Moon M565 + M565E available!

Moog, Synthesizers.com, MOTM, Modcan, Moon and others..... Go big!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Moon M565 + M565E available!

Post by bwhittington » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:48 am

The M565E Quantizer Controller is now available for purchase, though I don't see any product info on the site just yet. The quantizer is listed in configurations with one or two of the controllers . . . :hyper:

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3368
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Wed Dec 09, 2009 8:02 am

why would you need two? shouldn't ALL of the channels have the same response?
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Wed Dec 09, 2009 8:58 am

suitandtieguy wrote:why would you need two? shouldn't ALL of the channels have the same response?
Don't quote me but I "believe" that using one controller will affect all channels and using two controllers . . . channels 1 and 2 are affected by the first controller and channels 3 and 4 are affected by the second! :hyper: :tu: :hyper:

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:28 am

In today's USD the Quantizer V2 + 1 expander = $444
with 2 expanders $616.

John if it works as you say, very cool. If each one of the expanders only controls one channel, then not so cool. I don't see anything definitive about this issue - have you talked to someone to get this info? That's a make-or-break issue for me.

So glad we have a Moon US distributor now!!!!

It does look like you guys that already have the 565 will have to have it upgraded. Hopefully Noisebug can handle that for US customers?

Of course all this happens when I'm fresh out of money and my MS-20 didn't sell. That's OK, 'something to want'. :woah:

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:30 am

suitandtieguy wrote:why would you need two? shouldn't ALL of the channels have the same response?
That's my question mark about the Dotcom version. I could see selecting different notes in the same key, though I probably would go for one controller. I might actually like it if one 565e could control two 565's. Depending on how it's connected, I wonder if you could create a bus module to assign two-channel groups to the controller of your choice. Not that I really need that . . .

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
moonmodular
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Berlin · Germany

Post by moonmodular » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:35 am

JohnLRice wrote:
suitandtieguy wrote:why would you need two? shouldn't ALL of the channels have the same response?
Don't quote me but I "believe" that using one controller will affect all channels and using two controllers . . . channels 1 and 2 are affected by the first controller and channels 3 and 4 are affected by the second! :hyper: :tu: :hyper:
Yes JLR, you are right!
:spin:

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:48 am

:sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb: :sb:

I'm pretty happy about that

User avatar
SynthBaron
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:43 am

Post by SynthBaron » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:53 am

doctorvague wrote:So glad we have a Moon US distributor now!!!!
Hopefully they will have both in stock soon...

User avatar
ach_gott
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by ach_gott » Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:26 pm

This is very cool indeed. 8_)

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3368
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:56 pm

ok so since I'm going to have to buy a new board for my quantiser apparently, can you change the behaviour of the gate input so it acts like a proper sample hold instead of a track and hold?
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

User avatar
SynthBaron
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:43 am

Post by SynthBaron » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:21 pm

I have a neat idea for these switches that involves programming "harmonic" CV sweeps on a 2nd oscillator using a mixed keyboard/sequencer CV and an envelope output. So the 1st oscillator remains at the fundamental frequency, and the 2nd oscillator could be modulated at say the 3rd and the 7th only continuing up a few octaves.

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:27 pm

SynthBaron wrote:I have a neat idea for these switches that involves programming "harmonic" CV sweeps on a 2nd oscillator using a mixed keyboard/sequencer CV and an envelope output. So the 1st oscillator remains at the fundamental frequency, and the 2nd oscillator could be modulated at say the 3rd and the 7th only continuing up a few octaves.
Ooh yeah, baby. I'd have to sprinkle some soft sync on that. Yumm.

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Looks like the product info was updated today, along with the sequencer expander modules and a multiples module.

Cheers,
Brian

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:38 pm

Thanks Brian!

Image

User avatar
SynthBaron
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:43 am

Post by SynthBaron » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:48 pm

NOISEBUG GET THIS IN STOCK QUICK I WANT TO SEND YOU MONEY THANKS

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3368
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:18 am

so is the "transpose" control a voltage adder or a behaviour modifier?
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

User avatar
moonmodular
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Berlin · Germany

Post by moonmodular » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:21 am

suitandtieguy wrote:so is the "transpose" control a voltage adder or a behaviour modifier?
It´s a voltage adder.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5898
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:54 am

JohnLRice wrote:Thanks Brian!

Image
and i have no Money, shit.


is there somebody in the DIY world who likes to make something similar ?

i like to build one in Euroformat with the switches horizontal.
4 Rows of switches with 4 Quantisers in one module .
Mat ?

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:01 am

The only thing that would have rocked my world a bit more would have been if that was a vc transpose.

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
SynthBaron
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:43 am

Post by SynthBaron » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:07 am

bwhittington wrote:The only thing that would have rocked my world a bit more would have been if that was a vc transpose.
Eh, if you need it just use a DC coupled mixer to mix in the CV you would have used to VC the transpose input with the CV that's being quantized.
Last edited by SynthBaron on Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
moonmodular
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Berlin · Germany

Post by moonmodular » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:29 am

SynthBaron wrote:
bwhittington wrote:The only thing that would have rocked my world a bit more would have been if that was a vc transpose.
Eh, if you need it just use a DC coupled mixer to mix in the CB you would have used to VC the transpose input with the CV that's being quantized.
Like that? http://www.lunar-experience.com/526.html

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5842
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:12 pm

SynthBaron wrote:
bwhittington wrote:The only thing that would have rocked my world a bit more would have been if that was a vc transpose.
Eh, if you need it just use a DC coupled mixer to mix in the CV you would have used to VC the transpose input with the CV that's being quantized.
:doh: Oh yeah . . . thanks for that. :hide:

Cheers,
Brian

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:21 pm

:domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance: DE-MO VIDEO! :domodance:

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:33 pm

I sure wish the M565e worked with the quantizer in the M569 sequencer! :waah: :cry:

User avatar
Scaff
Elbe Kontrollspannungsverein
Posts: 1443
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:47 am
Location: Hamburg

Post by Scaff » Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:42 pm

JohnLRice wrote:I sure wish the M565e worked with the quantizer in the M569 sequencer! :waah: :cry:
+1 Maybe there will be a V2 version after some time you have to upgrade to :doh:
If your system doesn't sound good enough, you haven't spent enough

Post Reply

Return to “5U Format Modules”