when will we be able to have just a trigger with no cv

Discussion and support for MOTU's Volta software.

Moderators: Kent, stretta

Post Reply
revstate
Common Wiggler
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 12:05 am
Location: Colorado

when will we be able to have just a trigger with no cv

Post by revstate » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:22 pm

i know we can have multiple cvs with one trigger, but i want to use the volta to control a drm1 mkIII and a MBase through trigger inputs. is this an update that will be soon?

-bp

User avatar
MrBiggs
I see dead people
Posts: 3037
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:16 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by MrBiggs » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:47 pm

Why not merely use the trigger sequencer? I often set up Volta with just a trigger seq or two to clock stuff like my modular sequencers.

Brian
•Music and stuff: Dance Robot Dance.
•Current contents:Modulargrid

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:30 am

MrBiggs wrote:Why not merely use the trigger sequencer? I often set up Volta with just a trigger seq or two to clock stuff like my modular sequencers.

Brian
Same here. I use 4 Volta trigger sequencers at different intervals and use a 4X4 matrix switcher to switch and route them on the fly. Then I often use a fifth Volta trigger seq set to fire every measure or 2 and use that as a reset pulse for the analog sequencers so everything has a 'One' reference. I love the tight timing of syncing this way. No MIDI slop at all. Even 64th notes are tighty-tight. The nice thing about the trigger sequencers is their versatility. You can set up rhythms, syncopations, off-beats, triplets, dots etc. It's an interesting area I've been exploring for several months. I HIGHLY recommend a hardware switcher of some kind (even a toggle switch) and to give these ideas a try.

Be sure to lower the duration of your trigger sequencers WAY down (I use 5). They default to 100 and won't work which is a fucking dumbass default for that parameter. I bet quite a few people have walked away from trying the trigger sequencer thinking something was wrong just because of that one parameter- it's easy to overlook.

Post Reply

Return to “Volta”