Dotcom Q172 Quantizer Aid

Moog, Synthesizers.com, MOTM, Modcan, Moon and others..... Go big!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Dotcom Q172 Quantizer Aid

Post by bwhittington » Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:32 pm

The Dotcom quantizer just got more interesting! I guess I'm going to wait and see what Moon comes up with--or maybe not!--but we are going to be flush with nice quantizer options soon!

http://www.synthesizers.com/q172.html

Image

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3377
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:21 pm

ok that's hot.
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

User avatar
parasitk
Learn to swim
Posts: 4939
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:47 am
Location: Lost Angeles
Contact:

Post by parasitk » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:27 pm

I dig that it spits out "quantized" MIDI. Clever.

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:59 pm

suitandtieguy wrote:ok that's hot.
Yeah, I was sitting on my hands when the Q171 was announced, but I just sold my 55b within hours of this being announced! The user-programmable scales via MIDI carries some pretty interesting possibilities. All in all, I think this one looks like a heck of a lot of fun.
:nana: :nana: :nana:

Does anyone know how easy adding a MIDI thru to a Q104 would be? Is it just a matter of wiring a "multiple" jack, or is there processing involved in that to complicate it? Running tons of MIDI cords across the front of my synth is the one thing that isn't really doing it for me. Maybe I could just wire some rear panel jacks for the Q172 and not use the ones on the panel?

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
dude
fuck yeah!
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: northeastohio

Post by dude » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:36 pm

nudge thanks nudge.

:party:

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:51 pm

I think this looks really great! :party: Like others, the Q171 didn't really interest me much, but this changes things.

I would caution everyone to not jump on this too soon since Moon Modular has a similar but different module coming called the M565e, I think, that works with their M565 quantizer. It would be wise to wait until features and prices are posted so you can make the desision that best suits your needs. (taking a multiple loss on selling something you have to buy something new and then selling it to buy something newer or to buy the original item back sucks! :doh: )

It's a good time to be in the quantizer market though! :yay:

User avatar
dude
fuck yeah!
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: northeastohio

Post by dude » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:09 am

i think everybodies dreams are coming true.

:hihi:

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:18 am

JohnLRice wrote: I would caution everyone to not jump on this too soon since Moon Modular has a similar but different module coming called the M565e, I think, that works with their M565 quantizer.
Yes, I'll probably hold off on ordering until the Q172 is actually released for this reason, but the main focus of the M565e seemed to be a switch-interface for programming scales, and in my view the Dotcom MIDI input for the same purpose, with three user-programmable scales, seems to blow that out of water, assuming you can input the notes on the fly.

Definitely a fun time to be quantizer shopping.

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:21 am

dude wrote:i think everybodies dreams are coming true.

:hihi:
Oh, and dude is referring to the fact that he's ended up with my Modcan 55b. Win-win!

:party: :party:

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3099
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:49 am

I hope Moon comes through. I still want 12 switches. The 171/172 was slightly enticing until I realized for 2 panel spaces you really can only get 1 channel of quantization (Channel 4 on the expander) if you want to use custom scales, unless I am misunderstanding something. Since he's labeling the 172 as Channel 4, I'm assuming from that the 172 controls do not affect the 171 quantization. If this combo would provide 4 channels of a custom scale I would go for it. I'm sure a lot of people will be using the MIDI out - that's a really good idea. The MIDI in idea was clever too as a panel-space saver to enter scales.

These will be great for most folks and hats off to Roger for putting out some new modules and new ideas as well! :tu:

I hope the Moon quantizer aid switch setting will control all 4 channels and not just one... hadn't thought of that until just now.

User avatar
kindredlost
5U skiff friendly
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Texoma

Post by kindredlost » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:00 am

bwhittington wrote:
suitandtieguy wrote:ok that's hot.
Yeah, I was sitting on my hands when the Q171 was announced, but I just sold my 55b within hours of this being announced! The user-programmable scales via MIDI carries some pretty interesting possibilities. All in all, I think this one looks like a heck of a lot of fun.
:nana: :nana: :nana:

Does anyone know how easy adding a MIDI thru to a Q104 would be? Is it just a matter of wiring a "multiple" jack, or is there processing involved in that to complicate it? Running tons of MIDI cords across the front of my synth is the one thing that isn't really doing it for me. Maybe I could just wire some rear panel jacks for the Q172 and not use the ones on the panel?

Cheers,
Brian
Make this suggestion to Roger. It is a good one Brian

-David

User avatar
kindredlost
5U skiff friendly
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Texoma

Post by kindredlost » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:07 am

doctorvague wrote:I hope Moon comes through. I still want 12 switches. The 171/172 was slightly enticing until I realized for 2 panel spaces you really can only get 1 channel of quantization (Channel 4 on the expander) if you want to use custom scales, unless I am misunderstanding something. Since he's labeling the 172 as Channel 4, I'm assuming from that the 172 controls do not affect the 171 quantization. If this combo would provide 4 channels of a custom scale I would go for it. I'm sure a lot of people will be using the MIDI out - that's a really good idea. The MIDI in idea was clever too as a panel-space saver to enter scales.

These will be great for most folks and hats off to Roger for putting out some new modules and new ideas as well! :tu:

I hope the Moon quantizer aid switch setting will control all 4 channels and not just one... hadn't thought of that until just now.
The custom scales are probably available at all four outputs but that is specualtion. This question was asked last night by Suit&TieGuy. Roger mentioned the fact that the two modules will have to be side-by-side because of some 20 or so cables between them. The processor is on the Q171 and the aid module Q172 taps into that module. Of course I am only assuming this would be the function.

-David

User avatar
kindredlost
5U skiff friendly
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Texoma

Re: Dotcom Q172 Quantizer Aid

Post by kindredlost » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:10 am

bwhittington wrote:The Dotcom quantizer just got more interesting! I guess I'm going to wait and see what Moon comes up with--or maybe not!--but we are going to be flush with nice quantizer options soon!

http://www.synthesizers.com/q172.html

Cheers,
Brian
I see the potential of this module to allow for Just Intonation and other exotic scales. This was something I requested from Roger in the early days but never fully expected it. I have to admit I am seriously delighted at this prospect. No other quantitizer will come close that I know of. The addition of MIDI out is also very unique. This will enable the Q960 and Q119 (or any other sequencer) to act as a midi source for other gear. :banana:

-David

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:10 am

kindredlost wrote: The custom scales are probably available at all four outputs but that is specualtion. This question was asked last night by Suit&TieGuy. Roger mentioned the fact that the two modules will have to be side-by-side because of some 20 or so cables between them. The processor is on the Q171 and the aid module Q172 taps into that module. Of course I am only assuming this would be the function.

-David
Oh, well that would be a big question. It certainly would be more useful to me to have the scale change globally, instead of one channel. This quote suggests that may not be the case, though:
Roger Arrick wrote:Let me make this part clear first - each of the 4 channels does not offer the same features, nor can it. The microprocessor is maxed and I'm playing several tricks to get it to do this much already. So, there's no way to have transpose on each channel just by adding more Q172's, etc.
:despair:

Maybe I should have waited until I understood the feature set before selling my quantizer? :hihi: But the modules are interesting enough for me to want them either way.

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3099
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:14 pm

bwhittington wrote:
Roger Arrick wrote:Let me make this part clear first - each of the 4 channels does not offer the same features, nor can it. The microprocessor is maxed and I'm playing several tricks to get it to do this much already. So, there's no way to have transpose on each channel just by adding more Q172's, etc.
:despair:
That pretty well answers it, coupled with the fact the 172 is clearly labeled Ch 4, a separate channel. There's no evidence to the contrary I can see (that Ch4 will control 1-3).

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:25 pm

doctorvague wrote:
bwhittington wrote:
Roger Arrick wrote:Let me make this part clear first - each of the 4 channels does not offer the same features, nor can it. The microprocessor is maxed and I'm playing several tricks to get it to do this much already. So, there's no way to have transpose on each channel just by adding more Q172's, etc.
:despair:
That pretty well answers it, coupled with the fact the 172 is clearly labeled Ch 4, a separate channel. There's no evidence to the contrary I can see (that Ch4 will control 1-3).

Awww! That's too bad . . . :waah:

Hopefully the Moon M565 + M565e wont be the same deal . . . . :hmm:

User avatar
emdot_ambient
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3368
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:40 am
Location: Frederick, Maryland USA

Post by emdot_ambient » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:37 pm

dot com's web site wrote:The MIDI input jack provides a simple method of programming the 3 user-programmable note groups. Simply plug in a keyboard controller and press the keys you'd like in your custom group.
That sounds pretty awsome.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:00 pm

bwhittington wrote:Does anyone know how easy adding a MIDI thru to a Q104 would be? Is it just a matter of wiring a "multiple" jack, or is there processing involved in that to complicate it? Running tons of MIDI cords across the front of my synth is the one thing that isn't really doing it for me.
MIDI connections are opto isolated. I'm not sure what happens if you try to make a MIDI "mult" panel just wire it up with copper, but I'm pretty sure that's a no-no.

Here's a nice little circuit I found that looks like it would do the trick for you. Shows how it's not an expensive circuit, it's just jacks and the mounting box or panel that bring up the cost:
http://m.bareille.free.fr/midithrubox/midithrubox.htm

Image



There is also a ZIP file you can download on Larry's site (RIP) that has an article on building a thru box:
http://www.wiseguysynth.com/larry/schematics/thru.htm


Lot's more out on the NET too. Google "midi thru DIY" :tu:


bwhittington wrote: Maybe I could just wire some rear panel jacks for the Q172 and not use the ones on the panel?
I would think that should work fine if you don't try to double up on them, just a single in + out on the back and you only use just the front or just the back jacks at any one time.



Maybe just save some time and buy a MIDI Solutions quadra thru box? :yay:

http://www.midisolutions.com/prodqth.htm

Under $40 here:
http://www.fullcompass.com/product/351129.html

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:59 pm

Thanks, John. Roger suggested wiring two sets of jacks in parallel, one on the back panel and the ones connected to the Q172, so that you could have easy access to the front ones if needed but keep the cable clutter out of the way. Would basically be a y-connection going into the pcb header would work, so long as only one in or out was being used at a time? Sounds like a simpler solution.

Right about the time I was thinking I might never need the 8 in/outs on my MIDI patch bay, my modular starts going MIDI on me. :hmm:

Cheers,
Brian
JohnLRice wrote:
bwhittington wrote:Does anyone know how easy adding a MIDI thru to a Q104 would be? Is it just a matter of wiring a "multiple" jack, or is there processing involved in that to complicate it? Running tons of MIDI cords across the front of my synth is the one thing that isn't really doing it for me.
MIDI connections are opto isolated. I'm not sure what happens if you try to make a MIDI "mult" panel just wire it up with copper, but I'm pretty sure that's a no-no.

Here's a nice little circuit I found that looks like it would do the trick for you. Shows how it's not an expensive circuit, it's just jacks and the mounting box or panel that bring up the cost:
http://m.bareille.free.fr/midithrubox/midithrubox.htm

Image



There is also a ZIP file you can download on Larry's site (RIP) that has an article on building a thru box:
http://www.wiseguysynth.com/larry/schematics/thru.htm


Lot's more out on the NET too. Google "midi thru DIY" :tu:


bwhittington wrote: Maybe I could just wire some rear panel jacks for the Q172 and not use the ones on the panel?
I would think that should work fine if you don't try to double up on them, just a single in + out on the back and you only use just the front or just the back jacks at any one time.



Maybe just save some time and buy a MIDI Solutions quadra thru box? :yay:

http://www.midisolutions.com/prodqth.htm

Under $40 here:
http://www.fullcompass.com/product/351129.html

User avatar
kindredlost
5U skiff friendly
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Texoma

Post by kindredlost » Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:48 pm

Roger Arrick wrote:Let me make this part clear first - each of the 4 channels does not offer the same features, nor can it. The microprocessor is maxed and I'm playing several tricks to get it to do this much already. So, there's no way to have transpose on each channel just by adding more Q172's, etc.
Yes that is a bit clearer. Thanks for the update Brian.

I'm still pretty happy with the overall design. If I understand it (at this preliminary stage), the Q171 will do the things available on its front panel and the Q172 (channel 4) will do it's panel functions.

That means you could have 2 channels chromatic semitone, some other basic quantitizing and the fourth channel for more exotic tunings. That is pretty cool for a 2U module less than $400.

Now, I'm not so sure I understand yet how that would be as useful except for perhaps setting up some various scales in conjuction with a distributor and standards modules for rapid changes. That could be fun.

-David

User avatar
sunsinger
Watcher of the Skies
Posts: 1122
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:58 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM

Post by sunsinger » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:28 pm

Looks like just the thing for my STG stuff. Both modules look cool, but I still need two Oscillators first. Time to plan my next Bank Job!
:omg:

User avatar
SynthBaron
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3427
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:43 am

Post by SynthBaron » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:50 pm

I want switches.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 6024
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:51 pm

doctorvague wrote: I still want 12 switches. .
+1000

User avatar
kindredlost
5U skiff friendly
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Texoma

Post by kindredlost » Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:13 pm

Funky40 wrote:
doctorvague wrote: I still want 12 switches. .
+1000
Looks like the Moon Modular module coming out will be the way to go for that.

-David

User avatar
essex sound lab
wiggler of the spheres
Posts: 2431
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:07 pm
Location: Boston, Mass

Post by essex sound lab » Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:06 am

Looks like it just became THAT much harder to sell my COTK Dual Quantizer!

But will wait to hear more about the Moon unit before I make any changes.

Post Reply

Return to “5U Format Modules”