MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Trumpet+synthesizers?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Artist Discussion Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Trumpet+synthesizers?
baboo
I came across a record from Tomasz Stanko called "freelectronic" snd it's freakin' cool. I love the combination of trumpet and electronic instruments.
I know that Miles did some stuff like that but I don't know any others..

I'm asking because I started playing the trumpet myself recently, and I'd like to record some stuff with my modular and trumpet- looking for inspiration! nanners
suitandtieguy
have you checked out Jon Hassell?
BugBrand
Chicago Underground Duo/Trio/Quartet etc
-- mainly based arounda duo of great drummer & trumpet with plenty of electronics.
There's a quartet one (self-titled I think) with a plain gold cover that I especially like.

I'd never given Miles Davis much time but Bitches Brew completely changed that.

By the way -- I wanted to try modifying a trumpet for direct coupling to electronics (but then didn't find the time) - I'd met a wonderful trombonist in Holland who had a special mic'ing system that had a custom mouthpiece - so the signal was picked up at the mouthpiece rather than at the bell.
sandyb
+1 on Jon Hassell
baboo
thanks, I like Jon Hassell very much! I'll definetly look for his albums in my music store.
Ranxerox
You must hear Arve Henriksen's amazing trumpet playing with Norwegian band Supersilent. Their blend of analogue electronics and free-improv jazz is frightening and exhilarating in equal measure. Henriksen also has solo albums out on ECM and Rune Grammafon.

Also, Toshinori Kondo is a jazz trumpeter who plays through harmonisors and other effects; his collaboration album with DJ Krush - 'Ki Oku' - is a damn fine listen.
oozitron