My DIY CGS RealRing

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Post Reply
User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

My DIY CGS RealRing

Post by Muff Wiggler » Tue Jul 29, 2008 12:13 am

I said before that my PsychoLFO was the first thing I ever built.... well that's not totally true. Before I did that one, I made a CGS RealRing. By 'made' I mean wired up the jacks and mounted a panel, because that's all there is to it. So that's why it doesn't really count. Anyway, here it is (leaning on my brand new teaspoon)

Image

Image

I guess I wil probably take this off the panel sometime, as I have a second CGSRR and I plan to wire the two of them up modem style

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Tue Jul 29, 2008 12:22 am

look how easily it could be mounted in a frac ear!

User avatar
eyehue
High Desert
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:45 am
Location: flagstaff, arizona

Post by eyehue » Tue Jul 29, 2008 12:56 am

sweeet! thanks for that pic!

is it just basic wiring between two sets of the CGSRR to get them "modem" style? do you have a schem?

User avatar
Muff Wiggler
wait, what?
Posts: 7815
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by Muff Wiggler » Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:04 am

don't have a schem, but it's pretty simple -

- when you wire up the CGSRR, there's two ins and an out - doesn't matter which in you use for carrier or modulator, the same thing happens both ways...

but, when you want to wire two as a modem, it does matter, only on the second unit....

- start by wiring up both CGSRRs as standalone ones. Then using the 3rd lug "normalled" connection on the jacks, connect the output from the first CGSRR into the OPPOSITE input (for carrier) that you were using on the first RR. Next hookup another cable between the normalling lugs of the modulator jacks - again it needs to be opposite jacks on the second unit.

Using the normalling lugs allows you to defeat the normalling connection by inserting a jack, thus letting you use them as two seperate units, or as one unit but with a different modulator signal on the second half.

User avatar
eyehue
High Desert
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:45 am
Location: flagstaff, arizona

Post by eyehue » Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:07 am

thanks!

i'm definitely gonna try this out once i do my next CGS order. though it might be a bit since i just received one.

User avatar
thetwlo
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4659
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: East Bay, CA US

Post by thetwlo » Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:21 am


User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Tue Jul 29, 2008 3:04 am

i have absolutely no choice......must..have...two.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
Luka
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5369
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:15 am
Location: melbourne

Post by Luka » Tue Jul 29, 2008 3:56 am

RRM <3

I have one too, have been playing my 606 through it for the last week modulated with my VCO. it sounds awesome

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:30 am

i have two in a frac ear, both with different diodes, both sound great!

is it possible to patch up the modem patch without resoldering things? i.e. just from the front panel, if you have two with x in, y in and out?

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:45 pm

Babaluma wrote:i have two in a frac ear, both with different diodes, both sound great!

is it possible to patch up the modem patch without resoldering things? i.e. just from the front panel, if you have two with x in, y in and out?
yes it is - all you need is two RMs.

- this is why I think the moddemod is such a great product.

Not from a feature standpoint (it's just two basic ringmods!) but because of their ULTRA-BRILLIANT MARKETING :D

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:40 pm

cool. this thread made me think of getting two rm's for the modem application and one for stand alone ring mod. i'll just be getting two now.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:14 pm

The ModDemod is AWESOME.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:04 pm

D/A A/D wrote:The ModDemod is AWESOME.
It totally is, but it's still "just" two ringmods that are normalled together, right?

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:12 pm

wetterberg wrote:
D/A A/D wrote:The ModDemod is AWESOME.
It totally is, but it's still "just" two ringmods that are normalled together, right?
With awesome graphics in a tidy 4hp mod... It wasn't that much moola, and Ken is all out of RRM's as he doesn't have any more computers to salvage diodes from. As per my understanding.

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:18 pm

I'm with ya - the modDemod will go nicely with an equally skinny set of ELF modules :)

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:22 pm

D/A A/D wrote:and Ken is all out of RRM's as he doesn't have any more computers to salvage diodes from. As per my understanding.
are you referring to this bit:
Some RRMs used diodes from a computer from 1969, but due to the huge demand for these modulators, I have used up my stocks and may now use brand new germanium diodes as needed. The sound remains the same.
?

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:17 pm

hey i don't care where he get em long as i get em.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”