East coast voice: in the rack or out?

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

pzriddle
Learning to Wiggle

East coast voice: in the rack or out?

Post by pzriddle » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:40 pm

I'm a price-conscious newbie. Looking at standard VCOs, LFOs, filters, etc. I'm wondering whether they even need to be in my rack. Maybe it's more cost- and space-effective to get a couple of "east coast" semimodulars (Mother 32 or, don't hate me, Behringer Crave or Neutron) and reserve my precious HP for utilities and things that only exist in eurorack format - Mutable, Maths, etc.

Can cheap semimodulars substitute for a lot of separate vanilla modules?

pzriddle
Learning to Wiggle

Re: East coast voice: in the rack or out?

Post by pzriddle » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:41 pm

(Actually I've already started down this path: my first purchase was a Grandmother, to which I recently added my first small rack. I could add a Crave for the price of two cheap used modules of the standard east coast variety.)

revtor
Dialing it in..

Post by revtor » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:48 pm

The history of “cheap semi modulars” goes back to this very concept.

It’s why the minimoog came about, because performing musicians were using the same basic patch structure for most of their sounds. So they packaged it up and there you go -Minimoog.

Get a monosynth for all that stuff and yeah save the rack for more oddball stuff. Sounds like a fine way to get started.

Steve
Fellow North Jersey Synthaholic

SyndieBot2000XL
Common Wiggler

Post by SyndieBot2000XL » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:51 pm

Some say the Crave is a barely disguised Mother 32 clone - so you might have some overlap with the grandma in terms of the filter. I guess it depends on what you’re trying to do.