New Oakley rack module: ADR30

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2915
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Post by Synthbuilder » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:42 am

Hi Harald,

Thanks for letting me know. I just got your e-mail too and have just replied to it.
Haralds:Werk wrote:On the GAIN2 adjust the hint to set the range switch to long is missing.
Maybe I haven't worded the description very clearly but I am not understanding the problem here. What you need to do is flip the range switch between long and short and adjust GAIN2 so that the levels are the same in both modes.
In BAL routine the Emitter of Q7 is on the right hand pin when the pots are facing you.
Yes, you're correct. I'm dyslexic so often get right and left mixed up. I have just uploaded the revised version of the User Manual with this fixed.

Tony

User avatar
Haralds:Werk
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Haralds:Werk » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:30 am

Synthbuilder wrote:Hi Harald,

Thanks for letting me know. I just got your e-mail too and have just replied to it.
Haralds:Werk wrote:On the GAIN2 adjust the hint to set the range switch to long is missing.
Maybe I haven't worded the description very clearly but I am not understanding the problem here. What you need to do is flip the range switch between long and short and adjust GAIN2 so that the levels are the same in both modes.

Tony
Thanks Tony. My fault on the GAIN2 adjust. It clearly says "irrespective of the position of the range switch". I misread this.
www.haraldswerk.de
Home of Next Generation Formant

emi2345
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:35 pm

Post by emi2345 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 6:43 am

Synthbuilder wrote:
Leverkusen wrote:
I wonder if enough jacks for a module would fit onto the panel when I ditch the input and output level controls - is the input level essential or could one replace it with a fixed resistor for modular only use?
Input level is useful as BBD delays have a small signal operating range before they clip or get too noisy. Letting the ADR30 clip is an interesting effect though.

The PCB is just too wide to fit vertically into a 5U module. If you have a wooden case with wooden rails it may just fit - although I am slightly uncomfortable with mounting any BBD circuitry in an open box simply because of the large amount of high frequency signals they spew out.
Could it fit into 5U with 4 knobs and 4 jacks like the EFG? Input level - time - feedback - dry/wet. And the jacks input - output - time cv - feedback cv. On the PCB you could lose the LFO. I don’t know if that would give you enough space to fit into 5U but it would be a great addition.

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2915
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Post by Synthbuilder » Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:16 am

emi2345 wrote:Could it fit into 5U with 4 knobs and 4 jacks like the EFG?
I do have some ideas about how I could get a decently specified analogue delay in 5U. I think a double width module would be best. This would not only give enough knobs and sockets for a really useful module but also would allow for through hole components like the ADR30. The boards could then be mounted in a similar way to the ASV.

A basic delay could be built like the Flanger/Chorus layout, ie. single width module with four pots and six sockets, but would require surface mount and probably a daughter board too. But given that the Flanger/Chorus has not sold well I'm not sure I want to go down that route. Whether it hasn't sold well because it uses surface mount parts, or that few people want a flanger/chorus, or that my demos weren't good enough, I don't know.

I'll also be putting a delay in the MAP - which is what the initial work on the ADR30 was originally intended for. But that is some way off yet.

Tony

emi2345
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:35 pm

Post by emi2345 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 1:19 pm

Synthbuilder wrote: A basic delay could be built like the Flanger/Chorus layout, ie. single width module with four pots and six sockets, but would require surface mount and probably a daughter board too. But given that the Flanger/Chorus has not sold well I'm not sure I want to go down that route. Whether it hasn't sold well because it uses surface mount parts, or that few people want a flanger/chorus, or that my demos weren't good enough, I don't know.
Tony
The demos of the flanger sound amazing and made me instantly want it. I’ve never done smt before and that seems fiddly but the comments on the thread seem to suggest it isn’t hard. I’ve just ordered one so we’ll see. Perhaps the flanger is competing more directly with the enormous array of guitar pedals out there. Is it possible for you to have the boards made with the smt components soldered from the factory? Then the diyer can add the through hole ones.

User avatar
todd_r
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:02 pm

Post by todd_r » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:58 pm

Sounds amazing! How likely/possible is a stereo version?

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2915
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Post by Synthbuilder » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:53 am

todd_r wrote:Sounds amazing! How likely/possible is a stereo version?
I'd say extremely unlikely. Mostly due to expected sales and cost - the ADR30 hasn't sold well and the cost of a stereo one, to develop and for the user to build, would be prohibitive.

Tony

User avatar
todd_r
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:02 pm

Post by todd_r » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:44 am

Synthbuilder wrote:
todd_r wrote:Sounds amazing! How likely/possible is a stereo version?
I'd say extremely unlikely. Mostly due to expected sales and cost - the ADR30 hasn't sold well and the cost of a stereo one, to develop and for the user to build, would be prohibitive.

Tony
Ah ok, no problem. What is the build cost, and do you think it would be someone would be able to DIY a stereo solution with two?

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2915
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Post by Synthbuilder » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:57 am

todd_r wrote:What is the build cost...
This very much depends on where you buy your components and your choice of case, knobs etc. But I think you should budget around 150GBP for a single mono unit.
and do you think it would be someone would be able to DIY a stereo solution with two?
That's not quite as simple as building two because you'd have to find some way of getting both delays to be in sync. ie. the same delay time for each one, when working in stereo. You'd have to pass the high frequency clock signals that control the delay time and tracking filters from the master ADR30 to the slave ADR30. Then there's the problem of having two sets of input and output level controls which probably should be stereo pots. It's not impossible though - just a little messy.

Tony

eljay
Common Wiggler
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:50 pm
Location: Bransgore, UK

Rear panel FPD file

Post by eljay » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:26 am

I've just finished building this using the YM-300 project case for the enclosure. I created an FPD file for the rear panel to act as a drilling template. I also printed it out on photo glossy paper, laminated it, cut it out and stuck in on with spray adhesive.


I thought others might find the FPD file useful so here is one I have successfully used.Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
johnchantler
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:31 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by johnchantler » Sun Sep 08, 2019 1:15 pm

picking this project up again after a bit of a break. thinking of the following for a full 19" width rack panel.

missing anything really obvious? planning to put the power switch on the back.

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DrP
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:05 pm

Re: New Oakley rack module: ADR30

Post by DrP » Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:16 pm

Hi all, Newbie here so apologies in advance! I know this is an old thread but was wondering if anyone could give me a bit of info on the Laney adx that is mentioned in this thread?

So I have bought one of these and want to use it as an aux send on a mixer. The inputs available are only mic or instrument... my Hill audio mixer is +4dB line out... will a DI be needed so I don’t murder the input, or just some very low input gain. Also in either case would the instrument be the better choice as it is in between mic and line level?

Anyone have any advice it would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

DrP

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2915
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: New Oakley rack module: ADR30

Post by Synthbuilder » Fri Feb 14, 2020 12:38 pm

DrP wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 1:16 pm
... my Hill audio mixer is +4dB line out... will a DI be needed so I don’t murder the input, or just some very low input gain. Also in either case would the instrument be the better choice as it is in between mic and line level?
You should connect the aux out from your desk direct to the instrument input and not the mic inputs on the Laney. The mixing desk output is specified for pro-audio levels (ie. +4dB) but the actual signal level can be controlled with the Aux send pot on the mixer. So simply adjust the aux send control so that the Laney is not overloaded and sounds clean(ish). That said, you shouldn't do any damage to the Laney even the audio gets distorted. Indeed, an overloaded BBD delay unit can be a wonderful thing.

Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”