pitch / gate control

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

vcf on off
Learning to Wiggle

pitch / gate control

Post by vcf on off » Sat Jan 18, 2020 2:03 pm

hey friends,

i'm new in the modular world and have a question.my brain now is a mess and hopefully there is an easy solution. i have a vc-sequencer but there is no gate out. so i can change the pitch of my vco. but what to do trigger an envelope every time the pitch changes? so that i have a decay and release on every note.
like midi, that I have cv and gate at the same time. So basically a copy of the CV sequence but as a trigger / gate for the envelope. that's how I imagine it in my confused head;). does anyone have a solution or advice? Are there modules that convert cv to gate? Many thanks for your help!! ... and sorry my english is not so good;)

sduck
experimental use of gravity

Re: pitch / gate control

Post by sduck » Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:34 pm

Use the clock that's it's running from - whether it be internal or external.

It might help if you tell us which vc sequencer you are talking about.
flickr cloud of sound touyube NOT A MODERATOR ANYMORE

Moerder
Common Wiggler

Post by Moerder » Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:56 pm

welcome!

+1 for more info on the sequencer you use. also, depending on your system/format, it might be better to post in the respective forum, such as Eurorack, 5U, etc. This should get the people there involved more easily and give you more possible suggestions.

in general, there are converters for cv to trigger/gate and all kinds of other funky stuff. it really comes down to what you use or have available. or maybe you're willing to invest in another module/gadget. plenty of options either way.

vcf on off
Learning to Wiggle

Post by vcf on off » Sun Jan 19, 2020 6:25 am

Moerder wrote:
Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:56 pm
welcome!