MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Silly pitch
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Volta  
Author Silly pitch
worker8
I'm new to Volta and wonder why the calibration process is so unpredictable.

Now, I tend to calibrate with a louder signal. And I can play easily through 3 octaves.

Is this the only thing I missed ?

I use a MOTU Ultralite mkIII, and play with ZO, A-143-9 & A-110.
1nput0utput
Are you sure that you're not clipping the audio interface input that you're using for calibration? If I recall correctly, all of the UltraLite mk3's inputs have a trim control. A strong signal is good for calibration, but it will be distorted if it's too strong.
worker8
1nput0utput wrote:
Are you sure that you're not clipping the audio interface input that you're using for calibration? If I recall correctly, all of the UltraLite mk3's inputs have a trim control. A strong signal is good for calibration, but it will be distorted if it's too strong.

I don't notice any clipping : I always have an open scope to monitor the incoming signal. Furthermore, my recordings are clean.
seriously, i just don't get it
1nput0utput
According to the Volta manual, the UltraLite mk3 analog outputs 1 through 8 produce ±3.5 VDC, which should correspond with about 3.5 octaves from a V/octave oscillator. The main outputs produce ±4.6 VDC, so try using one of the main outputs instead. You should get another octave of pitch CV tracking.
os
±3.5 V is a 7 V range i.e. 7 octaves. I speak from experience.
worker8
os wrote:
±3.5 V is a 7 V range i.e. 7 octaves. I speak from experience.

Don't you need a +3,5V offset to feed the VCO with a 0-7V voltage ?

I need to check the input range of my VCOs ...
os