ADDAC102 VC FM RADIO are now available!

New Interfaces for Analog Synthesizers.

Moderators: Kent, __ag

lfomod
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:33 pm

Post by lfomod » Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:44 pm

This module looks amazing and I have been wanting to try it for a while now.

I am curious if Andre or anyone might answer this or be up for the challenge:

Would it be possible to make a eurorack module that can transmit FM?! even at a small range of 50-300 ft. That would be awesome to be able to broadcast your euro sounds...

User avatar
DoctorDoolittle
Common Wiggler
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:37 am
Location: Portland Oregon

Post by DoctorDoolittle » Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:27 pm

I got an fm transmit device, looks like a hockey puck with an antenna. Ican route a signal into the puck and receive it with my addac module. When the puck is near the receiver, the signal come es through a few bands, making it possible to send triggers and move back and forth between differing signal degradation.

User avatar
thebrotherspus
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Canada

Post by thebrotherspus » Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:54 am

just wondering if there would ever be any chance of an expansion module for the vc fm radio. i'd love to be able to save certain stations into a bank so that i could call them up at any point. i always find a few stations with great textural noise but then end up losing them and it can sometimes be difficult finding them again.
anyway, i just thought it would be cool to be able to save 10 or so stations to memory or something.

User avatar
j.precursor
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by j.precursor » Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:12 am

just wondering, does the fm radio work outside US and EU ?

User avatar
VC_Wiggular
Common Wiggler
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:47 pm
Location: London UK

Post by VC_Wiggular » Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:42 pm

j.precursor wrote:just wondering, does the fm radio work outside US and EU ?
Not sure how this works but I live in London UK and I could only get 2 stations on it, for which I took 20 minutes to find. Sometimes I barely found one. Had to sell :sadbanana:
Modular + Cats + ???? = Profit

painlessparker
Common Wiggler
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 9:46 pm

Post by painlessparker » Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:53 am

VC_Wiggular wrote:
j.precursor wrote:just wondering, does the fm radio work outside US and EU ?
Not sure how this works but I live in London UK and I could only get 2 stations on it, for which I took 20 minutes to find. Sometimes I barely found one. Had to sell :sadbanana:
Anyone else in the UK tried this module and had better results?

Edit: Scratch that, nation isn't likely to be an issue at all… Could it instead be that certain power supplies cause more interference than others? Or the proximity of this module to the power supply?

User avatar
jenz
Voltage Controlled Corpse
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:46 am
Location: La belle province

Post by jenz » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:27 am

I live mine but I have to boost the volume with another module is it normal?

User avatar
Bumply
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by Bumply » Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:57 am

great module! What kind of level/volume are you all getting out of yours? Mine is quite low, and I have to apply a lot of gain to match euro levels.
"You ain't tough. You cottage cheese."
--
"You're the cheese....you're Zima"

User avatar
jenz
Voltage Controlled Corpse
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:46 am
Location: La belle province

Post by jenz » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:04 am

Same here... Not so loud...

User avatar
Matos
Modular masturbator
Posts: 3779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:03 am

Post by Matos » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:10 am

Yeah. It's quiet as heck. I have to run it into a ssf ptg to use it.

User avatar
jenz
Voltage Controlled Corpse
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:46 am
Location: La belle province

Post by jenz » Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:11 am

painlessparker wrote:
VC_Wiggular wrote:
j.precursor wrote:just wondering, does the fm radio work outside US and EU ?
Not sure how this works but I live in London UK and I could only get 2 stations on it, for which I took 20 minutes to find. Sometimes I barely found one. Had to sell :sadbanana:
Anyone else in the UK tried this module and had better results?

Edit: Scratch that, nation isn't likely to be an issue at all… Could it instead be that certain power supplies cause more interference than others? Or the proximity of this module to the power supply?
I live in Canada in the province of Quebec and I pickup a few radio stations... Well enough to have a lot of fun... My unit is close to the power supply...
Got to reset the unit to a couple of times

22tape
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: Yer mammy's dusty vibraphone

Post by 22tape » Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:08 pm

About to pull the trigger on one of these. Before I do--

Is it really that quiet?

Are you guys not getting any stations because of weak local radio signals, or is it the module that's not picking them up?

Thanks!

User avatar
jenz
Voltage Controlled Corpse
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:46 am
Location: La belle province

Post by jenz » Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:33 pm

Getting a lot of stations even in my basement...
Super quiet tho

User avatar
jenz
Voltage Controlled Corpse
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:46 am
Location: La belle province

Post by jenz » Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:04 pm

The volume knob dosen't do anything and I tried with an offset in the volume cv but no luck... When I use the addac radio I use the tube disto from trogotronic(177) to boost the volume. It adds a nice saturation too!

22tape
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: Yer mammy's dusty vibraphone

Post by 22tape » Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:52 am

Great, thanks for the headsup. I'm interested just in case anyone is looking to unload :guinness:

ClausF
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: Germany, FFM

Post by ClausF » Sun Feb 22, 2015 5:31 am

Nice module (as all ADDACs I use), but same experiences than other users here: I find more stations with a cheap transistor radio (with antenna) at the same place. So maybe a bigger antenna would help? This thing must have one, so I would like to make it longer with a wire...maybe that helps
A photo which shows the point where to connect this would help... Andre, maybe you can help?

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1940
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:27 am

ClausF wrote:... Andre, maybe you can help?
Andre??? Kinda would like to pick this up. But the antenna range worries me, plus no AM options :waah: :waah: :waah:

ClausF
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: Germany, FFM

Post by ClausF » Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:42 am

Still no answer... :cry:
But there must be an antenna somewhere... a short answer would be nice

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1940
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Post by monads » Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:19 am

Still no answer...this sucks! What gives :despair: :despair: :despair:
Last edited by monads on Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

ClausF
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: Germany, FFM

Post by ClausF » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:02 am

Agree. I really like their modules, sometimes not the design (white letters on golden ground is horror, only white on white would be unclearer).

This is a simple question, and if this is for some reason impossible, an explanation would be nice. I use a 5€ transistor Radio from flee market or the Radio Music Player (great!) now, both work better than the 102. Ok, no CV in at the transistor Radio, but what does this help if I have no stations?
I still use a few ADDACs (bought used) which are great, but if I get the same functions from another company I prefer that.... :guinness:

ClausF
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: Germany, FFM

Post by ClausF » Sat Jul 25, 2015 7:24 am

So, back into this. Still no answer, wow, that's what I call a service! But if nobody helps you, help yourself! So I decided to take a deeper look into this (as it is) worthless module to bring it to something useful.

Ok, what's inside? Let's see if we can find the antenna. I do not upload photos, because it's pretty simple. This thing is a few PCBs, three black and a little red. The interesting is the little red one. This is connected with the next (black) PCB via a row of pins and a (big) triangle of pins. And if you read how the pins on the black PCB are labeled, you find ANT at one of the triangle pins. Ok, that seems to be the Antenna. Just putting a croco cable to that pin increases the quality of radio reception dramatically, and I get a lot of stations now.

The red PCB btw is the SparkFun FM Tuner Evaluation Board - Si4703. Everything about this is on the web. And so the triangle pins get demystified: At this place normally is a 3,5mm audio jack for earphones. And the earphone cable serves as antenna. That's it, without earphone cable no antenna.

Buenos dias muchachos... :guinness:

User avatar
Mosiej
Common Wiggler
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:21 pm

Post by Mosiej » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:52 pm

would be sick to have an input/output FM trancmitter as well! :hail:

User avatar
Chartreuse-J
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 760
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:45 pm
Location: State of Malpas

Post by Chartreuse-J » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:50 am

Question: Can this do rolling scan?


Edit: Got the answer, and yes it can do a rolling scan with an LFO.

22tape
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 980
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: Yer mammy's dusty vibraphone

Post by 22tape » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:42 am

So many unhappy users, yet nobody wants to sell me theirs?? :hihi:

PM if you're looking to unload one. Thanks! :guinness:

tumblz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:05 pm

Re: ADDAC102 VC FM RADIO are now available!

Post by tumblz » Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:23 pm

I was considering this module, but I'm starting to think that running an external radio, line-in, would make more sense. As others have pointed out, if this thing is quiet, then it requires a second module to boost the signal (putting the price at ~$500 USD). And it appears to have reception issues (not the least of which is lack of AM tuning).

All of this leads to the fundamental question: Is CV control of seek/search worth the high price?

Even if you are heavy on artsy random generative stuff, I'm not sure putting a mod on seek/search is really going to be that big of an improvement over simply hitting the seek/search button manually on an external radio device.

Anyway, I don't mean to deflate the ADDAC102. Considering the limitations, it probably does an admirable job. There are only a few radio modules out there. And obviously, it is highly portable. I'm just seeing if there might be better strategies out there for bringing radio into modular.

Post Reply

Return to “ADDAC System”