MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Getting my feet wet - Feedback appreciated!
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author Getting my feet wet - Feedback appreciated!
SmartBits
I'm on the verge of getting my feet wet in the wonderful world of modulars, but being a noob I thought it would be wise to get some feedback on the initial system that I have in mind.

I have experience with virtual (Nord) modulars and semi-modulars (MS10 & MS20). My thoughts were to go with a small system with modules that aren't too exotic and easily available from the Netherlands (so Europe, that is). I don't want to start too complicated, so I've chosen more or less for the basic monosynth structure that I know. From there I want to expand into, for me, less familiar terrain... My configuration would be something like this:

VCO : Tiptop Audio Z3000 Smart VCO Mk2
: Doepfer A-118 Noise / Random
Mixer : Doepfer A-138b Mixer exponential
Filter : Intellijel Designs Dr. Octature II
Env : Intellijel Dual ADSR
LFO : Pittsburgh Modular - LFO2
VCA : Intellijel µVCA II

Case : Doepfer DIY-Kit #1 incl. Trafo 1200mA (for building a 6u rack)

The setup on ModularGrid: http://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/106447

I tried to stay on a budget of around 1000 euros for the modules only, but I added the Pittsburgh LFO2 because I wasn't quite sure if I had enough modulation in there. So I'm a bit over budget already. I have a bit of kit that I can use for interfacing and modulation (Kenton Pro Solo, Doepfer Dark Time) but an extra LFO never hurt anybody, right?

A few things I'm not sure about: