Modular Synths and Jazz?

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

vampiresrock
Learning to Wiggle

Modular Synths and Jazz?

Post by vampiresrock » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:43 pm

As a musician my primary genre is jazz and jazz-inspired jamming, and my second love is modular synths. Anyone know of anyone integrating modular synths into jazz/soul/funk/RnB? Also, any ideas for how you would set up a modular for jazz? This thread is half just-for-fun and half because-i-need-some-ideas ahaha. Would love to hear from the jazz community here if there is one anyway.

Keep it cool 8-)

Keltie
Veteran Wiggler

Post by Keltie » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:57 pm

I often read that the euro artist steevio makes modular jazz. I’m not sure I quite agree, though I’m not intimately familiar with his work ( nor jazz, lol)

But maybe worth checking him out....

cptnal
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by cptnal » Sun Oct 21, 2018 3:29 pm

Here's one, albeit a small piece of the whole...

[video][/video]

:sb: :sb: :goo: :sb:

milkshake
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by milkshake » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:30 am

Weather report tale spinning uses TONTO.

The black market melody is played with a reverse keyboard with the Arp 2600. Try soloing with that, Joe did exactly that :eek:

Morton Subotnik came from avant-garde jazz.

Setting up a modular for jazz is exactly the same as setting it up for other music.
What you do is make a patch, then control it with the interface of your choice. Interfaces for jazz could be keyboards, joysticks, ribbon controllers, sequencers, touch plates, envelope folowers etc.
Shall I ... blablabla ... to thee.

The more you pay for something, the less likely you are to critise it.

ContraPoints

Kid Narco
Common Wiggler

Post by Kid Narco » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:25 am

These two tracks both featuring Pete Judge from Get The Blessing. Freak-out free jazz and a Gil Mele-inspired homage to The Andromeda Strain.

BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs