[New Module] nw2s::io Balanced line transceiver

Discussion, support, and resources for our noise making modules and kits.

Moderators: Kent, infradead, scottwilson

User avatar
HIMA
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 880
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:26 am

Post by HIMA » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:17 pm

scottwilson wrote:
Hope that helps clarify a bit more.
It does, and i've made space for one in my rack! :tu:
The Book of Bad Ideas - A compendium of knowledge from Muffs. Download it here: http://bit.ly/1oz2zaI

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Fri Sep 12, 2014 10:01 am


Stant
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: Vienna

IO

Post by Stant » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:39 am

Looks like a great module, cant wait ;)

User avatar
SirSickSik
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:28 am

Post by SirSickSik » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:03 pm

want!
thanks, I was just looking for such a module!

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:26 am

Prototypes are on their way back to me. Keep your fingers crossed!

s

botstein
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:47 am

Post by botstein » Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:51 am

scottwilson wrote:Prototypes are on their way back to me. Keep your fingers crossed!

s
Exciting! This is definitely a module that a lot of us need.

User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15399
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

Post by ignatius » Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:41 pm

so ready for this! super awesome thing that will be problem solver for me :)

User avatar
CF3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3017
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by CF3 » Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:23 am

scottwilson wrote:Prototypes are on their way back to me. Keep your fingers crossed!

s
Ready and Waiting. I so need this module. This will allow me to process shit thru the modular like a gentleman. :sb:

User avatar
SirSickSik
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:28 am

Post by SirSickSik » Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:01 am

isn't there some DIY kit to incoorporate stompboxes into your module?
in the sence that you take your stompbox apart and combine that circuit with an in&out circuit and maybe some CV possibilities?

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:30 am

You might be thinking of something different. This is specifically for integrating modular gear with balanced studio gear.


...And speaking of, the mainboard prototypes are waiting for me at home!


s

User avatar
visible cow
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1430
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:49 pm
Location: Athens, GA

Post by visible cow » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:08 pm

Sorry, I realize this has been brought up but I didn't fully understand. Does the unique power requirement of this module mean that it is going to be especially power hungry? I'm hoping to stick this in my enclave flight case which has a sufficient but far from robust power supply.

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:26 pm

It's a good question. Now that I have the prototypes, I can move beyond the theoretical and into the practical. I'll be taking measurements as part of the testing.

The reason behind the requirement is to be able to run the line drivers at their optimal voltage level of +/- 18V so that they can reach an output of about 22dBu.

To generate a reasonably clean DC supply from another DC source, you're going to consume a bit more power than you produce. Multiply that by the fact that you're increasing the voltage, so you require a bit more current even above the inefficiencies inherent in the system.

The power module consumes between 30mA to 300mA depending on its load.

I am hoping for something around 50 to 100 as an average and 150mA as a worst case... but you never know... Maybe you're running 8 channels of +20dBu audio into your WWII 600Ω radio microphone preamp through some zip cord you found on the side of the road with a couple of intermittent shorts? That will consume a lot more current than wiring it to a new Avid HDIO with some pristine Mogami studio cabling.

s

User avatar
goiks
Hardest Tryer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: bishop california

Post by goiks » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:21 pm

tascam pinout?
www.goike.com

"There is no right answer. Just compromises." - Dave Jones
"Intelligence is generated by communities, by cooperation of some kind." - Brian Eno

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:23 pm

Yes. Tascam.

User avatar
CF3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3017
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by CF3 » Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:28 am

scottwilson wrote:Maybe you're running 8 channels of +20dBu audio into your WWII 600Ω radio microphone preamp through some zip cord you found on the side of the road with a couple of intermittent shorts?
:lolspew:

Ya-Neck
Common Wiggler
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 3:52 am
Location: Switzerland

Post by Ya-Neck » Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:35 am

Omagad!!! :hyper: :hyper:
Realy can't wait for this one!! thanks for all your work!!

User avatar
rhizomatik
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:45 am
Location: Sweden

Post by rhizomatik » Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:43 am

This looks just perfect for my workflow! :yay:

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1719
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Post by djthopa » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:54 pm

Scott, would this be a good setup to use with my allen heath zed r-16?

Mostly for multitrack recording.

Lots of wires going from the modular to the mixer at the moment.

:ripbanana:

User avatar
seank
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:05 pm
Location: los angeles
Contact:

Post by seank » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:54 am

i'm planning on doing the same with an a&h wz4 16:2 mixer. 8 channels from the modular to the inserts with a snake, 6 fx sends to and from the mixer with two more snakes. so much easier!

would db25 to xlr or db25 to 1/4" snake be better for this situation? or does it matter?

User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15399
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

Post by ignatius » Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:12 pm

It's balanced I/o so 1/4 try's or Zoe are both fine. I'm guessing. So whatever you need to patch into... use that type of connection.

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:06 pm

Looking at the shot of the inputs of the wz4, the mic inputs are on XLR and the line inputs are on TRS, so you're going to want DB-25 to TRS for that specific mixer.

s

User avatar
seank
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:05 pm
Location: los angeles
Contact:

Post by seank » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:14 pm

nice. thank you! can't wait to run all my euro fx as sends. this rules. do you have an eta or estimated price? mark me down for two.

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:06 am

For subscribers of this thread, I've updated the other one with some new info:

viewtopic.php?p=1729456#1729456

s

User avatar
scottwilson
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:54 pm

Post by scottwilson » Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:03 am

Just a heads up - it's available for order now!

http://nw2s.net/product/nw2s-io/

s

User avatar
Noha
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 503
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:50 pm
Location: Main Street

Post by Noha » Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:26 pm

Hi, I have a question about this module:

It's stated that it can be used to send audio or CV out of the modular, but that the modular audio levels are attenuated -6dB as they leave the system through this module. So what happens to CV? Does it get attenuated as well? I would be interested in sending CV/Gate from the modular through this module to rack gear that takes CV/Gate, but I don't want the CV to get attenuated as this would screw up tuning.

thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “nw2s”