MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

thermal compound?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author thermal compound?
Kwote
i was just looking over the SNVoice manual and realized i forgot to add a thermal compound to my parts list. as per the manual,

"After soldering Q1/Q2 package, solder R7 TEMPCO resistor in place such that it comes in contact with the package. Use thermal compound to create a fillet between R7 and Q1/Q2 to aid in matching the temperature of both devices."

any suggestions? i've never worked with thermal compound before.

also what do they mean by "fillet"?
Kent
Finally, I'm of use on this forum!

Normally, Thermal Compound & Thermal Paste should be used very sparingly. Just use as thin an amount as possible. But, in the instructions that you quoted, Kwote ; wink they are wanting you to basically 'tie' the two components together with the compound so that they will share the heat that they give off and therefore be closer to the same temperature.

Never heard the term 'fillet' before.
Kwote
so i should just put a thin layer between the components then?

anyone got a link from mouser for this stuff?
consumed
i fry up the occasional thermal compound fillet for dinner every once in awhile.

you can get thermal compound at fly's electronics, maybe even rat shack. its the goo you squirt onto your CPU before you put the fan on it, so you can get better heat transfer between the parts (the fan is a heat sink).
Kwote
lol! fly's electronics.

werd. thanks. i'll be headed there for some shortly.
Muff Wiggler