TOFT ATB 16 Patching / Routing ideas

Discuss everything related to production, recording, composition, etc.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

johnny83
Common Wiggler

TOFT ATB 16 Patching / Routing ideas

Post by johnny83 » Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:44 am

Hi,

A bit of a novice question here, I've been working ITB for several years in logic with a UAD Apollo but wanted for a while to make the change to an analog mixer. I've lined up a Toft ATB16 as it fits my space requirements and also my budget. Now the question is the workflow of this with my Apollo quad thunderbolt (8 outs, 8 ins and an ADAT). I have a few questions if anyone has a similar setup as I will be looking to track, and mix down using the desk:

Should i be looking to increase the amount of ins and out I have with something like an SSL Alpha Link?

For the following which is the best routing options:

LINE (e.g. instrument)
MONITOR
INSERT
DIR OP
MIC

STEREO FX RETURNS
MONITOR RETURNS
SUBGROUP RETURNS
SUBMASTER OUTPUTS
AUX MASTERS

MASTER OP
MASTER INS
2 TK RET
ALT SPEAKER
MAIN SPEAKER

Here are some photos of the back of the AFT. I have read, reread and read again the manual but wanted to supplement this with actual experience from people and get some ideas for routing to help with the workflow.

Thanks as always

Johnny

Ashi
Wiggling with Experience

Re: TOFT ATB 16 Patching / Routing ideas

Post by Ashi » Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:18 am

johnny83 wrote: For the following which is the best routing options:

LINE (e.g. instrument)
MONITOR
INSERT
DIR OP
MIC

STEREO FX RETURNS
MONITOR RETURNS
SUBGROUP RETURNS
SUBMASTER OUTPUTS
AUX MASTERS

MASTER OP
MASTER INS
2 TK RET
ALT SPEAKER
MAIN SPEAKER
not sure what you want to know exactly? plug your line sources in the line input etc :hihi: