065
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:38 pm
Location: Otepoti, Te Waipounamu

Post by Demi Jon » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:30 pm

The marvelous John Noble has announced his amazing new resource http://eurorackdb.com/ over on this page here , which contains most of the technical specs for almost all known Eurorack modules. There are some informational gaps in there, which he'd love to fill with their deliciously correct info. And user feedback will make it better too!

John Noble, you deserve more ridiculous emoticons than muffwiggler.com currently provides.

User avatar
talkboxert
Common Wiggler
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:11 am
Location: Holland

RS-380

Post by talkboxert » Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:07 pm

Does anyone know the draw of the Analogue systems RS 380? It's not in their PDF :bang:

User avatar
rezzn8r
Aural Enthusiast
Posts: 3527
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Canada

Post by rezzn8r » Tue May 01, 2012 4:54 pm

:hmm:
I've seen the ChaQuO listed a few places as 4mA. Is that really correct? I thought it had a Quadrature Oscillator?
WTB: Miniwave Vowels & GR-New ROMs
-----------------
http://analognoisemonster.bandcamp.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/rezzn8r

User avatar
Parallel Worlds
unreal-time player
Posts: 663
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:15 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Post by Parallel Worlds » Fri May 11, 2012 4:11 am

Current draw of the Tiptop Audio Z-DSP anyone ?

User avatar
rezzn8r
Aural Enthusiast
Posts: 3527
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Canada

Post by rezzn8r » Fri May 11, 2012 5:26 pm

rezzn8r wrote::hmm:
I've seen the ChaQuO listed a few places as 4mA. Is that really correct? I thought it had a Quadrature Oscillator?
I just notice the description for Elby's Euro version of the chaquo is spec'd at 45 mA
WTB: Miniwave Vowels & GR-New ROMs
-----------------
http://analognoisemonster.bandcamp.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/rezzn8r

User avatar
jfloftin
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:29 am
Location: Huntsville, AL

Post by jfloftin » Sat May 12, 2012 9:37 am

Demi Jon wrote:The marvelous John Noble has announced his amazing new resource http://eurorackdb.com/ over on this page here , which contains most of the technical specs for almost all known Eurorack modules. There are some informational gaps in there, which he'd love to fill with their deliciously correct info. And user feedback will make it better too!

John Noble, you deserve more ridiculous emoticons than muffwiggler.com currently provides.
Yes! I concur... :nana:

Post Reply

Return to “Modular Synth General Discussion”