MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Safest way of testing DIY builds?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Safest way of testing DIY builds?
Daisuk
Hey guys! I'm new to DIY'ing, have built a couple of kits for Eurorack, but have been a bit nervous when plugging the modules into the case for the first time, in case I've done something wrong and will shortcircuit something.

Is there a safe way to check whether a DIY kit works (and won't short circuit and possibly damage other modules) without plugging it into a case? Can you for instance get a single instance of a bus board connection from somewhere?

Possibly some very stupid questions, but here goes. lol
regenbot
i always check continuity between rails and ground before plugging anything. I also use frequency central DIY power for testing purposes.
mush
I build at home. I use a small doepfer beauty-case for PSU. I always check continuity between rails and ground before powering up. And only plug in the new module first. After checking I plug in a couple of "utility modules" I keep at home (a Music Thing Radio Music for audio-rate waveforms and testing triggers and CV, an LFO and a mini speaker). I usually calibrate the module at home. And once it is done I take it to my studio and it usually stays there.
gdavis
In addition to the suggestions above, if you're serious about DIY get a bench power supply with constant voltage and constant current modes. Set the current to a reasonable value and it will clamp down if there is a short or if the module draws too much current for any reason.

I use one of these:
http://www.bocatechinc.com/test-equipment/power-supply