µTune input configuration

Support and discussion of Tubbutec products.

Moderators: Kent, tubbutec

Post Reply
User avatar
tubbutec
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:29 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

µTune input configuration

Post by tubbutec » Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:10 am

I have a Utune and would like to know the setting that would allow me
to shut off its quantizer. In other words, I want to use the midi out
on the Utune but don't want Utune to change/quantize the pitches it
receives.

User avatar
tubbutec
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:29 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by tubbutec » Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:13 am

Hi,

there are multiple ways to deactivate CV-in:

1) Don't plug in anything. µTune will automatically detect this and switch to midi input mode.

2) Configure the input. In the channel settings, configure the cv input(s) to anything but 'pitch'. If you do not want to use the input at all, you can configure it as 'none'

User avatar
tubbutec
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:29 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by tubbutec » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:01 am

do not want to deactivate the pitch in. I want to deactivate the quantizer. Does this make sense?

I want: CV input ---> Utune Midi Out with no quantizer change.
The input is always quantized. If you want to reduce the number of quantization steps, you could set a very high number of input notes per volt and set the same number in a TET scale.

For example: Setting 48 notes for the CV IN Notes/V settings
and create a TET scale in the editor with 48 notes: Set number of notes to 48 and press NEW

This will give you a resolution of 25 cent

The resolution of the input does not allow for more precision - it is built to always run in quantizer mode

User avatar
Bubbles
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:27 pm
Location: Minneapolis

Post by Bubbles » Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:21 pm

tubbutec wrote:
do not want to deactivate the pitch in. I want to deactivate the quantizer. Does this make sense?

I want: CV input ---> Utune Midi Out with no quantizer change.
The input is always quantized. If you want to reduce the number of quantization steps, you could set a very high number of input notes per volt and set the same number in a TET scale.

For example: Setting 48 notes for the CV IN Notes/V settings
and create a TET scale in the editor with 48 notes: Set number of notes to 48 and press NEW

This will give you a resolution of 25 cent

The resolution of the input does not allow for more precision - it is built to always run in quantizer mode
So there is NO bypass MODE that allows a glissando or portamento to pass without quantization?

User avatar
Bubbles
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:27 pm
Location: Minneapolis

Can uTune be linked to Disting Mk4?

Post by Bubbles » Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:28 pm

tubbutec

I own the Tubbutec uTune. I am wondering if I can connect the uTune to my Expert Sleepers Disting (mk4) as a midi I/O unit?

User avatar
tubbutec
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:29 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by tubbutec » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:22 am

Bubbles wrote: So there is NO bypass MODE that allows a glissando or portamento to pass without quantization?
That is correct, the input is always quantized.

User avatar
tubbutec
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:29 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Can uTune be linked to Disting Mk4?

Post by tubbutec » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:23 am

Bubbles wrote: I own the Tubbutec uTune. I am wondering if I can connect the uTune to my Expert Sleepers Disting (mk4) as a midi I/O unit?
Don't know much about the Disting. If it can send midi, you should be able to connect it to µtune

User avatar
Tripcode
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:57 am
Location: Canary Islands
Contact:

Post by Tripcode » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:12 am

Hi, totally new to this. I can see that most people use Shuttle Control to clock the the modular system with a Digitakt. Is it possible to do the same with Tubbutech Utune? I can see it has a mini usb in, but I can't work out if it does the same as Shuttle Control.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Tripcode
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:57 am
Location: Canary Islands
Contact:

Post by Tripcode » Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:36 am

Tripcode wrote:Hi, totally new to this. I can see that most people use Shuttle Control to clock the the modular system with a Digitakt. Is it possible to do the same with Tubbutech Utune? I can see it has a mini usb in, but I can't work out if it does the same as Shuttle Control.

Thanks in advance.

Ok guys, I've checked a diagram and I can see that you can send usb midi to a clock divider, so that probably answers my question. Please correct me if I am wrong. :hmm:

User avatar
tubbutec
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:29 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by tubbutec » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:10 am

Hi Sorry for the late reply.
You are correct. You can send midi clock to µTune and set a clock divider. You can even output multiple clocks with different dividers.

User avatar
Tripcode
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:57 am
Location: Canary Islands
Contact:

Post by Tripcode » Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:25 am

Hi,

Thank you very much for all the answers. I have a much better idea now. Let’s start making some music!

Regards
Fer

Post Reply

Return to “Tubbutec”