magPie DblDecca! octatrack (and other) integration w/modular

A Portland based collective focused on creating high quality artistic & functional panels for modular synths.

Moderators: Kent, phidelity

Post Reply
User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15425
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

magPie DblDecca! octatrack (and other) integration w/modular

Post by ignatius » Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:03 pm

first teaser/ brief overview video.

basically get an OT specific midi implementation w/your eurorack. has clock, cv, gate, lfo, automation outs etc.. essentially everything that's in the OT can be used to control your modular.. and saved in the OT and performaed etc etc etc..

looking forward to more info.

DIY project. open source :tu:

[video][/video]

User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15425
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

Post by ignatius » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:26 pm

hoping some builders start puting these together in batches :)

:mrgreen:

yes0have0some
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 10:28 pm

Post by yes0have0some » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:28 am

Yeah, me too. Would work really well for me.

Coorec
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:16 am
Location: Germany

Post by Coorec » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:19 am

Pretty interested, although i don't have an Octatrack. Does it work with Maschine too? Its Midi, so it should, right?

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1895
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Post by Neutron7 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:55 am

Coorec wrote:Pretty interested, although i don't have an Octatrack. Does it work with Maschine too? Its Midi, so it should, right?
no reason why not, at least using the interface. does the maschine software let you output midi?

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11638
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:58 am

Yes, yes it does.

User avatar
Neutron7
Oldschool bleeper
Posts: 1895
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:24 pm

Post by Neutron7 » Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:25 am

SewerBadger wrote:Yes, yes it does.
you just have to decide what kind of outputs you want and what CC numbers are most convenient to use in maschine software, they could be defaults, or the first ones on a menu.

for instance with the cirklon, a new track defaults to creating lanes for CC 1,4,6, and 10 so a cirklon dodeca sketch could use those ones first.

d3n5ity
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 7:09 pm
Location: Oakland, CA

Post by d3n5ity » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:55 pm

When will more PCB's be available?

User avatar
whyfarer
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:44 pm
Location: The Questioning Zones

Post by whyfarer » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:28 pm

d3n5ity wrote:When will more PCB's be available?
I'm interested in this too

User avatar
whyfarer
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:44 pm
Location: The Questioning Zones

Post by whyfarer » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:58 pm

d3n5ity wrote:When will more PCB's be available?
They're back in stock. Mine have arrived :) Now to get the parts and to build the babelfish

jmsiener
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 2:00 pm
Location: Kentucky

Post by jmsiener » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:05 pm

Anyone else still getting after the dubldeca still? Mine's kind of the forefront of my whole system. Been working on getting the 1v/oct voice playing better. When playing from my Kontrol 49 it seems like you really can't let two notes hit at the same time i.e. the gate better not be high already before you play the next note. Sound familiar to anyone? I'm just getting picky here, it works fine with an arp.

User avatar
whyfarer
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:44 pm
Location: The Questioning Zones

Post by whyfarer » Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:49 pm

I only got around to building mine a little while ago and I haven't had much time to jam with the ot + mod, but I've enjoyed it when I did. I wasn't able to get it tracking for more than 2ish octaves but I think mine is manageable within that sort of range.

Any tips, tricks, or descriptions of how've you been using it as a hub?

Post Reply

Return to “Magpie Modular ”