19" 1u Utility Panels

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
Acid Mitch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:52 am

19" 1u Utility Panels

Post by Acid Mitch » Thu Apr 02, 2015 9:53 am

I need some mults and passive attenuators in a 19" 1u panel.
Is it only Metal Box making these ?
Anyone in the UK making them ?

Is there any advantage to using VCA's instead of passive attenuators ?
(mostly for CV signals)

User avatar
chamomileshark
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:24 am
Location: UK

Post by chamomileshark » Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:05 am

You might also want to look at Ad Infinitum - I have a 19 inch multi from him and I think he does a number of other ultility items.

I'm in the UK also but it wasn't a hassle for me.
Key Gear: Wiard 300 Series, EMS VCS3, Frac Modular (Blacet, Wiard, Bananalogue & Synthesis Technology).

Website: http://inspiringsounds.com

a bunch of stuff
http://markgriffiths.bandcamp.com/
http://www.soundclick.com/markgriffiths

User avatar
chamomileshark
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:24 am
Location: UK

Post by chamomileshark » Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:09 am

To answer your second question - you mean like the Blacet attenuator/ mults vs a VCA?

then it would be I guess with the VCA you have the VC control - either log or lin (or mix)

some of those VCAs include a mix function for individual inputs

there may be some audio colouration with some VCAs - e.g the MOTM 1190 VCA I think will give you a pleasing distortion.
Key Gear: Wiard 300 Series, EMS VCS3, Frac Modular (Blacet, Wiard, Bananalogue & Synthesis Technology).

Website: http://inspiringsounds.com

a bunch of stuff
http://markgriffiths.bandcamp.com/
http://www.soundclick.com/markgriffiths

User avatar
fracmonkey
JB or not JB, that is the question.
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:16 pm

Post by fracmonkey » Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:50 am

If you want to mix or distribute CVs (as opposed to simply attenuating them) then an active mixer or splitter is a better choice. A VCA adds voltage control of the level of course.

User avatar
Acid Mitch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:52 am

Post by Acid Mitch » Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:41 pm

chamomileshark wrote:You might also want to look at Ad Infinitum - I have a 19 inch multi from him and I think he does a number of other ultility items..

The closest things I saw on their site was the UM410 mults and UMM402 Mixer.
I do like the UM410 but I only have a 19" 1u space left in my cabinet. I need the mults and attenuators in the same panel and I don't think I want attenuators linked to mults.



chamomileshark wrote:To answer your second question - you mean like the Blacet attenuator/ mults vs a VCA?

then it would be I guess with the VCA you have the VC control - either log or lin (or mix)

some of those VCAs include a mix function for individual inputs

there may be some audio colouration with some VCAs - e.g the MOTM 1190 VCA I think will give you a pleasing distortion.
Thanks. :tu: That's pretty much what I was wandering ?

User avatar
Acid Mitch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:52 am

Post by Acid Mitch » Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:57 pm

fracmonkey wrote:If you want to mix or distribute CVs (as opposed to simply attenuating them) then an active mixer or splitter is a better choice. A VCA adds voltage control of the level of course.
Well, I have 2 rows/12 modules of frac that do most of what I want but the only utility modules I have are a Blacet quad mix VCA and a Cirklon CVIO.
My filter has a three input mixer so I only use channel D on the quad mix as master out. That means I can use the abc channel on the Quad mix for other stuff,

I need to distribute envelope and LFO to multiple destinations more than I need to mix signals (for now,lol).and I need one or 2 signals attenuated after being split off.

User avatar
rezzn8r
Aural Enthusiast
Posts: 3527
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Canada

Post by rezzn8r » Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:02 pm

viewtopic.php?t=118657&highlight=

Maybe you could use a couple of these with some stackables?
WTB: Miniwave Vowels & GR-New ROMs
-----------------
http://analognoisemonster.bandcamp.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/rezzn8r

User avatar
Acid Mitch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:52 am

Post by Acid Mitch » Thu Apr 02, 2015 4:16 pm

Those attenuating cables look great. I guess that frees up some space.
I don't think stackables are suitable for me as my modular sits above an MPC and they'd be hanging over the screen.

User avatar
Acid Mitch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:52 am

Post by Acid Mitch » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:34 am

The past couple of days I've been thinking "What a doofus, imagine not leaving yourself enough space for some mixers"
So I've just ordered a couple of Blacet mixer/processors and will add another row to my case.

Is the PAIA FR7 the cheapest way to add another 3u row ?
Can the Tip Top Z rails (or similar) be used to hold Frac modules ?

I'll end up with 9u of modules and a UM410 mults thingy..
Here's what I currently have. (with CVIO filling the spacve in the corner)
Image

My utility modules will be the UM410 mults, a 5 pack (or 2) of attenuating cables, 2 mix/proc's, Cirklon CVIO and the Blacet Quad mix.
I think that's all I need but am I missing anything obvious ? (Apart from a Miniwave :hihi: )

User avatar
Acid Mitch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:52 am

Post by Acid Mitch » Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:01 pm

After reading the manual for the Blacet 3010 enough times for it's functions to finally sink in, now I'm thinking I should just go to a 12u case and stick six of them in , instead of getting attenuating cables and UM410 mults. :doh:

Do any of yous prefer the Blacet 3010 or other Mult / Attenuator solutions ?

User avatar
werock
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:38 am
Location: London

Post by werock » Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:21 pm

Acid Mitch wrote: Can the Tip Top Z rails (or similar) be used to hold Frac modules ?
As far as I understand it you can use the rails, but normally they are secured by end plates which you wouldn't be able to use due to the slightly different pitches of the mounting holes between frac & euro. So if you are going to mount the rails in your own case then they will probably work.

But I've never tried to use them, that's just my understanding. :eek:

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3694
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:19 pm

There are some Eurorack rails by Schroff that don't have the lip.

If you wanted to use Eurorack rails (with end pieces adjusted for Frac height spacing) then you would have to use ones without the lip.

For horizontal screw spacing you would probably have to use square sliding vector nuts.

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3694
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:23 pm

On the topic of 1U 19" utility panels,
I think it would be best to buy a blank ready made panel that has the flanges on the back to keep it rigid.

Without flanges or any other way of adding rigidity
you can expect the panel to flex when plugging things in. :sadbanana:

User avatar
solitaryzen
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by solitaryzen » Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:00 pm

Cat-A-Tonic wrote:On the topic of 1U 19" utility panels,
I think it would be best to buy a blank ready made panel that has the flanges on the back to keep it rigid.

Without flanges or any other way of adding rigidity
you can expect the panel to flex when plugging things in. :sadbanana:
This does happen a bit with the ad-infintum panels unfortunately, but not a big deal.

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3694
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:27 am

solitaryzen wrote:
Cat-A-Tonic wrote:On the topic of 1U 19" utility panels,
I think it would be best to buy a blank ready made panel that has the flanges on the back to keep it rigid.

Without flanges or any other way of adding rigidity
you can expect the panel to flex when plugging things in. :sadbanana:
This does happen a bit with the ad-infintum panels unfortunately, but not a big deal.
It was the same on the 19" Metalbox utility panels that I tried at a friend's house ages ago.

I realize it's livable, but it put me off.


I remember reading of a similar situation with the famed almost-sat on Milton Sequencer.
IIRC Malekko Josh added some 90 degree steel bracket strips to stiffen it up.
That dude knows how to make things rigid. :miley:

User avatar
chamomileshark
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:24 am
Location: UK

Post by chamomileshark » Mon Apr 13, 2015 1:56 pm

solitaryzen wrote:
Cat-A-Tonic wrote:On the topic of 1U 19" utility panels,
I think it would be best to buy a blank ready made panel that has the flanges on the back to keep it rigid.

Without flanges or any other way of adding rigidity
you can expect the panel to flex when plugging things in. :sadbanana:
This does happen a bit with the ad-infintum panels unfortunately, but not a big deal.
Odd - I have an AdFinitum UM410 and it doesn't flex at all.
Key Gear: Wiard 300 Series, EMS VCS3, Frac Modular (Blacet, Wiard, Bananalogue & Synthesis Technology).

Website: http://inspiringsounds.com

a bunch of stuff
http://markgriffiths.bandcamp.com/
http://www.soundclick.com/markgriffiths

User avatar
emmaker
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:07 pm
Location: PDX

Post by emmaker » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:39 pm

If you look at 19" rack panels there are usually two types. One is cheap, thin aluminum and the other is solid, thick gauge steel. So that makes a big difference. If you have the aluminum ones they will need some sort of support to make them more rigid.

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”