Help with v/Oct and pitch from multiple sources

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Room07
Learning to Wiggle

Help with v/Oct and pitch from multiple sources

Post by Room07 » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:25 pm

My first post here, but I've been lurking for a while. I hope I'm in the right place. I'm not new to music, but I'm just getting started with modular and could really use some help getting some of my gear to play nicely together. Any assistance or advice appreciated!

I'll try to explain this the best I can as I suspect I'm dealing with several issues, all VCOs were given hours to warm up:

I have a Minibrute 2s and some Euro modules. The MB2s has 2 VCOs. If I have the sequencer play a solid C4 note, both VCOs from internal routing play a C4 as expected (yay!).

If I route externally, plugging the MB2s KBD output into the Pitch input of VCO1, a C4 is played as expected.
If I route externally, plugging the MB2s KBD output into the Pitch input of VCO2, it returns a flat C6 (around 1016Hz).

Using a multimeter, the MB2s KBD output for a C4 is 3.00v. But applying that 3v to VCO1 and VCO2 give me very different pitches, with VCO2 not even scaling correctly. Transposing an octave up or down is more or less than an octave.

I also have Plaits and Bloom. If Plaits is playing a clean C4 and I plug the KBD output from the MB2s into the v/OCT I get a C7 (around 2087Hz). I guess this makes sense because a C4 plus 3 volts from the MB2s at 1 v/Oct would raise the pitch by 3 octaves (math!). But...what is the best way to use the MB2 with Plaits if the base voltage is so far off? I can change the base note pitch for the MB2s in the software, but that breaks the internal sequencer. I can set up Plaits to be 3 octaves lower, but that feels clumsy, if not irresponsible.

Bloom with a 1v output (measured with a multimeter) raises Plaits by 1 octave (makes sense to me, yay!).