New flat - room acoustics questions

Discuss everything related to production, recording, composition, etc.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Arneb
Veteran Wiggler

New flat - room acoustics questions

Post by Arneb » Fri Feb 07, 2020 4:33 pm

Hi all,

we're moving into a new flat and, being wigglers and all, we're thinking about acoustics of our new living and music making room before buying, I dunno, a couch and a table. Unfortunately I'm a complete newbie on this stuff.

I've made a couple sketches using SweetHome3D:
livingroom1.png
livingroom1.png (375.66 KiB) Viewed 192 times
livingroom2.png
livingroom2.png (53.38 KiB) Viewed 192 times
Details:
- The room is pretty exactly 6m on the sloped side, 5m on the straight side, and a measly 2.2m high.
- The slope is about 30° and starts at 1.1m height.
- The placement of the windows isn't exact, they've just been mounted and I haven't been able to take measures yet, but you get the idea.
- The two outer walls (the brickwalls with the windows) are pretty well insulated, and the windows themselves are state of the art. The inner walls (the white ones), OTOH, are double slabs of drywall.
- The straight part of the ceiling is drywall covering massive wooden beams. I haven't measured the spacing of the beams.
- Power outlets are not a concern.

Our current speakers are shit - some Logitech speakers left over from my gamer days. Which is why I'm planning to buy real near-field monitors for the new apartment. I haven't decided anything yet but am currently leaning towards a pair of Yamaha HS8s.

Now according to what little I know about room acoustics, there's a whole lot of unpleasant compromises involved in actually placing monitors there.