Pigtronix infinity looper?

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: luketeaford, lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Pigtronix infinity looper?

Post by dkcg » Fri May 09, 2014 3:56 pm

Just got mine in the mail, 6 more hours til I get to play with it. I already have an echoplex digital pro, which I love, but it being racked makes playing with it a hassle when I'm just tinkering on the guitar. Anyone else have one? Love it? Got here a day early, just in time for the weekend.

User avatar
dadek
hrrmmm...
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:25 am
Location: SoCal

Post by dadek » Fri May 09, 2014 5:10 pm

i've been really considering it. i use an echoplex pro as well, though last several years have been using a looperlative lp1.
i recently rehooked my eh16 for more tabletop, move around the studio use, but it has such a 'sound' i'm considering moving to the infinity as an alternative, not in the patchbay, improvising looper.
i'd be interested in how easily it is to get at all it's functions. the dedidcated footpedal for the echoplex made it so easily interactive. no mapping controllers or creating use scenarios before even getting to the looping...
look forward to hearing the music you make dk.

User avatar
EMwhite
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:48 am
Location: NY Metro area

Post by EMwhite » Fri May 09, 2014 7:01 pm

There's a thread or two around here somewhere in which I shout out about the Infinity so I won't repeat myself except to say that I've had it for a few months and love it.

Tinkering is what I do, I don't use it playing out but the fact that I can just press play on my TR-8 and have the Infinity track perfectly is of great use.

The multiple features is very good, and the serial and parallel modes very good.

It's no nonsense so the mix controls for each loop are handy and I also use it to bi-amp from a mono source (one has a delay on the outbound side).

I won't have any use for pulling tracks down via USB, I have the external pedal but any stereo jack momentary will do. I don't have any use for the reverse gimmickry;

There is one bug in the version of code I have where if you try and change a few of the settings while playing it freaks out and resets; but I know to just stop the loop and then switch settings. It's likely fixed in whatever the latest release is.

I have the Envelope Phaser also, I'm a big fan of their stuff; not the cheapest gear but in my opinion... worth it. Your mileage may vary.
Beware of programmers with screwdrivers...

User avatar
rjungemann
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

Post by rjungemann » Fri May 09, 2014 7:13 pm

First, I recommend reading both the manual and the addendum. http://www.pigtronix.com/products/infin ... oduct_info

They're continually updating the firmware which is nice. They finally added loop decay which I appreciate. But they have a new experimental firmware that adds some sweet new features.

The serial mode is awesome for verse-chorus structures.

I'm mostly using mine for drum loops at the moment which means I'm seriously under-utilizing it.

The nice thing is that the extra features don't get in the way, you can use it very simply if you like, but there are some added features that are easily accessible if you want. You can also add an expression pedal or a dual-footswitch for easier access to undo, reverse, etc.

It's very high-resolution (48kHz, 24-bit) which is also appreciated. It takes MicroSD cards, for hours of loop time, and loops and firmware can be changed over USB. Current firmware is limited to 9 presets (18 loops) but the experimental firmware bumps it to 50 (100 loops).

Overall, I would take it over any of the Boss loopers any day. I can't comment about the Boomerang, although I had considered a Boomerang at some point.

In my opinion, there's very little to complain about
My modular (ModularGrid). Check out my new synth-pop album, Umbram.

User avatar
attacksustain
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:40 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Post by attacksustain » Fri May 09, 2014 9:17 pm

Does the infinity have any way to adjust the speed it plays back a loop ?
I'd love to record some layers slow them down, and then do overdubs on them. I've read the boomerang can do this, but haven't used one.

User avatar
Matos
Modular masturbator
Posts: 3779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:03 am

Post by Matos » Fri May 09, 2014 10:01 pm

The experimental software has some interesting features, but it didn't work very well for me. Overdubbing with midiclock was causing weird slowdown speed up artifacts, which was kind of cool, but not controllable.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Fri May 09, 2014 10:29 pm

attacksustain wrote:Does the infinity have any way to adjust the speed it plays back a loop ?
I'd love to record some layers slow them down, and then do overdubs on them. I've read the boomerang can do this, but haven't used one.
I think the beta firmware implements this, but I'll stick with the latest released firmware for a little bit.


I had a play with it, it's really quite intuitive, much more so than the EDP. And you can play 2 loops at once, which the EDP can't. The undo seems to work well, but doesn't seem to undo the initial recording on the 2nd loop, not a big deal. I think I prefer the footswitch on the EDP, but that thing in itself is even bigger than the Infinity. For portability and size, the Inifinity kills the EDP. However, the EDP still does some things that I don't think the Inifinity can do, like having as many loops as your memory ca hold. I like using 3 or 4 short loops, all copies of one measure, multiplied and added on top of and switching between them with the "next loop" footswitch for a few different parts, and there's a weird bug/feature when you start undoing and messing with multiple lengths in the EDP that's somewhat glitchy, but in a cool way. Also having the loop feedback as a knob makes "fades" really easy w/o needing additional expression pedals or options. So the EDP will survive another looper added to the collection (Octratrack, Ableton and now the Infinity), even though it's sound quality is near the bottom. Actually, it might be the worse sound quality of them all and the only mono looper I own.

I thought about the Boomerang, but the size of the Inifinity was a big deciding factor. The Boomerang is smaller than I imagined, but the Infinity is the same size as their normal big pedals which is too big for some effects, but nice n compact for a looper.

I'll give it a try with the Buchla this weekend, but so far with guitar, it's fun as heck and more immediate than the EDP in my setup.

Time to rekajigger my pedalboard and read some manuals... :party:

User avatar
Just me
Has enough VCA's
Posts: 4518
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:45 am
Location: Downtown

Post by Just me » Fri May 09, 2014 11:01 pm

My Boomerang III is slightly larger than my Echolution for sizing.
If I have water in my ear, is it safe for me to listen to electronic music?

User avatar
rjungemann
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

Post by rjungemann » Sat May 10, 2014 12:53 pm

attacksustain wrote:Does the infinity have any way to adjust the speed it plays back a loop ?
I'd love to record some layers slow them down, and then do overdubs on them. I've read the boomerang can do this, but haven't used one.
New experimental firmware has vari-speed as well as half-speed and double-speed but I haven't tried those features yet.
My modular (ModularGrid). Check out my new synth-pop album, Umbram.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Tue May 13, 2014 1:00 am

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/149277929" params="color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_artwork=true" width="100%" height="166" iframe="true" /]

One thing I really like a lot about the Infinity, saves your loops as wav files. :bananaguitar:

I think the soundcloud embed is broken, here's the url:
https://soundcloud.com/ibdk/infinity1

User avatar
EMwhite
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:48 am
Location: NY Metro area

Post by EMwhite » Tue May 13, 2014 8:58 am

Hard to tell where you did overdub or used the fade out functions of the Infinity but damn son, that House of Buchla track is amazing. Is that done on a bunch of Buchla or an old Easel or something else? Great rhythm on the other track also. Post more...
Beware of programmers with screwdrivers...

User avatar
Jason Brock
just visiting
Posts: 4259
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:32 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by Jason Brock » Tue May 13, 2014 10:03 am

rjungemann wrote:New experimental firmware has vari-speed as well as half-speed and double-speed but I haven't tried those features yet.
I mentally wrote this box off just by looking at it and not seeing a "speed" knob to slow down loops. But if it has this feature now I'll have to give it a second glance.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Tue May 13, 2014 8:36 pm

EMwhite wrote:Hard to tell where you did overdub or used the fade out functions of the Infinity but damn son, that House of Buchla track is amazing. Is that done on a bunch of Buchla or an old Easel or something else? Great rhythm on the other track also. Post more...
I had a better track, but forgot to save it when I powered off, I put a lot of reverb in Live too, I forgot that my delay was after the looper, so the good stuff was lost. Not the best example of looping, but I was getting bored and started to try to be more abstract.

house of Buchla was on my 200e system with 2 ZOe's in there. Probably some reverb in sw and/or eclipse, but I think I didn't use midi for it. Lots of envelopes driving modulations making those sliding sounds. One of my favorites that I've recorded. Thanks for liking it.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed May 14, 2014 2:49 am

https://soundcloud.com/ibdk/infinity2

One more, the Infinity is great for working with Ableton once you save some loops. This is with the BassVI, which is great for this sorta stuff with it's wide range.

User avatar
EMwhite
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:48 am
Location: NY Metro area

Post by EMwhite » Wed May 14, 2014 10:53 am

Did you tweak your BPM in Ableton to match your loop or just set the starting point of the loop on the measure boundary?

The timing and way that the Midi clock is implemented in the Infinity is interesting and sometimes frustrating. If my TR-8 had a footswitch to start and if the Infinity had an "armed" mode where the second Midi START is received it started recording I wouldn't have this issue but since I'm a Logic use and rarely use it, I play most things on the other side of my keyboard rig which is to say that it's a traditional pedal board plus a set of Taurus pedals and two amps.

I run into trouble when I play something with an odd time signature like 7/4 because I have to wait for the even 4/4 subdivision to come around again before I start recording...

Maybe I'll reach out to Dave Koltai and make the suggestion...
Beware of programmers with screwdrivers...

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed May 14, 2014 10:22 pm

I just copied the loops to the computer and dropped them into an empty set, didn't adjust anything. Ableton adjusted the BPM, and my little drum sequence made in Live lined up. It's great for standard 4/4, but I imagine it might be tricky in odd meters.

I haven't used it with midi yet, I'm not sure I will as my Echoplex is setup in the rack with midi in and outs into a midi router. I'd like to try making a loop in the Echoplex and having it be the master clock for the Infinity, might be easier for odd meters since the Echoplex doesn't lock to a 4/4 measure, but can sync with midi clock. Maybe do a polyrhythmic loop experiment with the Infinity at 4 and the echoplex at whatever. :hmm:

It would be nice if the Infinity could spit out midi clock tho... :waah:

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:07 am

New beta software. Like a new toy for the weekend...
JUNE 4, 2014 BY DAVIDKOLTAI
Here is a BETA version of the long awaited Infinity Looper massive firmware update:
http://pigtronix.com/SPLfirmware/2.0_BETA
Please SAVE YOUR LOOPS NOW as this complete firmware overhaul will BLOW AWAY all of the pre-recorded material on your machine.

New features include:
Active MIDI Sync
10ms Minimum Loop Time
50 Presets (100 loops)
Vari-Speed mode w/ Remote Control ~ (hold down REVERSE to enter varispeed remote control)
Tap Tempo Sync Mode ~ (hold down Loop 1 on power up / AUTOzero MIDI beat counter when you hit record)
MONO Mixdown ~ (hold down Loop 2 on power up / mono mix of both loops)
Stutter Mode ~ (hold down STOP on power up / reverse becomes stutter)
Complete MIDI Control ~ (documentation coming tomorrow)
LED indication for the Colorblind
LEDs blink on loop cycle

This code is a BETA. It is not perfect. Saving very short loops does not work. We will be posting another update, along with a new version of the Infinity Looper application within the next few days.

User avatar
chorus7
Yeah that's right
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Prince Edward Island

Post by chorus7 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:25 am

What does the
Vari-Speed mode w/ Remote Control
do? Is there controls over start/end times? placing markers?

(holy crap this is my 777th post)

User avatar
sydilaxe
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:27 am
Location: Toronto, ON

Post by sydilaxe » Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:02 am

I am right on the verge of purchasing one of these for my electroacoustic performances. Yet, the price point seems very high for what it is...

C'mon...someone push me over the edge and I'll bite the bullet.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9148
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:16 pm

sydilaxe wrote:I am right on the verge of purchasing one of these for my electroacoustic performances. Yet, the price point seems very high for what it is...

C'mon...someone push me over the edge and I'll bite the bullet.
I paid less than retail, 15% off using the code "pedal15" at proguitarshop.com. That code seems to always work. :tu:

User avatar
sydilaxe
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:27 am
Location: Toronto, ON

Post by sydilaxe » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:32 pm

That is awesome... but I also have to factor in import duty and HST.

I just had to calculate that versus the retail cost purchase in Canada.

With the discount, shipping, and import, it is still like 30-40.00 cheaper than buying it locally (but I get to pick it up immediately if I buy it here)!

User avatar
MrBiggs
I see dead people
Posts: 3037
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:16 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by MrBiggs » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:08 pm

I came up here to post about the firmware update yesterday. I'm about to leave work early to get home and try it out. I've had the Infinity for 18 months and I've been waiting for this one ever since they implemented the reverse function a few months after I got it.

FWIW, I just absolutely love the Infinity. Now with the half-time/double-time and-everything-in-between update, it'll be just brilliant.

I got an Echolution 2 Deluxe to use with it, and I've been meaning to run my OpLab into its MIDI as well, but as a couple of you have mentioned its MIDI is kinda weird when trying to sync with some other device. Koltai has updated the MIDI implementation so I'll be curious to see if it works. But basically I found it was easier to get a good synched loop without the MIDI.
•Music and stuff: Dance Robot Dance.
•Current contents:Modulargrid

User avatar
chvad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by chvad » Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:33 pm

dying to play with the new firmware this weekend. i've liked my infinity a lot. midi sync was crucial for me and it handles this great. the new implementation of varispeed is a fucking blast. that plus reverse is texture heaven. id love to grab an echolution 2 deluxe but i just dont have room on my board for it. such a bummer because that looks sexy as hell.

User avatar
MrBiggs
I see dead people
Posts: 3037
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:16 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by MrBiggs » Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:10 pm

You guys plan for a long weekend. Or maybe a short one.

When Dave wrote "beta" he meant it. This is a mess.

The only two things I tried are the half/double-time loop speed and the stutter effect. When you hold the reverse switch on your remote footswitch, it goes into half/double-time mode. It doesn't seem to always know if it's in half/double-time or if it's trying to reverse the loop like it normally did. The LED has a little horiz line that goes up and down as you press the switches on the remote to let you know if it's in half or double. It defaults to double, so at first all you get is slow and slower. You have to use the right remote switch to set it in the middle first.

Stutter is funny. But since you lose reverse and, it seems, half/double-time, it's limited. (Requires a restart.) Plus with this beta it was affecting the recorded loop itself with big pops and it was changing my loop points.

I got a lot of errors that I couldn't repeat. At one point, once I'd saved a loop in slot 1, hitting the half/double-time switch was inserting part of the previous loop into the new loop at random speeds. If this is a feature i can sell my Tyme Sefari. :hihi:

I also can't figure out how to use the Expression pedal as varispeed. It just works as before and changes the volume.

Lastly, saving loops worked twice and didn't work three times. When you click the Preset knob to save the loop, it hangs on the saving. Have to unplug and restart the looper. Of those three times, once it actually did save the loop and the other two times I get E error message when I try to select the loop to play back.

And now I can't get the Infinity app to recognize that the Infinity is plugged into my Mac.

So..... neat. But boy have they got some work to do. Back to the previous firmware.
•Music and stuff: Dance Robot Dance.
•Current contents:Modulargrid

User avatar
chvad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by chvad » Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:52 pm

That's a bummer. Are you that I can't have varispeed and reverse at the same time even with an additional expression pedal?

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”