Blacet Power distribution question...

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
K9Mike
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Blacet Power distribution question...

Post by K9Mike » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:14 pm

I'm exploring various powering / distribution options and was wondering why the PSCONN2 board has a 6 pin connector instead of just using the same 4 pin for the connection from the PS ?

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:50 pm

wow, sorry for leaving this thread untouched for so long :oops:

i have wondered the same thing. I cannot figure out why. Perhaps as a little push to get people to buy the connector cables from Blacet? hmm.

User avatar
plord
Wacky for Wiard Wiggler
Posts: 1787
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:52 am
Location: Charlotte, VT

Post by plord » Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:20 pm

Insurance so you don't plug the source into the distribution jacks and vice versa?

K9Mike
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by K9Mike » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:23 am

Muff Wiggler wrote:wow, sorry for leaving this thread untouched for so long :oops:

i have wondered the same thing. I cannot figure out why. Perhaps as a little push to get people to buy the connector cables from Blacet? hmm.
No problem! Actually, the lack of replies answered the question for me. :)

I've been exploring alternatives to the Blacet power solutions. I'm trying an extremely low noise (ripple) linear supply that has 6 times the capacity as the Blacet PS500 for about the same price... meaning I can run 6 or more racks worth of modules off of single supply... and buy more modules instead of power supplies. :)

And in the same DIY vein (as well as trying to save some $$$ here and there), I've also created my own "PSCONN2" boards:
Image

You can see it does not have the 6 pin connector. In my "scheme", the "PSCONN3"s are daisy chained together, with only the first PSCONN3 being connected (via heavy gauge wire) to the power supply (rather than each having its own connection to a PS). All the connectors are the same 4 pin connectors as modules.

Another difference is I have 2 surface mount LEDs, one for both the +15V and -15V rail for a quick visual that both supply rails are good. (It appears as though the PSCONN2 only has a single led.)

Just for the record, I have no intention of producing these for sale. These are for my own personal consumption to 1) create something with better functionality for my application, and 2) save a little money (my "PSCONN3"s cost about US$12 each.... not including my labor. :) )

After I get my system up, I'll provide a few more details regarding the parts. Maybe it'll be of use to others building up their racks.

Thanks for the reply !

- Mike
Last edited by K9Mike on Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

K9Mike
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by K9Mike » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:40 am

plord wrote:Insurance so you don't plug the source into the distribution jacks and vice versa?
There's really no "Ins" or "Outs"... meaning you could use a 4pin to 4pin cable to connect the power supply to any of the 4 pin connectors on the PSCONN2, and it would work fine... assuming the pins on the PS connectors are ordered the same as the pins on the PSCONN2. If not, you'd have to make a cable, changing the order on one of the connectors... so obviously -15v on the PS went to -15v on the PSCONN2... COMM went to COMM,... etc.

My initial thought was that Blacet used 6 wires from the PS (2 for each rail, and 2 for Gnd) to the PSCONN2's for extra current handling. But after seeing the "6 pin to 4 pin" PS "hook up" cable, it didn't appear the 6 pin connector had a purpose, hence my post to see if I was missing something obvious... or not so obvious. Perhaps it did have a purpose at one time, and the 6 pin connector is more or less a legacy.. or maybe it's for some future purpose.

Also strange on the PSCONN2 is the fact that the 6 pin inputs are "convoluted" with respect to the 4 pin connectors... meaning it is the COMM and the +15 pins on the outside, with -15V on the 2 inner pins, where as +15 and -15 are on the outside, with COMM in the middle on the 4 pin connector. It is clearly very purposefully designed, but the purpose escapes me. :)

- Mike

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7292
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:44 am

K9Mike wrote:....my "PSCONN3"s cost about US$12 each....
Have you tried www.pcbcart.com?
--- I've had similar recently and you should be able to get the price down pretty darn low - maybe $2 a pop?!
I've been very pleased with their service since I began using them.

User avatar
photon
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:13 pm
Location: Boston

Post by photon » Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:05 am

Here's a shot of my home made (ghetto) distro boards, no etching required. They're just unclad pcbs. The connectors are epoxied down and the electical connections are lengths of copper buss wire, soldered point to point. Work great and cost next to nothing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

K9Mike
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by K9Mike » Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:38 pm

They have good prices if you can endure huge lead times. For a fairly quick turn, they are only slightly cheaper than local board houses for very low quantity runs.

However, I am working on some prototype modules, and should I ever go into 'production', their long lead time prices are pretty appealing. Thanks for the suggestion!
BugBrand wrote:
K9Mike wrote:....my "PSCONN3"s cost about US$12 each....
Have you tried www.pcbcart.com?
--- I've had similar recently and you should be able to get the price down pretty darn low - maybe $2 a pop?!
I've been very pleased with their service since I began using them.

K9Mike
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by K9Mike » Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:48 pm

photon wrote:Here's a shot of my home made (ghetto) distro boards, no etching required. They're just unclad pcbs. The connectors are epoxied down and the electical connections are lengths of copper buss wire, soldered point to point. Work great and cost next to nothing.
Wow, very nice! I am too lazy to do point to point anymore. :) That epitomizes D-I-Y .. and it certainly beats other solutions economically by a mile! (Or kilometer, if you speak metric. :) )

- Mike

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:30 pm

Mike this is great. i would love to learn how to deal with all of this. PM me or call me up soon.

-Kwote
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

K9Mike
Common Wiggler
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by K9Mike » Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:01 am

Kwote wrote:Mike this is great. i would love to learn how to deal with all of this. PM me or call me up soon.

-Kwote
Are you going to the AH Calif. gathering next Saturday?

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:20 am

K9Mike wrote:
Kwote wrote:Mike this is great. i would love to learn how to deal with all of this. PM me or call me up soon.

-Kwote
Are you going to the AH Calif. gathering next Saturday?
hell yeah. i'm gonna try to be there all freakin day if my stomache will allow. i haven't really factored in the human need to eat yet.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
a.dighera
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 3:39 pm
Location: Cave

Post by a.dighera » Mon Dec 02, 2019 8:40 pm

photon Thanks so much for the perfect idea, ive been wringing my hands for too long trying to figure out a way to power my small row of modules and I'm going to take your route on the unclad bobbin board with bus wires. Cheers!

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”