MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms Of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioWiggler Radio   SearchSearch   Muff Wiggler Blog & NewsBlog & News   Muff Wiggler StoreMW Store 
 RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 

MIDITRIBE Discussion ThreadGoto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next [all]
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Amazing Machines
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author MIDITRIBE Discussion Thread
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:33 am    Post subject: Re: USB to MIDI Cable Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

renton wrote:
Hi there,

now I have tested an active USB Hub with the USB to MIDI Cable and still no luck.

So it seems that USB to MIDI Cables are not compatible with MIDITRIBE.

@Gabriel: Do you have a good cheap tip, how I can use the MIDITRIBE with my Notebook's USB Ports? I know that my mate's using an Alesis Sound-Station, but I don't want to put that much effort because I only want the MIDITRIBE to synchronise with Ableton Live on my Notebook.

Cheers,
Ralf


Hi Ralf,

We can only think of the M-Audio MIDISPORT 2x2 as a cheap but yet reliable USB to MIDI interface, these are small, built like a tank and deliver quality MIDI. Any interface should work, we are preparing a list of the devices we used to test the MIDITRIBE and will post back here soon. Your case and Dave's case seems to be insulated cases, we already sold dozens of MIDITRIBEs and never had a single MIDITRIBE returned, also no one has ever claimed it to be not working with any specific device before. Anyways, USB to MIDI cables never were a reliable MIDI source, that's why they are so cheap. We advise you to go to a store with your Laptop and the MONOTRIBE, then test it before you purchase the interface, maybe your Laptop's USB port is to blame.

I'm here to help, please ask as many questions as you need to.

Best wishes,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines


Last edited by Amazing Machines on Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:09 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

mckenic wrote:
Hi guys!

Not sure how much help this is going to be but...

I have one of those standard USB-Midi cables and it wont work with my MidiTribe. I also had troubles before using it with my FS1R and Shruthi - so I would blame that cable. I have no trouble with the MidiTribe and the Midi out of my Ultralite using Ableton Live 8. That works wonderfully, Thank You very much Gabriel!

Hope this is some help!


Hi Dave,

Can you confirm how do you connect your Ultralite:

- Firewire?
- USB?
- Do you use a external power adapter?
- Is this the same Laptop you tried the USB to MIDI cable?

Thanks in advance,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mckenic
pew!pew!pew!kthnxbye!


Joined: 06 Aug 2010
Last Visit: 26 Feb 2015

Posts: 4917
Location: Limerick, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Hi Gabriel!

I have a late 2008 MacBook. I use an Ultralite Mk.I that is powered directly from the laptop FW port. Everything is running perfect wth the MidiTribe - it just works!

The USB ports on the Macbook both output the usual 5v so Im not sure why my USB-Midi only works when it feels like it!

Hope this helps!
Dave

_________________
Album Teaser Video
mCKENIC.cOM | mCKENIC Soundcloud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

mckenic wrote:
Hi Gabriel!

I have a late 2008 MacBook. I use an Ultralite Mk.I that is powered directly from the laptop FW port. Everything is running perfect wth the MidiTribe - it just works!

The USB ports on the Macbook both output the usual 5v so Im not sure why my USB-Midi only works when it feels like it!

Hope this helps!
Dave


Hi Dave,

Thank you for your feedback. Can you please try to connect your Ultralite via the USB Port and test it with the MIDITRIBE?
It would help us to provide valuable information about compatibility issues.
Please let me know the Brand and Model of your USB to MIDI cable.

Thanks in advance,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mckenic
pew!pew!pew!kthnxbye!


Joined: 06 Aug 2010
Last Visit: 26 Feb 2015

Posts: 4917
Location: Limerick, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Hi Gabriel!

Im very sorry mate - I wont be much help here... My Ultralite is the Mk.I so it is only Firewire Im afraid. It is the older one and does not have USB. Also, the USB-Midi is one of those REALLY cheap unbranded ones floating about.

Here is a picture of the exact model:



Sorry I couldnt be any more help but if it makes any difference, I am a VERY happy MidiTribe customer smile

thumbs up

Dave

_________________
Album Teaser Video
mCKENIC.cOM | mCKENIC Soundcloud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

mckenic wrote:
Sorry I couldnt be any more help but if it makes any difference, I am a VERY happy MidiTribe customer smile

thumbs up

Dave


Hi Dave,

Great to hear that you are happy with your MIDITRIBE thumbs up
Sorry, but hmmm........ I must be honest with you, these USB to MIDI cables can't be taken seriously seriously, i just don't get it, as you are an owner of a MacBook and an Ultralite, I believe you know why. I mean, have a look to your MacBook and Ultralite, despite the good looking factor, there's a lot of effort and development put into those things, also they are made with high quality parts and follows the standards, in fact they are the standards, you can't say the same about these USB to MIDI cables.
We are very happy with your feedback and comments, now we can add the MOTU Utralite MkI to the tested and approved list.

Many Thanks,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renton
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 07 Dec 2011
Last Visit: 30 Dec 2011

Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:44 am    Post subject: Yes! Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Yippiiiieeeehhh!!!! hihi

I finally got my MIDITRIBE sychronised with my Notebook.

Gabriel, you can put the miditech MIDIFACE 2x2 on your compatibility list:

http://www.miditech.de/site.php4?site_id=144

Works perfectly with Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate. Just plug and play, no special driver or software installation needed. In Ableton Live, it's called "Midilink" and "MIDIOUT2 (Midilink)".

Everything works, synchronisation and programming.

Now, i will play around a little bit. cool

If I'll have any questions concerning the programming of MIDITRIBE in Ableton Live, can I ask this forum here too?

Til then,
Ralf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:01 am    Post subject: Re: Yes! Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

renton wrote:
Gabriel, you can put the miditech MIDIFACE 2x2 on your compatibility list:

http://www.miditech.de/site.php4?site_id=144

Works perfectly with Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate. Just plug and play, no special driver or software installation needed. In Ableton Live, it's called "Midilink" and "MIDIOUT2 (Midilink)".

Everything works, synchronisation and programming.

If I'll have any questions concerning the programming of MIDITRIBE in Ableton Live, can I ask this forum here too?

Til then,
Ralf


Hi Ralf,

Great to hear you got everything sorted, this makes the miditech MIDIFACE 2x2 another one to our list.

We advise you to download the latest version of the MIDITRIBE Owner's Manual, there are some new features added after the MONOTRIBE OS 2 Update.

Feel free to ask as many questions as you need to, this is the main reason we created this forum.

Cheers,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lombrose
Wiggling with Experience


Joined: 11 Nov 2009
Last Visit: 06 Jan 2015

Posts: 414
Location: Recife, PE, Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Yes! Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Amazing Machines wrote:
Hi Ralf,

Great to hear you got everything sorted, this makes the miditech MIDIFACE 2x2 another one to our list.

We advise you to download the latest version of the MIDITRIBE Owner's Manual, there are some new features added after the MONOTRIBE OS 2 Update.

Feel free to ask as many questions as you need to, this is the main reason we created this forum.

Cheers,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines


SlayerBadger! SlayerBadger! SlayerBadger! SlayerBadger! SlayerBadger! SlayerBadger! SlayerBadger! thumbs up


Last edited by lombrose on Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psilocynik
1-Post Wiggler


Joined: 26 Jan 2012
Last Visit: 27 Jan 2012

Posts: 1
Location: lyon, france

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Hi mates!

I installed the MIDITRIBE interface on my Monotribe, it rules! Really professional; well packed, looks very nice, well done Amazing Machines!!

I have just one question, but not easy to formulate; actually I have a AKAI XR20, a nice little beatbox which has a MIDI connection, so the best solution for me to synchronize the Monotribe is rather via the XR20 than KP3 (in terms of ergonomy) but here's my little problem;

When I plug the Miditribe to the XR20, the tempo is doubled: to obtain 120Bpm I have to enter 60Bpm, for 160; 80, etc.
which is a problem because if I want to use the note repeat I have to double also the value (and it's not infinite of course!).

So what can I do even on the Monotribe or the XR20 to synchronize the two machines on the same BPM value?

Here we are. Sorry if the question's stupid but I don't really know anything usefull about MIDI smile
(I already searched into the XR20 MIDI option)

Thanks again for the Miditribe solution,
Big up!!

Best regards from France.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

psilocynik wrote:
Hi mates!

I installed the MIDITRIBE interface on my Monotribe, it rules! Really professional; well packed, looks very nice, well done Amazing Machines!!

I have just one question, but not easy to formulate; actually I have a AKAI XR20, a nice little beatbox which has a MIDI connection, so the best solution for me to synchronize the Monotribe is rather via the XR20 than KP3 (in terms of ergonomy) but here's my little problem;

When I plug the Miditribe to the XR20, the tempo is doubled: to obtain 120Bpm I have to enter 60Bpm, for 160; 80, etc.
which is a problem because if I want to use the note repeat I have to double also the value (and it's not infinite of course!).

So what can I do even on the Monotribe or the XR20 to synchronize the two machines on the same BPM value?

Here we are. Sorry if the question's stupid but I don't really know anything usefull about MIDI smile
(I already searched into the XR20 MIDI option)

Thanks again for the Miditribe solution,
Big up!!

Best regards from France.


Hi Psilocynik,

This is not the first time I've seen it, usually with KORG instruments. We have the same problem with our microKORG mk1 when trying to sync it to ableton, depending on how ableton is setted, if we send MIDI Clock to 1 port it works fine, if we set ableton to send MIDI clock to 2 diferent ports all of our KORG synths including a Poly-800II go crazy and double the clock. I'm not sure why it happens but looks like it is related to how KORG synths interpret MIDI Timecode. Same thing happend with the MONOTRIBE when trying to send MIDI Clock to 2 diferent ports in Logic Pro. In your case the XR20 only have 1 port so you can't try to turn off MIDI Clock to other ports. The only sugestion I may come up with is to try diferent senttings for MIDI Clock Out on the XR20, which you said you already did. The MONOTRIBE have no settings for this kind of messages, our interface adds no code or something that can be configured further, the MIDITRIBE is only a converter to adequate the standard MIDI signal to what the MONOTRIBE can read, what ever happens after the conversion is up to KORG and what they implemented on the machine, but as I mentioned before, all of our MIDI equipped KORGs have the same problem depending on specific configurations. Certainly this is not the answer you was looking for but it is what it is right?
Fear not to ask as many questions as you need to, this is the main reason we created this forum, so we could answer our customers questions. Please post back here if you find a solution for your specific case.

Cheers,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

For more information on the MIDITRIBE I/O please have a look to this Synthtopia post:

http://www.synthtopia.com/content/2012/02/12/amazing-machines-miditrib e-io-for-korg-monotribe-teaser/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flx
Veteran Wiggler


Joined: 05 Oct 2011
Last Visit: 26 Feb 2015

Posts: 547
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

I just came across this great MIDITRIBE I/O video review from SonicState and thought I'd post it here.




In the video it is mentioned that you plan to make the MIDITRIBE I/O available through stores. Do you have any more info on that already?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

flx wrote:
I just came across this great MIDITRIBE I/O video review from SonicState and thought I'd post it here.




In the video it is mentioned that you plan to make the MIDITRIBE I/O available through stores. Do you have any more info on that already?


Hi Flx,

Yes, we are working on it, Rubadub is already our official dealer in the EU, they are selling the MIDITRIBE I/O on their physical store at Glasgow UK, also on eBay and through their website here:

http://www.rubadub.co.uk/

Thanks for posting the Sonic State review, we should have done that but, as you can figure, time has been very tight, the MIDITRIBE I/O is selling very well applause
We couldn't even update our eBay listing yet, can you imagine that?

Cheers,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gonzodrums
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 18 Mar 2012
Last Visit: 29 Dec 2012

Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 7:44 pm    Post subject: Two monotribes with midi keyboard Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Hello, guys!

This is my first post in this forum, so welcome everybody and warm greetings from from far and cold Poland Rockin' Banana!

Before I buy Miditribes I would like to get sure about few things:

1. If I connect midi out from my keyboard to midi in of monotribe 1 and then midi out from monotribe 1 to midi in of monotribe 2 - will it work? I mean - will I hear both of them? If yes - it opens up new possibilities of creating great layered sounds!

2. Have you got any experience in using korg electribe emx as a step sequencer for monotribe armed with the miditribe? I saw electribes controlling mopho or dark energy (not sure which one of them) so I assume it will work fine here as well.

3. If I order two pieces of miditribe, will I have to pay a double shipping fee?

Cheers, Artur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Two monotribes with midi keyboard Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

gonzodrums wrote:

Before I buy Miditribes I would like to get sure about few things:

1. If I connect midi out from my keyboard to midi in of monotribe 1 and then midi out from monotribe 1 to midi in of monotribe 2 - will it work? I mean - will I hear both of them? If yes - it opens up new possibilities of creating great layered sounds!

2. Have you got any experience in using korg electribe emx as a step sequencer for monotribe armed with the miditribe? I saw electribes controlling mopho or dark energy (not sure which one of them) so I assume it will work fine here as well.

3. If I order two pieces of miditribe, will I have to pay a double shipping fee?


Hi Artur,

Welcome to our forum :0)

Here are the answers to your questions:

1 - No, the MIDITRIBE I/O Output Port won't work as a MIDI Thru Port, however if you record the sequence to the Monotribe's Internal Sequencer you will be able to control a second Monotribe with the same sequence through the Output Port, keeping the ability to sync the entire system to MIDI Clock

2 - We don't have an Electribe, so we can't comment on that, but we believe it will do fine, no customer have ever reported any MIDITRIBE model to be incompatible with any MIDI capable gear, except for unbranded chinese MIDI to USB cables, which are proved to be incompatible with many other instruments, so this is not a fault with the MIDITRIBE

3 - You will have to pay only $24.00 for shipping, additional shipping charges does not apply

Thank you for your interest in our product,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gonzodrums
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 18 Mar 2012
Last Visit: 29 Dec 2012

Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Thx, Gabriel!

So if I just play a note on M1 nothing will be heard on M2. But if I keep my M1 in record mode all the time, the sequence will be recorded and then automaticly transmited to M2, right?

I assume that M2's sequence will start to play from the next 1st note of M1's recorded sequence Mr. Green

In this case I could play and rearrange on the fly 2 layered sequences, which would have the same pitch but different sounds ... Interesting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

gonzodrums wrote:
Thx, Gabriel!

So if I just play a note on M1 nothing will be heard on M2. But if I keep my M1 in record mode all the time, the sequence will be recorded and then automaticly transmited to M2, right?

I assume that M2's sequence will start to play from the next 1st note of M1's recorded sequence Mr. Green

In this case I could play and rearrange on the fly 2 layered sequences, which would have the same pitch but different sounds ... Interesting.


Yes, this is basically how it works but keep in mind that MIDI Out channel 1 on the Monotribe works like an arpeggiator so there's no way to mute steps, then M2 will still play each of the 16 steps even when you mute steps on M1, a workaround to this is press and hold Active Step then use the Ribbon to set each step volume, Monotribe OS 2.0 is required for this function to work. Also what you said is true, you will have to wait the sequencer get back to step 1 on M1 in order to M2 starts playing the same sequence.

Many Thanks,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gonzodrums
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 18 Mar 2012
Last Visit: 29 Dec 2012

Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Thx again.

So just two more questions, please :-)

1. What does it exactly mean that you recommend using a sequencer instead of a midi keyboard in the manual? Will I have any problems with the sound while playing a standard keyboard? Let's say I use one Monotribe, no internal sequencer, no drums, just play notes on a keyboard.

2. And now conception number 2: I would like to connect two Monotribes to that recommended midi interface: http://www.miditech.de/site.php4?site_id=144 . And then control both of them from Ableton live's sequencer using Akai APC40. Will it work all together or will there be any midi conflict between them? It would be the best to have two midi interfaces and four monotribes all together, two for bass sounds and two for leads. Just dreaming ... hihi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

gonzodrums wrote:
Thx again.

So just two more questions, please :-)

1. What does it exactly mean that you recommend using a sequencer instead of a midi keyboard in the manual? Will I have any problems with the sound while playing a standard keyboard? Let's say I use one Monotribe, no internal sequencer, no drums, just play notes on a keyboard.

2. And now conception number 2: I would like to connect two Monotribes to that recommended midi interface: http://www.miditech.de/site.php4?site_id=144 . And then control both of them from Ableton live's sequencer using Akai APC40. Will it work all together or will there be any midi conflict between them? It would be the best to have two midi interfaces and four monotribes all together, two for bass sounds and two for leads. Just dreaming ... hihi


Hi Artur,

Here are the anwers to your questions:

1 - It basically means what is stated in the manual, you can use a keyboard if you want, I can tell you that alot of people do, but the Monotribe wasn't designed for that so you better use a sequencer for optimal results

2 - Yes it will work perfectly, you just need to connect 1 Miditribe per port on your usb interface, using the same port and connecting one Miditribe to the other won't give you full control over the second Miditribe in the chain, still it can be done if you want

We are looking forward to hearing from you,
Many Thanks,
Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keiowas
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Last Visit: 29 Jul 2012

Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:16 pm    Post subject: Miditribe Sold out? Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

When is it coming new miditribes?
I tried to order one today but it just says sold out.
Best regards
Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amazing Machines
Common Wiggler


Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Last Visit: 05 Feb 2015

Posts: 63
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Miditribe Sold out? Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Keiowas wrote:
When is it coming new miditribes?
I tried to order one today but it just says sold out.
Best regards
Christian


Hi Christian,

The MIDITRIBE I/O Kits are expected to be back in stock by May 15.
Thank you for your interest in our products :0)

Gabriel Rodrigues,
Amazing Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keiowas
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Last Visit: 29 Jul 2012

Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

And thank you for a very fast reply!
Nice to know.
I need one for my monotribe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keiowas
Learning to Wiggle


Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Last Visit: 29 Jul 2012

Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

So.. It has been may 15.
Still the same thing in the store.
???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Amazing Machines
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next [all]
Page 2 of 4
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group