Large components = fat sound?

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, lisa, Joe.

Mr.Kus
Common Wiggler

Large components = fat sound?

Post by Mr.Kus » Fri Jun 05, 2020 5:50 pm

Just came across this statement:
"The sound quality, simply put 5U and large format modules tend to sound a lot bigger and fatter than their smaller counterparts, this is because of larger, better quality components, which provide a superior sonics and a better overall sound."
https://www.kmraudio.com/products/synth ... 5u-modular

I've no expertise on the subject, but I find it hard to believe that the size of the components has much to do with the fatness of the sounds that the modules from different systems produce. Does the bigger components produce bigger sounds, and if they do why?

Datum
Common Wiggler

Re: Large components = fat sound?

Post by Datum » Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:19 pm

That sounds like some marketing nonsense. I'm no electrical engineer but a lot of the 5U modules I've seen use the same components as their eurorack counterparts just with a different faceplate and knob layout. I mean, it's electricity. It doesn't care about how big the components are. Does SMD sound different than through hole? Nope.

Please correct me if I'm wrong but I call BS.

Parnelli
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by Parnelli » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:29 pm

I call BS too.

mskala
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by mskala » Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:29 pm

The most charitable interpretation I can put on it is that for a few components that are of a mechanical nature, large size can be beneficial. For instance, potentiometers - if you have space to use a larger pot, then you can use one that may have a smoother feel, or put a better knob on it, or similar. Bigger connectors may connect more solidly. Thicker wire may have less voltage drop (important in some parts of the power system). But the quoted text from the kmraudio page is baloney.
North Coast Synthesis Ltd.