temps_utile / 6 x clock generator [build thread etc]

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 7:35 am

puzo wrote:Hi. Does this suffer from the 1.3 oled shortage and do we anticipate the 1.4" adapted board from the OC to work?
It looks like they are back, couple places on ebay have them. I struck out on Ali, they took my money and never sent anything (2 places actually)

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:07 am

puzo wrote:Hi. Does this suffer from the 1.3 oled shortage and do we anticipate the 1.4" adapted board from the OC to work?
yes and yes. it's the same display/pinout/driver. it'll take a while until everything is confirmed, including the panel, which will need adjustment (ie the cut-out)

Altitude909 wrote:
It looks like they are back, couple places on ebay have them.
really? i only seem to find 0.96" (with 7 pins, some of them with matching pinout) and a bunch of 1.3" ones, but with a different pinout (6 pins: VCC - GND - SCK - DATA - CS - D/C). those won't work; the CS, D/C stuff could be fixed easily enough in the firmware, but VCC and GND don't match.

puzo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:18 pm

Post by puzo » Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:12 am

Cheers, that's great, to the project and the adjustments to keep it alive. Guess I shouldn't take so long to get to my boards. I havnt got a panel yet so ok there.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:15 am

grr.

didnt catch the wrong pinout on the others.

Anyone have a spare display they want to get rid of in the US?
Last edited by Altitude909 on Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

sammy123
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:36 pm

Post by sammy123 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:51 am

Raph let me check this evening. If I have two I'd be happy to send you one. I want to say I bought an ebay one a year or so ago and an adafruit one as well.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:17 am

Cool, IIRC, the Adafruit was the 4 pin and I need the 7 pin..

On a related topic, what's the deal with 6pin vs 7pin? Cant I just run wires to change the pinout?

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:59 am

Altitude909 wrote: On a related topic, what's the deal with 6pin vs 7pin? Cant I just run wires to change the pinout?
adafruit has yet another pinout. and is sold out, too.

as for 6 vs 7 pin, some of those boards have a/the reset signal broken out, some of them don't. in as much those 6 pin ones do exist, i assume the reset signal is not absolutely needed (it certainly doesn't get deployed very much, except during initialisation). but i haven't ever tried and can't try now (ie what happens when commenting the reset stuff out). i'd assume it'll be fine; other than being more messy, running wires to the respective signals will be ok, of course.

sammy123
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:36 pm

Post by sammy123 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:17 pm

Actually looking closer I think my adafruit display was the 128x32 for the eurotrash. So I don't think I have a spare.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:34 pm

So what's the story about just making our own boards?

These displays are $5 from Future

http://www.futureelectronics.com/en/Tec ... 48743&IM=0

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Sun Mar 06, 2016 4:14 am

Altitude909 wrote:So what's the story about just making our own boards?

These displays are $5 from Future
yeah, i was considering using bare 1.3" and simply make the necessary modifications to the adafruit board (.brd file) (ie basically just move the header pins around), but i couldn't find a reliable-looking source for the OLEDs (Future also says stock: 0)

i'm currently waiting for one of these. and this:


Image

(8 pins because of O+C, the 8th pin is pulled high so the MCU can detect which OLED is being used. or at least that's the plan.)

the 1.5" ones are not as cheap, but they're available. and they come with a ZIF connector, which i figured will be easier to handle than the FPC connectors on the 1.3" ones.

in principle it looks entirely doable though; basically all that needs to go on the board is a few passives and a 3.3V/12V step up converter, such as this..

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Mar 06, 2016 7:10 am

Sweet. So just rework the adafruit for the right pinout and it should work? I have a pile of ones that are wrong pinout that I can just rework..

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Sun Mar 06, 2016 7:48 am

Altitude909 wrote:Sweet. So just rework the adafruit for the right pinout and it should work? I have a pile of ones that are wrong pinout that I can just rework..
yep, it should. this one doesn't even need 12V. there's some stuff on there not needed (5v -> 3v3 level shifting, 3v3 local regulation, i2c option), so things could be simplified quite a bit, but re-arranging the pins should be all that's needed to make it work. basically: GND - 3v3 - D0 (SCK) - D1 (DATA) - RST - D/C - CS rather than DATA - SCK - D/C - RST - CS - 3v3 - 5v - GND

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:28 am

Are the diodes needed on the CS/RST/DC lines?

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:03 am

Altitude909 wrote:Are the diodes needed on the CS/RST/DC lines?
no, i don't think. i'd probably keep the pull-up resistors on CS, RST and DC, most of the rest can go:


Image

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:15 am

Hows this look:

Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:48 am

Ok,

Did some testing on the boards that I have here removing and re-soldering the displays to their respective boards and its a snap. Remove with hot air, solder back in place with iron. No problems. Polyimide is some cool shit for sure, seems crazy to be soldering metalized plastic (I didnt even turn the iron down, set at 370 C) but it works like a charm. I tried drag soldering at first but that made a mess but reworked it pin by pin and it looks as good as a hot bar with no damage

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:55 am

Altitude909 wrote:Hows this look:
cool, looking good.

except, you'd either have to get rid of the 8th pin or move the header slightly to the right, otherwise the panel cut-out will be off a few millimeters, because it expects those 7 pin OLEDs (which have the 7 pin header centred).

but the 8th pin ("MISO") is not really needed here. (it might be of some use for "ornament+crime", but the firmware defaults to SH1106, which is basically identical to SSD1306.) if you keep it, i'd pull it up via 10k rather than connect it to 3v3 though.

R2 i guess can go, too. just tie BS1 to GND.

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:57 am

Altitude909 wrote:Ok,

Did some testing on the boards that I have here removing and re-soldering the displays to their respective boards and its a snap. Remove with hot air, solder back in place with iron. No problems. Polyimide is some cool shit for sure, seems crazy to be soldering metalized plastic (I didnt even turn the iron down, set at 370 C) but it works like a charm. I tried drag soldering at first but that made a mess but reworked it pin by pin and it looks as good as a hot bar with no damage
oh, and that's good news. i've never tried but was mildly concerned it might not be feasible ...

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3534
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:29 am


User avatar
keninverse
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1013
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: mission control htx

Post by keninverse » Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:02 pm

I have the older Rev2 of the board...am I right to assume I can swap the 074 w/the rail to rail MCP6004 without any other component changes? Does this apply to the O+C as well?

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:20 pm

keninverse wrote:I have the older Rev2 of the board...am I right to assume I can swap the 074 w/the rail to rail MCP6004 without any other component changes? Does this apply to the O+C as well?
no, they're not swappable! the ones with 6004 say '6004' on the silkscreen, on both pcbs.

User avatar
keninverse
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1013
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: mission control htx

Post by keninverse » Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:43 am

Oh I get it. I really need to think things through before posting stuff like this. The 6004 is running off the same supply as the teensy so that's why the schottky diodes are missing in the new Rev. It'll pop if I just drop it in the 074 spot. So would it be worth it to purchase the newer board?

User avatar
mxmxmx
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2243
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am
Location: berlin

Post by mxmxmx » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:30 am

keninverse wrote:So would it be worth it to purchase the newer board?
no, it's the same thing essentially; the version with the MCP6004 before the ADC is a bit simpler but not so much simpler.

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:33 pm

Well, seems my second Temps-Utile has a dead OLED. The Teensy powers up and lets reprogram itself just fine, and based on throwing manual gates to the unit it seems it does pass 1:1 clock from output 1 so it's working to some degree. It's just that there's nothing on the screen. The O+C I built in same session seems to work just fine.

Anything in particular I should check?
Warm thank you to everyone for the past 10 years. I'm not active here anymore for personal reasons, so for those I've had the pleasure of dealing with please send an e-mail instead of PM if you wish to get in touch.

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:44 pm

To clarify, the O+C works with both displays, Temps-Utile with neither, so the problem is somewhere in Temps-Utile. As the Teensy seems to work just fine, it's assumingly not the Teensy, but either the software or connections somewhere in between display and the Teensy. Tried reflowing the obvious places and measuring continuity between Teensy pins and board, to no avail.

Furthermore, all the OLED pins are connected to somewhere on the teensy, except VCC and GND which receive 3.3V as intended. Tried replacing the Teensy with one from O+C just for fun (I'm not sure if the pinout is even same), and the screen was still blank. Back to O+C board, works fine.

By quickly poking on the data lines with multimeter on frequency mode there's ~50Hz signal on the data lines and clock.
Warm thank you to everyone for the past 10 years. I'm not active here anymore for personal reasons, so for those I've had the pleasure of dealing with please send an e-mail instead of PM if you wish to get in touch.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”