Intellijel 1U Info Thread

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
xonetacular
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2549
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 10:35 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Post by xonetacular » Wed Feb 17, 2016 10:25 pm

quadratt looks cool. I know it can mix audio too as long as you turn down unused channels to not add dc offset like triatt but is there going to be a more audio focused 1u mixer too? that would be cool.

Grom
Common Wiggler
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 4:55 pm
Location: Antwerp

Post by Grom » Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:50 pm

how about making a bigger I/O or an expansion? 6 tracks would be great to pull your modular jams apart and rearrange them in a daw.

Imo this would be a perfect 1U module, keeping the fluff out of your 3U space

User avatar
slumberjack
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1464
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:27 am
Location: 44G
Contact:

Post by slumberjack » Mon Mar 28, 2016 8:21 am

how is it with vermona 1u, do they fit into intellijel cases?
> WTB ADDAC502 <

www.stefanrudin.bandcamp.com / www.soundcloud.com/stefan_rudin / www.youtube.com/user/slumberknut



Carefully crafted dj set meandering between deep house, minimal and electro.

iirussell
Common Wiggler
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:58 pm

Post by iirussell » Wed Mar 30, 2016 3:34 am

slumberjack wrote:how is it with vermona 1u, do they fit into intellijel cases?
I don't think so. Vermona 1u tiles look to be 43mm high. At least that's what it says on the Schneidersladen website.

string56
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:34 pm

Post by string56 » Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:14 am

iirussell wrote:
slumberjack wrote:how is it with vermona 1u, do they fit into intellijel cases?
I don't think so. Vermona 1u tiles look to be 43mm high. At least that's what it says on the Schneidersladen website.
OK, thanks for that info. However, will the Intellijel modules fit into the Vermona case? Earlier it was mentioned that they would fit rows with or without a lip, so although standard tiles won't fit Intellijel's 1U format, perhaps the latter will work in the (lipped) Vermona?

iirussell
Common Wiggler
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:58 pm

Post by iirussell » Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:23 am

string56 wrote: OK, thanks for that info. However, will the Intellijel modules fit into the Vermona case? Earlier it was mentioned that they would fit rows with or without a lip, so although standard tiles won't fit Intellijel's 1U format, perhaps the latter will work in the (lipped) Vermona?
It looks like the Vermona are 43mm tall, and the Intellijel are 39.65mm tall. So although there's technically enough room to fit the Intellijel 1u in a 43mm case, the position of the holes would be wrong, so you wouldnt be able to mount them in the Vermona case without making a new panel for them.

I've not seen either in person, but this looks to be the case from the specs online. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

User avatar
slumberjack
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1464
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:27 am
Location: 44G
Contact:

Post by slumberjack » Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:00 pm

iirussell wrote:
slumberjack wrote:how is it with vermona 1u, do they fit into intellijel cases?
I don't think so. Vermona 1u tiles look to be 43mm high. At least that's what it says on the Schneidersladen website.
THX
> WTB ADDAC502 <

www.stefanrudin.bandcamp.com / www.soundcloud.com/stefan_rudin / www.youtube.com/user/slumberknut



Carefully crafted dj set meandering between deep house, minimal and electro.

widgetoz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 694
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by widgetoz » Thu Mar 31, 2016 5:52 am

solitud wrote:Any suggestions how to name the new 1U formats to tell them apart?

Intellijel 1U and Pulp Logic 1U?
Lipless 1U and lipped 1U?

I understand the problem but this is a mess!
Users won't understand this and will be left disappointed. And I already regret that we tried to support 1U format on ModularGrid.

ModularGrid lets you drop all quirky mixed 1Us in a row and suggest that they all will fit.
But they won't. :waah:
Am I missing something ...
the Intellijel ones are what woudlbe recognised as true EuroRack while the Erthenvar ones fall under the FracRack format.
i.e. FracRack uses the full height of the 3U space while EuroRack uses a reduced (~5mm) height.
I am calling them 1UF (1U FracRack) and 1UE (1U EuroRack). The 1UF use lipless rails while the 1UE use lipped rails. We support and supply Side Panels and Rails to suit BOTH formats.
BOTH formats will fit in to a 1U space.

Effie
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:28 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Effie » Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:53 pm

Bought a 1u quadratt and passive mult to put in the 1U space in my synthrotek case. Already had some pulplogic stuff in there (which I love!). Here's a photo to show the size difference: http://i.imgur.com/a6BxhUc.jpg

autopoiesis
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm

Post by autopoiesis » Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:10 pm

@Effie, how are those Intellijel tiles holding up in your "1UF"-sized tile row when you stick cables in and out of them?

User avatar
DSC
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2184
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:54 pm
Location: Denver
Contact:

Post by DSC » Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:22 pm

Looks like some conversion panels would be necessary.

Effie
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:28 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Effie » Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:25 pm

autopoiesis wrote:@Effie, how are those Intellijel tiles holding up in your "1UF"-sized tile row when you stick cables in and out of them?
Haven't had too much time with them but they feel sturdy enough. I don't see any problems arising due to only screwing the top in. Having two different 1U module sizes is not as aesthetically pleasing, but I don't mind.

nicdro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:24 pm

Post by nicdro » Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:13 pm

Why is the 1u mult passive? for me the 1u utilities are to save space. a buffered mult would make so much more sense...

User avatar
geremyf
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1213
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:01 pm
Location: Boston

Post by geremyf » Fri Apr 01, 2016 3:25 pm

What happened to those cool 1u black PCB blank panels that were on the pictures of the original cases? I'd really like a little Intellijel robot one! That looked so cool.

widgetoz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 694
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by widgetoz » Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:08 pm

nicdro wrote:Why is the 1u mult passive? for me the 1u utilities are to save space. a buffered mult would make so much more sense...
Because it is cheap and for many task you just need to 'stack patches'. They use stackable patchleads extensively in Serge land and don't need a buffered mult for that.
Buffered mults come in more useful when patching critical voltages like 1V/Octave stuff or if you need to make a 1-in/50-out (exaggerated!!!) patch. Passives are all-way whereas buffered is one so with a passive you can plug in to any of the grouped jacks and get the desired results whereas with buffered there is an IN and there are OUTS. Also remember that you shouldn't plug multiple outputs together with either type with out first using some form of mixer

nicdro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:24 pm

Post by nicdro » Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:31 am

widgetoz wrote:
nicdro wrote:Why is the 1u mult passive? for me the 1u utilities are to save space. a buffered mult would make so much more sense...
Because it is cheap and for many task you just need to 'stack patches'. They use stackable patchleads extensively in Serge land and don't need a buffered mult for that.
Buffered mults come in more useful when patching critical voltages like 1V/Octave stuff or if you need to make a 1-in/50-out (exaggerated!!!) patch. Passives are all-way whereas buffered is one so with a passive you can plug in to any of the grouped jacks and get the desired results whereas with buffered there is an IN and there are OUTS. Also remember that you shouldn't plug multiple outputs together with either type with out first using some form of mixer
yes i do know that. but as for this i need a buffered one. all other 1u tiles do draw current so why not making a buffered mult too...

widgetoz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 694
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by widgetoz » Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:51 am

nicdro wrote:
widgetoz wrote:
nicdro wrote:Why is the 1u mult passive? for me the 1u utilities are to save space. a buffered mult would make so much more sense...
Because it is cheap and for many task you just need to 'stack patches'. They use stackable patchleads extensively in Serge land and don't need a buffered mult for that.
Buffered mults come in more useful when patching critical voltages like 1V/Octave stuff or if you need to make a 1-in/50-out (exaggerated!!!) patch. Passives are all-way whereas buffered is one so with a passive you can plug in to any of the grouped jacks and get the desired results whereas with buffered there is an IN and there are OUTS. Also remember that you shouldn't plug multiple outputs together with either type with out first using some form of mixer
yes i do know that. but as for this i need a buffered one. all other 1u tiles do draw current so why not making a buffered mult too...
http://www.schneidersladen.de/en/vermon ... erter.html

nicdro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:24 pm

Post by nicdro » Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:54 am

widgetoz wrote:
nicdro wrote:
widgetoz wrote:
nicdro wrote:Why is the 1u mult passive? for me the 1u utilities are to save space. a buffered mult would make so much more sense...
Because it is cheap and for many task you just need to 'stack patches'. They use stackable patchleads extensively in Serge land and don't need a buffered mult for that.
Buffered mults come in more useful when patching critical voltages like 1V/Octave stuff or if you need to make a 1-in/50-out (exaggerated!!!) patch. Passives are all-way whereas buffered is one so with a passive you can plug in to any of the grouped jacks and get the desired results whereas with buffered there is an IN and there are OUTS. Also remember that you shouldn't plug multiple outputs together with either type with out first using some form of mixer
yes i do know that. but as for this i need a buffered one. all other 1u tiles do draw current so why not making a buffered mult too...
http://www.schneidersladen.de/en/vermon ... erter.html
Thank you but it would not fit into the new cases by intellijel :/

restless1
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 5:10 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by restless1 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:12 pm

Anyone know if the Intellijel 1Us fit with the Clicks & Clocks rails?

I have 2 custom 4Us for my portable case just begging for these...

http://clicksclocks.de/888

User avatar
pulpum
Common Wiggler
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 5:45 am
Location: bordeaux

Post by pulpum » Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:08 am

restless1 wrote:Anyone know if the Intellijel 1Us fit with the Clicks & Clocks rails?

I have 2 custom 4Us for my portable case just begging for these...

http://clicksclocks.de/888
excellent question!

User avatar
Felnyrii
Common Wiggler
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:59 am
Location: Oklahoma, US

Post by Felnyrii » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:14 am

dumbledog wrote:Pulp Tiles and Jelly Squares.
:omg:

User avatar
CeeJay
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:09 pm

Post by CeeJay » Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:03 pm

pulpum wrote:
restless1 wrote:Anyone know if the Intellijel 1Us fit with the Clicks & Clocks rails?

I have 2 custom 4Us for my portable case just begging for these...

http://clicksclocks.de/888
excellent question!
I think, the discription of the Clicks & Clocks 4U frames is quite clear. There is even a link to erthenvars 1U specs.
They use lipped rails but with the inner height of erthenvar/pulplogic tiles.
This makes their whole 4U frame actually bigger than 4U.

The Intellijel 1Us will fit, but leave a gap and you can screw them only to one rail.

fubsan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:24 am

Post by fubsan » Sat Apr 09, 2016 1:30 am

the Intellijel ones are what woudlbe recognised as true EuroRack while the Erthenvar ones fall under the FracRack format.
i.e. FracRack uses the full height of the 3U space while EuroRack uses a reduced (~5mm) height.
I am calling them 1UF (1U FracRack) and 1UE (1U EuroRack). The 1UF use lipless rails while the 1UE use lipped rails. We support and supply Side Panels and Rails to suit BOTH formats.
BOTH formats will fit in to a 1U space.
Best description yet, thanks. I've chosen to go with the 1u Eurorack format (Intellijel) in my upcoming case.

User avatar
handsomepanther
Common Wiggler
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:15 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by handsomepanther » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:14 am

Just thought i'd pop in on this thread and post this image I came across on the DIY cases thread which really helps to visualize the intellijel tiles if they are mounted in the more common lunchbox erthenvar/synthrotek/pulp logic spec.

Looks like they can fit, just not the prettiest thing, (that little gap would drive me insane)

Picture from Gonkulator

Image

User avatar
infovore
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 9:36 am
Location: London

Post by infovore » Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:58 am

Well, you can always make a new frontpanel for them which would solve that problem...

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”