Analogue Systems modules with new style Doepfer rails

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
MrTea
Reptilian Brain
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:40 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Analogue Systems modules with new style Doepfer rails

Post by MrTea » Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:25 pm

Does anybody know if the new style doepfer rails with the sliding nuts eliminate the spacing problem with Analogue Systems modules?

i'd been holding off on AS modules but this just occured to me.... :hmm:

User avatar
theabsent
?
Posts: 1468
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:15 am
Location: Finland

Post by theabsent » Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:22 pm

They have new rails?

Haven't seen those but sounds like it would eliminate that problem.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:09 pm

I think the DIY kits are sliding rails, but the ready-made things, like the low cost case still have the threaded strips in them.

Of course it would be rather easy to take apart a low cost case and take out the strips, then reassemble with sliding nuts instead.

User avatar
haven
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1050
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:31 pm
Location: Canada

Post by haven » Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:06 pm

sliding nut rails let you move modules anywhere horizontally so yes, Asys and everyone else in Euro land can fit together without gaps. That reminds me I need to convert my Elby racks to sliding nuts too.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:10 pm

The elby racks, are they using 3mm or 2.5mm screws?

User avatar
DGTom
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2615
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:42 am
Location: Pt.Adelaide, Sth.Aust.

Post by DGTom » Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:47 pm

2.5mm :waah:

you know... I never thought to try & jam some M3 nuts in there... or maybe I did & forgot... whenever my synths are apart its always a hurried blur to re-assemble & :goo:

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:49 pm

oh, don't worry too much about that - 3mm ones definitely WONT fit.

User avatar
MrTea
Reptilian Brain
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:40 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Post by MrTea » Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:44 am

haven wrote:sliding nut rails let you move modules anywhere horizontally so yes, Asys and everyone else in Euro land can fit together without gaps. That reminds me I need to convert my Elby racks to sliding nuts too.
Thats great. AS have some really useful modules. I just wanted to be sure that there was no other sizing issue.

I'd kinda been put off AS as I didn't really want to be left with unused space but it seems now i've no need to worry :banana:

User avatar
suthnear
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:03 pm
Location: located

Post by suthnear » Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:03 am

wetterberg wrote:Of course it would be rather easy to take apart a low cost case and take out the strips, then reassemble with sliding nuts instead.
Or if you only have a few ASys modules, take a hacksaw and cut a few pieces out of the strips and then reinsert: you can then cluster the ASys modules on parts of the strip and doepfer-compatibles on the rest. Like using the threaded inserts but with much coarser granularity.

User avatar
Steevio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:31 am
Location: Wales, UK

Post by Steevio » Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:54 am

i'll be able to tell you for sure next week as i have a doepfer DIY kit 1 and some AS modules being delivered, but i was counting on it.

a related question; how standardised are the heights of euro modules ?

at the moment the only module i have is a Metasonix R51, and it measures 12.9 cm high, i am making a patchbay and i made the faceplate a standard 3U which is 13.3cm ( or so i thought ).
i'm wondering if i've made it too big to fit in a 3 U case.
i know theres not much in it but i'd hate to have to try to trim 5mm off a piece of stainless steel if it wont fit.

User avatar
the bad producer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2528
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Clapton Pond

Post by the bad producer » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:22 am

Hi Steevio,

Nominally 3U is 133.4mm, but Eurorack (Doepfer, AS, et al) modules are actually 128.5mm to allow for the flange on the rack strip:
Module front panels are all 3U high (1U = 1.75 inch = 1.75" = 44.45mm, 3U = 133.4 mm). The final height of the front panels is a bit less than 133.4 mm as the rim of the mounting rails has to taken into consideration. Consequently the final height is 128.5 mm for all A-100 front panels.
from:

http://www.doepfer.de/a100_man/a100m_e.htm

sorry about that... Frac modules are 3U exactly (5.25") maybe you could start a Frac rack too?

Charlie

User avatar
Steevio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:31 am
Location: Wales, UK

Post by Steevio » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:38 am

^^^

thanks mate.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”