Blacet Hex Zone LCD failure?

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
idiotunderground
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:13 pm

Blacet Hex Zone LCD failure?

Post by idiotunderground » Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:39 pm

just turned on my system, after a minute reached over to the Hex Zone and realized the LCD was blank :goo:
powered off/on and the "welcome to the zone" intro will flash but then i get a green display with no text :goo: :goo:
took it out of the rack and don't see anything obvious but there is a faint smell :goo: :goo: :goo:

i built this module a couple of years ago and have never had any problems, and for months it has been in a studio rack unmoved. any idea what could be the issue/where to start looking? i don't really have any experience with LCDs, could it need to be replaced?

User avatar
monstrinho
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1479
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:08 pm
Location: mundo afora

Post by monstrinho » Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:43 am

I'd contact Blacet directly about it. He's always been very helpful with any questions I've ever had. I'm sure he can point you in the right direction as far as trouble shooting it goes.

User avatar
Tubeampguy
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 10:14 am
Location: Long Beach, Ca USA

Post by Tubeampguy » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:34 am

This is from http://www.blacet.com/tech.html
Hex Zone Reliability Alert
A few customers have experienced failure of op amp U3 and a blank display screen. Replacing the op amp returns operation to normal.
While we do not have a definite failure mechanism at this time, a likely culprit is the high differential between +15 and -15 current draw (150:1). Upon power down, due to the power supply filter caps, this can cause the +15 to draw down much quicker than the -15. The op amp may be sensitive to having one supply turn off a long time before the other.

As a precaution, we are advising changing "CD" from 100uF to 1uF. "CD" is on the lower side of the power connector.

John's email: blacet@blacet.com
:tu::blacet: :tu:

idiotunderground
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:13 pm

Post by idiotunderground » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:51 pm

thanks friends! :party:

i'll try making those changes & contact blacet directly if problems persist

User avatar
alesauskas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Seattle

Post by alesauskas » Sat May 24, 2014 12:58 pm

If you end up figuring out the solution to this, I would certainly like to know. I have been having the same problem, unfortunately it has never worked properly since buying it used from the forum. I've made the modifications as described in the reliability alert to no avail, looks like I will eventually have to send it to Blacet.

User avatar
fracmonkey
JB or not JB, that is the question.
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:16 pm

Post by fracmonkey » Tue May 27, 2014 10:10 am

Another thing that causes this problem is kit builders failing to closely trim the switch leads on the push button board. These can short against the LCD board when pressed. This is mentioned in the manual.

Fixing this is pretty easy but first take a good look with a bright light. If suspect, then snip the five jumper wires and pop out the switch board. You will have to clean out the jumper holes and replace the wires on reassembly.

I also might want to try a different op amp, say a TL052 or another very low offset dual.

That said, mine gets turned on every day and never a problem. It's been running for years. It has had the capacitor change.

idiotunderground
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 1:13 pm

Post by idiotunderground » Wed May 28, 2014 9:46 am

alesauskas wrote:If you end up figuring out the solution to this, I would certainly like to know.
been so busy i never got around to even trying to fix this module! i will try to get on it soon and report back
fracmonkey wrote:Another thing that causes this problem is kit builders failing to closely trim the switch leads on the push button board. These can short against the LCD board when pressed. This is mentioned in the manual.

Fixing this is pretty easy but first take a good look with a bright light. If suspect, then snip the five jumper wires and pop out the switch board. You will have to clean out the jumper holes and replace the wires on reassembly.

I also might want to try a different op amp, say a TL052 or another very low offset dual.

That said, mine gets turned on every day and never a problem. It's been running for years. It has had the capacitor change.
thanks for the heads up i will take a look at this as well

User avatar
solitaryzen
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by solitaryzen » Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 pm

Had exactly this problem a couple of years ago, replacing the op amp fixed it. BTW, have had problems with that same op amp in a couple of other Blacet modules (currently the buffer/mix/split module for the 2nd time).

User avatar
e-grad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3303
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:55 am
Location: Berlin

Post by e-grad » Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:14 am

solitaryzen wrote:Had exactly this problem a couple of years ago, replacing the op amp fixed it.
Blacet suggest to change one capacitor on the power rails:
As a precaution, we are advising changing "CD" from 100uF to 1uF. "CD" is on the lower side of the power connector.
http://blacet.com/tech.html
solitaryzen wrote: BTW, have had problems with that same op amp in a couple of other Blacet modules (currently the buffer/mix/split module for the 2nd time).
One of my two Hex Zone had a blown op amp other than that none of my my 30 Blacet modules had a similar issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”