Intellijel Plonk

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:21 pm

I'm getting some strange behavior out of my plonk. When I dial in low mallet stiffness and set the mallet to noise ratio to 100% mallet it sounds like every so often the low mallet settings are ignored. Here is a link to a video of the strange behavior with my setup: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ghs2y0fo6p3ti ... k.mp4?dl=0

Anyone want to try and reproduce this?

First disconnect any modulation inputs so that only Trigger and Pitch inputs are connected....and audio out of course. Set X,Y knobs to 12 o'clock and the Decay knob full clockwise. Then:

1) initialize preset
2) set mallet stiffness to 9 (any low value works try anything less than 10)
3) Make sure the X knob is at or less than12 o'clock so mallet to noise ratio is 100% mallet, 0% noise

The key settings to get the strange behavior are low mallet stiffness and 100% mallet and 0% noise mallet to noise ratio. These next two setting just make the behavior more perceptible

4) increase output gain to around +10db
5) increase the object decay time to around 120
6) program a simple sequence around middle C and listen and wait.

Be patient, give it up to 5 minutes. Listen for the low mallet stiffness settings being occasionally disregarded and a louder hard mallet sound ringing out.



:goo:

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by kisielk » Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:11 pm

Interesting finding, I'll pass this along to AAS and see what they think.

Does it happen with other resonators too, it sounds like you are using the string resonator in this example? From what I understand, that one is "special" compared to the others.
Intellijel R&D

User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:47 pm

Yes it does it with all the resonators. Plate is the worst though.

I've already contacted Intellijel support with this and they couldn't reproduce the behavior on their end. So the logical conclusion was that I probably had something going on with my module, but just yesterday I was able to reproduce the behavior at a showroom that had an intellijel case with plonk in it. So now I'm thinking it is not my module that is wonky. That's why I posted here. Intellijel support is very good by the way, they get back to you quick and are very nice.

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by kisielk » Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:50 pm

Thanks for the kind words about our support team :)

I've filed the details in our bug tracker and pinged AAS about it since they are responsible for the DSP portion of Plonk.
Intellijel R&D

User avatar
a773
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:21 am
Location: Copenhagen/Denmark
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by a773 » Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:16 pm

If we're doing bug reports, I have problems with naming presets with space in the name, the cursor won't go beyond the space.

Anyone else has this? I can make a more detailed report if this is not enough.

It's easy to reproduce, happens 100% of the time :party:

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by kisielk » Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:19 pm

Works fine here. Film a video and send a link to support@intellijel.com and we'll have a look
Intellijel R&D

User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:09 pm

kisielk wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:50 pm
Thanks for the kind words about our support team :)

I've filed the details in our bug tracker and pinged AAS about it since they are responsible for the DSP portion of Plonk.
Cool. Thanks. Were you able to reproduce it?

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by kisielk » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:10 pm

Haven't had time to try yet, but the bug report has a link to your video
Intellijel R&D

User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:23 pm

a773 wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:16 pm
If we're doing bug reports, I have problems with naming presets with space in the name, the cursor won't go beyond the space.

Anyone else has this? I can make a more detailed report if this is not enough.

It's easy to reproduce, happens 100% of the time :party:
Not sure if this is what you are referring to but when trying to rename a preset that has been initialized (initialize preset) you will run into the problem of not being able to scroll through the character options one step past an empty space. A work around is encoder click through all the remaining spaces in the name field, continue past the save yes/no option back through the characters you have selected in your new preset name to the first empty space slot. Then turn the encoder...letters will appear on that spot and a couple slots after it, re-select the space option and now you can select characters after the space.

example: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1p73aczmd4jlx ... 9.mp4?dl=0


:party:
Last edited by ehr on Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
a773
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:21 am
Location: Copenhagen/Denmark
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by a773 » Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:08 pm

That's exactly it. All presets are initialized here (except obviously the ones I made).

Intellijel, is this enough to go on, included the posted video (not mine) or should I still send a video?

User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:09 pm

kisielk wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:50 pm
Thanks for the kind words about our support team :)

I've filed the details in our bug tracker and pinged AAS about it since they are responsible for the DSP portion of Plonk.
any updates on this?

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by kisielk » Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:33 pm

Not yet, sorry
Intellijel R&D

User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:07 am

hopefully soon. A workaround when using the mallet (especially when using 100% mallet) is to keep the mallet stiffness above 64. The further below 64 you go the more apparent the glitch.

egoless
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:01 pm

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by egoless » Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:28 am

Just got it yesterday, played with it for a little bit, was really struggling getting anything chromatic out of it. I turned the Quantize on in Plonk, and was feeding it with quantized sequence from Renee, the pitch is all over the place, detuning all the time. As far as I understood the issue this is due to Polyphonic mode with single trigger input aka. mono mode should track correctly? Not a big deal tho, still love it for weird percussion stuff...

User avatar
Hidden_Path
Common Wiggler
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:32 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by Hidden_Path » Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:20 am

ehr wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:21 pm
I'm getting some strange behavior out of my plonk. When I dial in low mallet stiffness and set the mallet to noise ratio to 100% mallet it sounds like every so often the low mallet settings are ignored. Here is a link to a video of the strange behavior with my setup: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ghs2y0fo6p3ti ... k.mp4?dl=0

Anyone want to try and reproduce this?

First disconnect any modulation inputs so that only Trigger and Pitch inputs are connected....and audio out of course. Set X,Y knobs to 12 o'clock and the Decay knob full clockwise. Then:

1) initialize preset
2) set mallet stiffness to 9 (any low value works try anything less than 10)
3) Make sure the X knob is at or less than12 o'clock so mallet to noise ratio is 100% mallet, 0% noise

The key settings to get the strange behavior are low mallet stiffness and 100% mallet and 0% noise mallet to noise ratio. These next two setting just make the behavior more perceptible

4) increase output gain to around +10db
5) increase the object decay time to around 120
6) program a simple sequence around middle C and listen and wait.

Be patient, give it up to 5 minutes. Listen for the low mallet stiffness settings being occasionally disregarded and a louder hard mallet sound ringing out.



:goo:
Yeah I get this too... it's a slightly harder mallet that rings out occasionally, but not 100/0, somewhere in between... it's like theres some sort of randomness happening under the hood.
egoless wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:28 am
Just got it yesterday, played with it for a little bit, was really struggling getting anything chromatic out of it. I turned the Quantize on in Plonk, and was feeding it with quantized sequence from Renee, the pitch is all over the place, detuning all the time. As far as I understood the issue this is due to Polyphonic mode with single trigger input aka. mono mode should track correctly? Not a big deal tho, still love it for weird percussion stuff...
Never had pitch issues with mine, I primarily use it for the chromatic stuff, so it sounds like you've got something else going on there.

User avatar
ehr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Crestline, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by ehr » Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:30 pm

@hidden_path
yeah, those nice soft mallet sequences randomly interrupted by a loud gong was not good.

@egoless
Have you messed with the gate delay setting? maybe increase that. If that doesn't work maybe re-calibrate it.

User avatar
void23
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:34 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by void23 » Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:44 pm

egoless wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:28 am
Just got it yesterday, played with it for a little bit, was really struggling getting anything chromatic out of it. I turned the Quantize on in Plonk, and was feeding it with quantized sequence from Renee, the pitch is all over the place, detuning all the time. As far as I understood the issue this is due to Polyphonic mode with single trigger input aka. mono mode should track correctly? Not a big deal tho, still love it for weird percussion stuff...
What your hearing is why Plonk is no longer in my rack. For some strange reason, it was designed to allow for pitch bending. It was impossible to get anything melodic out of it Make sure you have the latest firmware, they might have corrected the issue.

egoless
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:01 pm

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by egoless » Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:04 pm

void23 wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:44 pm
egoless wrote:
Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:28 am
Just got it yesterday, played with it for a little bit, was really struggling getting anything chromatic out of it. I turned the Quantize on in Plonk, and was feeding it with quantized sequence from Renee, the pitch is all over the place, detuning all the time. As far as I understood the issue this is due to Polyphonic mode with single trigger input aka. mono mode should track correctly? Not a big deal tho, still love it for weird percussion stuff...
What your hearing is why Plonk is no longer in my rack. For some strange reason, it was designed to allow for pitch bending. It was impossible to get anything melodic out of it Make sure you have the latest firmware, they might have corrected the issue.
Interestingly enough, tried another sequencer (Future Retro Trax) and it tracked completely fine... Will try to mess with Gate Delay settings...

egoless
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:01 pm

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by egoless » Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:26 pm

Just to chime in once again, I just had to set the gate delay at 2 (it was at 1) and now I don't have any issues tracking 1v/oct. Awesome :)

User avatar
Carrousel
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:48 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by Carrousel » Tue Jul 14, 2020 6:02 pm

Plonk through a rainmaker doing some serious bits in these twinned pieces:






In 'Twin B', I used the microphone on an Arbhar to record in some plucks of a strange zither-like metal & wooden percussion instrument I have. You can hear just the Plonk without the Arbhar between 2:20 and 3:30. You can hear just the Arbhar recordings between 1:35 and 2:00 and also 4:05 - 4:30. Otherwise they play together through most of the piece.


Considering the Arbhar part is a recording of some live percussion, I think its impressive how similar the plonk sounds; it's always my go to module for any kinds of struck or plucked sound.

Note that in 'Twin A' the Plonk comes in around 1:45 and then stays around.
Formerly 'Raven_Martin' on Muffwiggler
'And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music' - Nietzsche

https://carrouselmusic.bandcamp.com
https://soundcloud.com/carrousel_uk

loydb
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Austin, USA

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by loydb » Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:33 am

I really like those tracks @carrousel. Well done.

User avatar
Rex Coil 7
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7284
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Captain Of Outer Space

Re:

Post by Rex Coil 7 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 10:08 am

Umcorps wrote:
Wed May 02, 2018 1:50 am
Crossposting this from the Stages thread because Plonk...

[video][/video]
Nicely done. I like how you make use of musical tension/release, and you seem to understand the value of resolving back to the tonic after use of the more tense phrasing. That resolve is like this ~ahhhhh~ feeling of relaxation from the tension created by previous phrases. Thanks for that.
5U MODULAR NORMALIZING PROJECT (for your entertainment) viewtopic.php?t=78836&highlight=
.. given the choice between conformity and self respect, I choose the latter.
.. dominion - noun: control or the exercise of control . power . possessed and controlled domain . sovereignty . having dominion over the world . supreme authority . absolute ownership . power . authority . jurisdiction . control . command ... power ....... power .......... power.

User avatar
Carrousel
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:48 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by Carrousel » Thu Jul 16, 2020 6:50 pm

loydb wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:33 am
I really like those tracks @carrousel. Well done.
:tu: thanks man!
Formerly 'Raven_Martin' on Muffwiggler
'And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music' - Nietzsche

https://carrouselmusic.bandcamp.com
https://soundcloud.com/carrousel_uk

laneo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:06 pm

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by laneo » Sat Aug 08, 2020 5:38 pm

Hi All.
The manual says "PITCH - 1 V/octave pitch input. Summed with the position of the PITCH knob. The range is ±5 V. "
I cant seem to hear any difference on my plonk while sending pitch bellow -1V. (and I can hear the pitch changing up to +6V).
I already tried calibrating and I got the exact same behavior.
Is there something I might be missing that I could try or should I consider that my unit is failed?

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Plonk

Post by kisielk » Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:18 pm

That is a mistake in the manual, Plonk only responds to positive pitch voltages.
Intellijel R&D

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”