Tyme Sefari II - little bit fried? but still working...

Digital Audio Electronics - discussion & support.

Moderators: Kent, solidox, governor blacksnake

Post Reply
User avatar
knifey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:06 pm

Tyme Sefari II - little bit fried? but still working...

Post by knifey » Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:11 pm

Hi everyone,

I reorganized my 6U case tonight and I accidentally plugged the power cable into one of the "Thunder" connectors (they're all 10-pin!!!). I turned the system on once, heard a small pop somewhere, and immediately turned it off. I re-connected the TSII to the power connector and the unit turned on fine. I'm testing it right now - audio is passing through, sound is coming out of the Wet/dry out. But, it's not sampling, and no output coming through the "Left Outs". The 2nd LED comes on red when I switch the Loop switch on, whereas before it would like orange . Tempo switch, tap button all seem to work fine.

Did I fry something??? :sadbanana:

User avatar
knifey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:06 pm

Post by knifey » Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:04 pm

so...nobody's ever accidentally plugged the power cable into one of the Thunder connectors? :eek:

User avatar
adamon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:31 pm
Location: Lawrence KS

Post by adamon » Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:22 pm

Never plugged power into one of the thunder headers personally but I did go through a similar situation: viewtopic.php?t=159690

The input and wet/dry mix controls are more or less analog controls as far as I understand and likely won't indicate problems with the digital guts. If you are indeed seeing the cycle led blink appropriately in tap tempo mode then maybe you do have a "partially functional" sefari but unfortunately you're probably going to need to get in touch with gov about sending it in for a firmware reboot.

User avatar
Endorfinity
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:55 am
Location: Moskva

Post by Endorfinity » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:00 am

Talk to Scott, module definitely needs inspection and repair (if possible at all).

User avatar
CountZero
Common Wiggler
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:18 am
Location: Kansas City, MO

Post by CountZero » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:00 am

knifey wrote:so...nobody's ever accidentally plugged the power cable into one of the Thunder connectors? :eek:
I did this exact thing a few months back. Had to send it in for repair. They charge a very reasonable fee for "I can't believe I actually did that" power connecting 8-)

User avatar
knifey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:06 pm

Post by knifey » Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:18 pm

CountZero wrote:
knifey wrote:so...nobody's ever accidentally plugged the power cable into one of the Thunder connectors? :eek:
I did this exact thing a few months back. Had to send it in for repair. They charge a very reasonable fee for "I can't believe I actually did that" power connecting 8-)
Phew! Yeah, I've already taken it out of my rack to send off, either to my genius repair friend near me or back to Scott (still waiting for an email response).

Thanks everyone for their input. Module-frying seems to be one of the many bonding experiences in the modular community. :hihi:

Analogue
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:54 pm

Post by Analogue » Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:17 am

Hmm, I might have a similar problem but without being confused about the power cable.

I don't get any wet sound at all, just dry and the 'end loop' led is permanently lit a second or so after powering up, regardless of slider positions or any sound in.

Load button doesn't produce anything either. In fact the only sound I get out is the sound I put in, unaffected.

It was in a rack with another unit that suffered a short and since then I can't get anything out of the TS although it's a new unit for me so it might just be my stupidity.

Any ideas? Re-load firmware? Send it somewhere?

User avatar
Severed head
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:24 am

Post by Severed head » Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:46 pm

Analogue wrote:Hmm, I might have a similar problem but without being confused about the power cable.

I don't get any wet sound at all, just dry and the 'end loop' led is permanently lit a second or so after powering up, regardless of slider positions or any sound in.

Load button doesn't produce anything either. In fact the only sound I get out is the sound I put in, unaffected.

It was in a rack with another unit that suffered a short and since then I can't get anything out of the TS although it's a new unit for me so it might just be my stupidity.

Any ideas? Re-load firmware? Send it somewhere?
got it working?

if I remember right, I have the module but just rebought it, and haven't plugged it in but if I recall you have to have the play switch activated to get any effect out of it.

Post Reply

Return to “The Harvestman”