The Pickit Thread: Updating Firmware & Burning ROMs

Digital Audio Electronics - discussion & support.

Moderators: Kent, solidox, governor blacksnake

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

The Pickit Thread: Updating Firmware & Burning ROMs

Post by mt3 » Sat Jul 23, 2016 8:33 pm

TODO
  • get thread promoted to sticky
  • updating for free at dealers
  • new firmware/old firmware
  • what software version do I have?
  • where is old firmware located?

Official IME Updating Firmware Guide




Quickstart Updating Firmware Guide

Auxren's Excellent Guide to Upgrading SHmk][
This applies to the Stillson Hammer mk 2, as well as all modules updated via PickKit.



For Dummies Step-by-Step, No Thinking Involved Recipe
"Here's the For Dummies step-by-step, no thinking involved recipe that worked for me on my Mac with a PicKit 3:
1. Determine the current firmware version:
press and hold the rotary encoder, then press the DESTINATION button
2. Ensure that the firmware download’s folder names have no spaces.
3. Attach the PicKit 3 to the module with its white arrow on the opposite side of the the module's other headers’ negative-indicated pin.
4. Launch the application mplab_ide.
5. Do File>New Project.
6. Choose “Prebuilt.”
7. Browse to the firmware's .hex file.
8. Specify the device. The device specification is the long string of numbers and letters in the readme included in the firmware download. Until you do that, the software won't find your module. The readme should contain something like, "PROCESSOR TYPE FOR PICKIT: DSPIC33FJ128GP310A"
9. Click "Finish."
10. Press the button at the top of the UI that has a downward arrow and whose popup reads, "Make and Program device (Project <ProjectName>)"
(thanks to Blipson)


Free Firmware Updates at Dealers
Need to verify this.
MoogMusic in Canada will update the firmware of your modules for free.
Same with XXXX in the US.
Same with XXXX in Europerack.


New Firmware/Old Firmware
Link to Firmware page.

Model - Ver - Date - Requires adapter?
HERTZ DONUT MK2 2.0 6/24/15 no
PISTON HONDA MK2 2.5.1 6/17/16 no
ZORLON CANNON MK2 2.0 6/22/15 no
MALGORITHM MK2 1.666 6/6/16 yes
STILLSON HAMMER MK2 1.666 7/27/16 no
TYME SEFARI MK2 ???
TYME SEFARI MK1 ???
BIONIC LESTER MK1 ???
MALGORITHM MK1 ???
PISTON HONDA MK1 ???

"These files will upgrade the functionality of your Harvestman modules. In order to use them, you must have a Microchip PicKit2 programmer (PicKit3 also OK), available from many electronics supply stores. You must also have a Windows computer, or a Mac (command line only). Older modules with a 2-row, 10-pin header also require the Piston Honda ROM Programmer Board to adapt the PicKit connector, available from your Harvestman dealer. Detailed instructions are provided in each download."
- http://www.theharvestman.org/firmware.php


Pickit 2 vs 3

Both Pickit 2 and Pickit 3 work?
Choose Pickit XX because...





Other module manufacturers which upgrade via pickit include:
  • Grayscale Algorhythm
    Expert Sleepers Disting

Which MPLAB IDE?
Archived MPLAB:
https://www.microchip.com/development-t ... ds-archive


Mac vs PC vs Lunix

Yes.

Usage
"Here's a hint if using PicKit 3 and newest software. (On Win7, and PH mk2 in my case) The instructions from Harvestman don't really correspond.
You need to specify the device- it is the long string of numbers and letters towards the bottom of the readme included in the firmware download. Until you do that, the software will not find your module.
I had to try to send the firmware several times before it worked- I'd hit Program, and in a split second it would say it was done. The time it finally worked, it only took a couple of seconds though."
- Zymos

"...at my neighbor the Pickit3 worked and the indicater-LED´s looked different, the Status LED was not red, as it was on my Computer, it was greenish.
So I went back to my computer and had an idea, why not try it with a usb-hub....
and the status LED was greenish..then it found the Pickit, the programming worked fine...
crazy...so if you have problems with your Pickit, use a usb hub....
easy...but hard to find solution..I may say"
- El_Miguel

"With a pickit3 tried the most recent version of that program, but it wouldn't run on my computer, so downloaded version 2.35 and worked okay. Had to use a USB hub and it took me a few attempts, but finally got it. The whole process probably took about 30 minutes."
- anon

"Pickit 2 with Pickit programmer, Windows 10, updated the SHmk2 with no fuss. Couldn't get the MPLAB to work so the pickit program worked just fine for me"
- Paranormal Patroler

"Malgorithm mkII (later revision with 6-pin header for programmer), PICkit2 (i got this one exactly) on OS X 10.10.5
PICkit 2 programmer for OS X
* dropped pk2cmd and PK2DeviceFile.dat files into /bin folder (come with the app)
* with everything connected (usb port - cable from PICkit - PICkit - ribbon cable - Malgo) powered up Malgo from modular PSU
* for testing purposes pushed 'Show connected PIC'
Operation Succeeded
Searching for your PIC on board ...
No PICkit 2 found.
* while it looked like something was wrong, I chose .HEX file and pushed 'Write HEX' nonetheless - nothing happened
* changed pin orientation of the cable - nothing found still, but Malgo's LEDs 2,3 and 4 suddenly went green. after turning modular off and on, with cable disconnected Malgo was working fine
* connected programmer directly to Malgo, without ribbon cable - nothing again, maybe wrong orientation just like in the first case
* changed orientation of PICkit connection to Malgo - LEDs turned green again, succesful 'Show connected PIC', PIC model showing fine, write procedure went without problems."
- Endorfinity


Expanders

"Older modules with a 2-row, 10-pin header also require the Piston Honda ROM Programmer Board to adapt the PicKit connector, available from your Harvestman dealer."

hm1991x "piston expander"
6 waveform ROM slots for Piston Honda mk1 and mk2?


Firmware Programmer

hm1991x2 "firmware programmer"
Updates code and creates waveform ROMs.


Cheapest Pickit

New they are $50?
Used $20?
Cheapest in USA?
Canada?
UK?
Europerack?

"I used this Pickit 3 from Amazon UK, currently showing out of stock, but there are other very similar options:
p_1
I used a Mac and this software from Microchip and all was good:
http://www.microchip.com/mplab/mplab-x-ide
You need the IPE section of the package only."
- baddcr

Cheap in the US:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/231826593859?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
- Zymos

Deutschland


Digikey
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/ ... ND/2171224


Troubleshooting
If you see trouble, shoot it (that's when I reach for my revolver).

"The instructions from Harvestman don't really correspond.
You need to specify the device- it is the long string of numbers and letters towards the bottom of the readme included in the firmware download. Until you do that, the software will not find your module.
I had to try to send the firmware several times before it worked- I'd hit Program, and in a split second it would say it was done. The time it finally worked, it only took a couple of seconds though."
- Zymos (PH mk][) & Strontium (SH mk][)

"This might help folks using a MAC and trying to do the update with the latest MPLAB software:
Had problems with Mac + PicKit3 and the latest MPLABX IPEv5.00 -
I was always getting the 'Connection Failed' note when I tried to connect the PicKit3 to the Mac.
Eventually solved it by loading the Full IDE Software (Thats the IDE AND the IPE parts of the software).
[so Auxren's advice to only load the IPE part of the program is no good for the latest software if your Pickit is not up-to-date itself.]
When I opened up IPE again it suddenly found the Picket and updated its software automatically then Viola - it was sweet!
Loaded the Hex file and 60 seconds later the Hammer was updated to 2.01 - Happy days (after an hour searching for Pickit3 mumbo jumbo on the net.....)."
- from Cobramatic


Getting help
IME
Facebook
muffinwigglers
Auxren's Excellent Guide to Upgrading SHmk][ (Pickit 2 & 3 on Mac and Windows have been verified to work)

Can I blowup my module? And other fascinations with excitement
Unsure what would happen if the updater were turned to 11....

Bricking Your Module
Essentially, bricking your module means you have to ship it back to the manufacturer so they can wave their magic wand over it and resurrect it from the dead. But gues what? The Pickit programmer is the magic wand.
- M. Night Shalayaman

"There shouldn't be any concern with bricking. Unlike a firmware update with a bootloader, you are completely rewriting the firmware with the programmer so even if something went wrong, you can just erase and program it again and be back in business."
- auxren


Verified Pickits/OS Combinations
  • * Pickit 3 on Windows 7, 10
    * PICKit 3 on Linux known to work, esp. with MPLab X
    * looks like all *nix OS are supported through MPLab magic (Mac, etc)
    * latest version that works with OSX 10.6 is 2.35 (Pickit 3?)
"Multiple people have reported that it works using MPLAB IPE on a Windows machine.
Your rack must be powered up to do this. There are ways to power the PCU from the PicKit, but I'd just power up your module.
If you put the programmer in incorrectly (wrong orientation), you shouldn't hurt anything."
- Auxren

MPLAB Minimum System Requirements
Windows Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional SP3/ Windows 7 Professional/ Windows 8 Professional
Linux Ubuntu® 9.10 or later
Unofficially, most distributions should work. Microchip employees have used it successfully with Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Debian, Linux Mint, OpenSuse, and Fedora. Users of 64-bit distributions might need to install additional libraries.
Macintosh Mac OS® X 10.5 Intel or later
If using 10.7, 10.8, 10.9 or later, you will need to install Java 6.

Running Windows on a Mac
I've found playonmac.com to be damn successful any time I want to run Windows programs on my Mac.
Need to confirm this helps solve MPLAB issues.

Another alternative is WineBottler:
http://winebottler.kronenberg.org
Again, need to confirm this helps solve MPLAB issues.

Burning ROMs
Pistons Hondas mk I & ][ and Double Andore the Giant mk I.
For homebrewed waveformelessness.
The classic thread:
viewtopic.php?t=28084


Other Resources
Programming the Disting, with documentation on getting setup with Pickit:
https://github.com/squinkylabs/thisthing
and
https://github.com/squinkylabs/thisthin ... isting.pdf

Watch Os (Expert Sleepers) upload code to the Disting:


USB Pic Programmer Suggestions
Last edited by mt3 on Sun Dec 29, 2019 9:32 pm, edited 54 times in total.

User avatar
Ras Thavas
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:18 pm
Location: Northbay, CA

Re: The Pickit Thread: Updating Firmware

Post by Ras Thavas » Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:26 pm

mt3 wrote:Placeholder for now. Reminder for me to do this.

TODO
* pickit 2 vs 3
* mac vs pc vs lunix
* expanders
* get thread promoted to sticky
* cheapest pickit
* troubleshooting
* getting help
* can i blowup my module? and other fascinations with excitement
* new firmware/old firmware
Well alright, alright, alright!!! This all together in one place, up to date and comprehensive will be a huge asset to Harvestman users. Thanks!

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:53 pm

Peppered the page. Gave the skeleton its flesh.

User avatar
wsy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2719
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:20 pm
Location: near Boston Massachusetts USA

Post by wsy » Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:54 pm

PICKit 3 with Linux: known to work, esp. with MPLab X.

- Bill
"Life is short. But we can always buy longer patch cords" - Savage

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:13 pm

wsy wrote:PICKit 3 with Linux: known to work, esp. with MPLab X.

- Bill
Gracias.
Feel free to post relevant links/info in this thread and I'll edit the top post when I can.

User avatar
wsy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2719
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:20 pm
Location: near Boston Massachusetts USA

Post by wsy » Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:31 pm

mt3 wrote:
wsy wrote:PICKit 3 with Linux: known to work, esp. with MPLab X.

- Bill
Gracias.
Feel free to post relevant links/info in this thread and I'll edit the top post when I can.
In fact, PICKit 3 known to work with Linux and MPLab X - that's how you boot up a WSYnth FM Operator, which several people have now built!

- Bill
"Life is short. But we can always buy longer patch cords" - Savage

User avatar
shootingtigers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Aldershot, UK

Post by shootingtigers » Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:03 pm

Found out that the latest version that works with 10.6 is 2.35, I assume that will work with Pickit 3 but I'm not sure...

In Auxren's guide it shows Stillson plugged in and powered on during the pickit update, is that how it should be?

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Post by Zymos » Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:51 pm

Here's a hint if using PicKit 3 and newest software. (On Win7, and PH mk2 in my case) The instructions from Harvestman don't really correspond.
You need to specify the device- it is the long string of numbers and letters towards the bottom of the readme included in the firmware download. Until you do that, the software will not find your module.

I had to try to send the firmware several times before it worked- I'd hit Program, and in a split second it would say it was done. The time it finally worked, it only took a couple of seconds though.

strontium
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 1:45 pm

Post by strontium » Fri Jul 29, 2016 2:42 am

PicKit3 on Windows 10 - successfully updated my SH2 to latest firmware. Took a couple of attempts (hitting 'program') though before it finally updated it. Even though the software said it had been done after the first attempt the module was still showing as the older firmware.

All good now though :bananaguitar:

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10758
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:04 am

strontium wrote:PicKit3 on Windows 10 - successfully updated my SH2 to latest firmware. Took a couple of attempts (hitting 'program') though before it finally updated it. Even though the software said it had been done after the first attempt the module was still showing as the older firmware.

All good now though :bananaguitar:
Is the procedure well documented ?
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

strontium
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 1:45 pm

Post by strontium » Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:40 am

Paranormal Patroler wrote:
strontium wrote:PicKit3 on Windows 10 - successfully updated my SH2 to latest firmware. Took a couple of attempts (hitting 'program') though before it finally updated it. Even though the software said it had been done after the first attempt the module was still showing as the older firmware.

All good now though :bananaguitar:
Is the procedure well documented ?
I just followed this exactly

http://www.auxren.com/2016/07/updating- ... onics.html

guestt

Post by guestt » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:07 am

This is cool! Good work :)

I used this Pickit 3 from Amazon UK, currently showing out of stock, but there are other very similar options:



I used a Mac and this software from Microchip and all was good:

http://www.microchip.com/mplab/mplab-x-ide

You need the IPE section of the package only.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10758
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:35 pm

strontium wrote:
Paranormal Patroler wrote:
strontium wrote:PicKit3 on Windows 10 - successfully updated my SH2 to latest firmware. Took a couple of attempts (hitting 'program') though before it finally updated it. Even though the software said it had been done after the first attempt the module was still showing as the older firmware.

All good now though :bananaguitar:
Is the procedure well documented ?
I just followed this exactly

http://www.auxren.com/2016/07/updating- ... onics.html
I assume the module.needs to be powered via the power bus when upgraded, right ?
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Post by Zymos » Fri Jul 29, 2016 1:36 pm

Yes.
There's actually a setting in the software to have devices powered through the PicKit, but it's off by default.

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:45 pm

Can you mark down that my instructions also have worked for multiple people using MPLAB IPE on a Windows machine?

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10758
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Mon Aug 01, 2016 3:31 am

auxren wrote:Can you mark down that my instructions also have worked for multiple people using MPLAB IPE on a Windows machine?
I'm waiting on the damn Pickit to arrive. Your instructions look fine!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

Ptbarnum
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:37 am

Post by Ptbarnum » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:23 am

Thanks for this resource, updated with pickit3 on a Mac, zero issues :bananaguitar:

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:38 am

Ptbarnum wrote:Thanks for this resource, updated with pickit3 on a Mac, zero issues :bananaguitar:
What OS X? Newer Mac? "Vintage"?
gracias for info!

Ptbarnum
Common Wiggler
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:37 am

Post by Ptbarnum » Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:45 pm

mt3 wrote:
Ptbarnum wrote:Thanks for this resource, updated with pickit3 on a Mac, zero issues :bananaguitar:
What OS X? Newer Mac? "Vintage"?
gracias for info!
Sorry!
recent mbp, latest OSX

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2435
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Post by Zymos » Thu Aug 04, 2016 2:08 pm

Here's the one I bought, 21 bucks, free shipping from inside the US.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/231826593859?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

rabbitfur
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:48 pm

Post by rabbitfur » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:02 pm

i can't get IPE to connect to my pickit 3. keep getting a connection failed notification. using mac OS X 10.10. anyone have any ideas?

:cry:

User avatar
BlueWolfSe7en
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:24 am
Location: Leeds UK
Contact:

Post by BlueWolfSe7en » Sat Aug 06, 2016 6:11 am

My mac refused to connect. OS X 10.10.5. Looks like it an issue judging by the debugger forums I looked at. Used a neighbours PC in the end, took 2 min to update.
Baddcr' s Mac worked with an earlier OS X, strange?
Strange Beautiful Machines

rabbitfur
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:48 pm

Post by rabbitfur » Sat Aug 06, 2016 8:48 am

Yeah it is strange. It seems to me that if your pickit3s software is out of date it is impossible to update it without a pc. What a royal pita im still trying to figure out how to update mine as i live in puerto rico and have very few neighbors. I gotta find someone with a pc download all software there and try again. Sigh :roll:

guestt

Post by guestt » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:06 pm

I'm still on Mac OS X 9.5.x and my Pickit updated just fine, the whole update procedure was very straightforward and there were n problems at all.

Apple did remove Java after this OS X release point leaving it as an optional extra. It would seem (I might be wrong) that MPLAB uses the default Java or it's own version. If that's the case there's a possible source of incompatibility there. It may be worth installing the latest version of Java on your Mac before installing MPLAB, just a thought - no actual evidence or experience here :)

rabbitfur
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:48 pm

Post by rabbitfur » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:47 pm

Baddcr wrote:I'm still on Mac OS X 9.5.x and my Pickit updated just fine, the whole update procedure was very straightforward and there were n problems at all.

Apple did remove Java after this OS X release point leaving it as an optional extra. It would seem (I might be wrong) that MPLAB uses the default Java or it's own version. If that's the case there's a possible source of incompatibility there. It may be worth installing the latest version of Java on your Mac before installing MPLAB, just a thought - no actual evidence or experience here :)
i've done this and tried it all. spent about 10+ hours of researching workarounds from my uneducated standpoint and can't find any way about it. I cannot get my mac to recognize the device, instead of a serial it just says pickit3 default where there should be a serial. this is a real nightmare and bummer i bought this thing and cannot get it to work even after all of this. why can't these modules just be updated like the mutable stuff, don't even have to take it out the case, plug one cable in and it's done. ugh what a waste of my time trying to do this.

Post Reply

Return to “The Harvestman”