Stillson Hammer MkII Mac Firmware Update with MPLAB IPE

Digital Audio Electronics - discussion & support.

Moderators: Kent, solidox, governor blacksnake

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Stillson Hammer MkII Mac Firmware Update with MPLAB IPE

Post by auxren » Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:14 pm

Made a little guide: http://www.auxren.com/2016/07/updating- ... onics.html

The process is very simple. I've only tried it on a Mac with a PicKit3 and a Stillson MkII. Should work the same for the other modules if you figure out what model MCU they are using.

**UPDATE and more info**
Multiple people have reported that it works using MPLAB IPE on a Windows machine.
Your rack must be powered up to do this. There are ways to power the PCU from the PicKit, but I'd just power up your module.
If you put the programmer in incorrectly (wrong orientation), you shouldn't hurt anything.
Last edited by auxren on Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Diorn
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:00 pm
Location: Romania

Post by Diorn » Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:05 am

Thanks for this, very helpful! I gather from the pictures i need the SH to be pluged in and powered on while programming?

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Jul 08, 2016 12:49 pm

Diorn wrote:Thanks for this, very helpful! I gather from the pictures i need the SH to be pluged in and powered on while programming?
Yes, definitely needs to be powered on.

User avatar
noisejockey
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1560
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:15 pm
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by noisejockey » Fri Jul 08, 2016 9:34 pm

auxren, thank you very much for this writeup. Supremely appreciated.

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Sat Jul 09, 2016 1:39 am

:tu:

winterhater
Common Wiggler
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:11 am
Location: chicago

Post by winterhater » Wed Jul 13, 2016 6:47 pm

Thanks for this! Exactly what I needed

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:27 am

Hi

Thank you for the guide, I appreciate !

I'm located in Belgium.

If I understand I have to buy a pickit 3 ? Is there enough ? Cable ?

Do you have reference for a site ? (this one should work ? PICKIT 3

Thank you
Last edited by Mercutio on Sat Jul 16, 2016 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Steam Shield
Common Wiggler
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:24 am

Post by Steam Shield » Sat Jul 16, 2016 7:51 am

!!!Little guide = big help!!!

User avatar
Diabolik!
Common Wiggler
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:26 pm

Post by Diabolik! » Mon Jul 18, 2016 9:30 pm

does this work with Pickit 2 as well? its not recognizing mine

User avatar
carvingcode
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 5:34 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by carvingcode » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:46 am

Diabolik! wrote:does this work with Pickit 2 as well? its not recognizing mine
I read elsewhere that there may be an update to the P2 firmware required. Check in to that.

User avatar
Worwell
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 810
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:06 am
Location: California

Re: Stillson Hammer MkII Mac Firmware Update with MPLAB IPE

Post by Worwell » Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:45 pm

auxren wrote:Made a little guide: http://www.auxren.com/2016/07/updating- ... onics.html

The process is very simple. I've only tried it on a Mac with a PicKit3 and a Stillson MkII. Should work the same for the other modules if you figure out what model MCU they are using.
Thank you. This was very helpful.

User avatar
Diabolik!
Common Wiggler
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:26 pm

Post by Diabolik! » Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:22 pm

i can't get any of this to work. can't find any firmware updates for pickit 2 before 2009, and can't even upload that. neither the IPE method nor the other method are working correctly.

i got the pickit2 because the harvestman site said it would work better than the 3, but i can't get it to work at all. this is very frustrating. i've tried it on 3 different macs. what am i missing here?

User avatar
casinoaddict
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 5:23 am
Location: London

Re: Stillson Hammer MkII Mac Firmware Update with MPLAB IPE

Post by casinoaddict » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:15 am

auxren wrote:Made a little guide: http://www.auxren.com/2016/07/updating- ... onics.html

The process is very simple. I've only tried it on a Mac with a PicKit3 and a Stillson MkII. Should work the same for the other modules if you figure out what model MCU they are using.
Followed this last night with a PicKit3 and managed to update my Hammer without bricking it. Many thanks indeed!

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Stillson Hammer MkII Mac Firmware Update with MPLAB IPE

Post by auxren » Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:54 pm

casinoaddict wrote:
auxren wrote:Made a little guide: http://www.auxren.com/2016/07/updating- ... onics.html

The process is very simple. I've only tried it on a Mac with a PicKit3 and a Stillson MkII. Should work the same for the other modules if you figure out what model MCU they are using.
Followed this last night with a PicKit3 and managed to update my Hammer without bricking it. Many thanks indeed!
There shouldn't be any concern with bricking. Unlike a firmware update with a bootloader, you are completely rewriting the firmware with the programmer so even if something went wrong, you can just erase and program it again and be back in business.

User avatar
casinoaddict
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 5:23 am
Location: London

Post by casinoaddict » Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:32 am

Ah ok. Good to know :)

strontium
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 1:45 pm

Post by strontium » Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:43 am

Worked for me using a PicKit 3 on Windows 10. Needed 2 attempts for it to program successfully for some reason. No idea why.

Thanks a lot for the guide :sb:

El_Miguel
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:18 am
Location: Freiburg/Germany

Post by El_Miguel » Fri Jul 29, 2016 7:01 am

Thanks auxren for you work!

But even with your help it didn't work out.
My Mac with MPLab IPE on it, could not connect. After hitting connect I could see these little stars in the window, nothing else happend. When, after a couple of minutes, I disconnet the Pickit3, it says "Connection failed".
I tried it with my wifes Laptop, there it connected, says something about unknown Software and that it will update the software...after a while comes the message "Connection failed"...
I tried to find out what went wrong, read some FAQ and in Forums, but did not get any further...
Anybody having the same problem or knows a solution??

El Miguel
A little bit more time for making music would be nice
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/250402

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:44 pm

El_Miguel wrote:Thanks auxren for you work!

But even with your help it didn't work out.
My Mac with MPLab IPE on it, could not connect. After hitting connect I could see these little stars in the window, nothing else happend. When, after a couple of minutes, I disconnet the Pickit3, it says "Connection failed".
I tried it with my wifes Laptop, there it connected, says something about unknown Software and that it will update the software...after a while comes the message "Connection failed"...
I tried to find out what went wrong, read some FAQ and in Forums, but did not get any further...
Anybody having the same problem or knows a solution??

El Miguel

Hmmm... and the Stillson is powered on via your rack? Did you try putting the programmer in the other direction (it can't hurt anything if you put it in the wrong orientation)?

El_Miguel
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:18 am
Location: Freiburg/Germany

Post by El_Miguel » Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:57 pm

Hi auxren,

the problem is earlier, the Pickit3 does not connect to the MPLAP IPE. So the firmware of the Pickit does not get updated, etc.
I am sitting here the whole afternoon and can't get it to work...
A little bit more time for making music would be nice
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/250402

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Sun Jul 31, 2016 1:37 am

Your issue has me stumped. I wish I could help :(

El_Miguel
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:18 am
Location: Freiburg/Germany

Post by El_Miguel » Sun Jul 31, 2016 2:38 am

Hello auxren,

thanks again.

I went to my neighbor yesterday and tried the whole thing on a linux based Computer, it didn't work also.
Today we gona try it with Windows 7...
Maybe the Pickit is faulty??
If it is not working, I will send it back and get another one....

regards

Michael
A little bit more time for making music would be nice
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/250402

El_Miguel
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:18 am
Location: Freiburg/Germany

Solution found

Post by El_Miguel » Sun Jul 31, 2016 6:28 am

Hello auxren, hello Wigglers,

at my neighbor the Pickit3 worked and the indicater-LED´s looked different, the Status LED was not red, as it was on my Computer, it was greenish.

So I went back to my computer and had an idea, why not try it with a usb-hub....
and the status LED was greenish..then it found the Pickit, the programming worked fine...

crazy...so if you have problems with your Pickit, use a usb hub....

easy...but hard to find solution..I may say
A little bit more time for making music would be nice
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/250402

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Solution found

Post by auxren » Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:48 am

El_Miguel wrote:Hello auxren, hello Wigglers,

at my neighbor the Pickit3 worked and the indicater-LED´s looked different, the Status LED was not red, as it was on my Computer, it was greenish.

So I went back to my computer and had an idea, why not try it with a usb-hub....
and the status LED was greenish..then it found the Pickit, the programming worked fine...

crazy...so if you have problems with your Pickit, use a usb hub....

easy...but hard to find solution..I may say
Weird. Was it a powered USB hub? Strange solution but glad it works!

El_Miguel
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:18 am
Location: Freiburg/Germany

Post by El_Miguel » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:39 am

The USB hub was not powered...I have the feeling the hub sorted something out...
_________________
A little bit more time for making music would be nice
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/250402

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:43 pm

Hi

The leds are red on my Pickit 3

Power /active / status : all red with usb hub powered
Power/active : all 2 red with direct connect to imac ou with usb hub not powered


And MPLAB cannot connect...

My OS is 10.10.5.

During the installation of MP LAB, i receive an error message but installation finished...i can open MPlab and follow instruction but can't connect to pickit and "program".

Any idea ?

Post Reply

Return to “The Harvestman”