Stillson Hammer MK 2 - Upggrade Chip to 64 sequences ?

Digital Audio Electronics - discussion & support.

Moderators: Kent, solidox, governor blacksnake

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Stillson Hammer MK 2 - Upggrade Chip to 64 sequences ?

Post by Mercutio » Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:59 am

Hi,

Isee in the manual that

"he storage chip is a Microchip 25LC512 in DIP
package. It stores 32 sequences. You can replace it with
a new chip, and back up the data to computer by using
the Industrial Music Electronics model 1991X-2 ROM
programmer board and a Microchip PicKit2. Do not insert
or remove the chip while the module is powered up."

I see that the microchip exist in 1024... is it compatible and is the 1024 version could store 64 sequences ?

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:30 pm

Try it out :tu:

temaniak
Common Wiggler
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:14 am
Location: Russia

Post by temaniak » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:43 am

By the way: is it possible to extend sample time on TSMK2 by replacing the memory chip with more memory?

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:46 am

it's the goal of my enquiry.... i love so much my SH but 32 sequences is so frutsrating;

I'm thinking to move to eloquencer or tracker but.... SH is far more playable and fun

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:28 pm

Is the programmer still available for purchase??? I can't locate.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:34 am

eBay

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:30 am

Yep...a search yielded no results. It would be a lot easier if the company just offered in their on-line store the upgraded chip already pre-programmed. The user could then just order the drop-in replacement not worrying about the programmer board. Below is the chip specifics.

Microchip 25LC1024
1Mb 2.5V SPI Serial EEPROM

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:33 pm

Oooh, I misunderstood and thought you were asking for the Pickit.

Hm, I've swapped the memory chip before, using the recommended one. In the next part of the manual it mentions TEST MODE. That's all I did and was good to go.

I could be wrong, but I think the programmer is to save your sequence data to your computer only.

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:24 pm

Oh, ok. I already have the PicKit for upgrading firmware. If it's that easy for the memory chip upgrade I'm gonna do that immediately then. I don't have any presets worth archiving at the moment so no big deal!

Is there another available programmer one can use to archive data though???

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Sun May 05, 2019 9:12 pm

Yeah... I tried to perform the chip upgrade following the reset instructions and it didn't work. Stilson only recognized the default 32 sequences regardless. What a bummer :waah:

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Mon May 06, 2019 2:15 pm

monads wrote:Yeah... I tried to perform the chip upgrade following the reset instructions and it didn't work. Stilson only recognized the default 32 sequences regardless. What a bummer :waah:
Contact IME to see if they can modify the firmware so that it supports 64 sequences. Make sure you mention you already swapped out the original chip and the module functions without issue.
:tu:

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Mon May 06, 2019 3:26 pm

Thanks!!! I sent over an email!! I was unaware it was firmware related but that makes sense!!

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1939
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:24 pm

No response after a month :waah:
I guess not enough user requests for this feature :waah:

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2872
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:23 pm

monads wrote:No response after a month :waah:
I guess not enough user requests for this feature :waah:
File under unsupported. Or placed in the queue under "low priority".
Worth the shot.

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 801
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:11 am

Hi asked too but didn't receive response....

User avatar
Godphaser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:13 pm

Post by Godphaser » Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:57 pm

Is there a way to backup the memory without the unavailable 1991X-2 ROM programmer board?

I have a pickit3 if it helps.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:21 pm

You'd have to buy a new memory chip and put it somewhere. This is what I did and it worked fine.

Also, the programmer board isn't necessary for this.
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
Godphaser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:13 pm

Post by Godphaser » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:38 pm

Nice! So you copied the chip memory into another one with just the Pickit and MPLab?

I was thinking about backing up to a computer but a spare chip could be an option.

Thanks! :tu:

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:25 pm

No, it's not on the computer. It's on the chip. Imagine memory cards for old gaming consoles. It's on the card.
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
Godphaser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:13 pm

Post by Godphaser » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:39 pm

Got you! Any link for the chip and maybe a how-to?

Thanks again!

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Sat Sep 07, 2019 10:56 am

It's all in the manual
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
Godphaser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:13 pm

Post by Godphaser » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:55 pm

Lol, not really but I'll figure it out.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:23 pm

Actually it is. The last page of text has a “Sequence Storage Chip” section.
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
Godphaser
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:13 pm

Post by Godphaser » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:36 pm

The storage chip is a Microchip 25LC512 in DIP package. It stores 32 sequences. You can replace it with a new chip, and back up the data to computer by using the Industrial Music Electronics model 1991X-2 ROM programmer board and a Microchip PicKit2. Do not insert or remove the chip while the module is powered up.When you are installing a new, blank chip into the socket, it needs to be formatted. You MUST enter TEST MODE and perform the ERASE command (by pressing the track 4 button), or the sequencer will not operate correctly.
Doesn't say much how to copy a chip but whatever.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:09 pm

Again, there's no chip copying function. To have a "backup" of your sequences, having another chip is, as far as I know, the easiest way to do that. So if you have 32 sequences and want to keep them, you'd take that chip out and put a brand new, unused chip in and have another 32 slots for creativity.

If you wanted to take a sequence from the first chip and put it on the second chip, afaik, you'd have to remake it, which is what I did, by writing it all down.

The programmer board is gone from what I've gathered. They weren't even available when the sequencer was released from what I recall.
THUMPR BC SC

Post Reply

Return to “The Harvestman”