Frac-to-5U module adapter panels

Moog, Synthesizers.com, MOTM, Modcan, Moon and others..... Go big!

Moderators: luketeaford, lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
russma
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:50 pm
Location: Duvall, WA, USA

Frac-to-5U module adapter panels

Post by russma » Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:39 pm

I saw a photo of somebody's 5U rig here, that had a Blacet module affixed to a 5U front panel. The 5U panel had an open space where the Blacet module showed through.

In my recent "noise module" thread, Dave Brown recommended the Blacet Improb Drive, (of course, he totally reconfigured it for 5U, not just a front panel).

This all prompts me to wonder why I don't see frac-to-5U adapter panels. Does anyone sell these? Not a big enough market?

User avatar
bwhittington
Terrifying Brain Secret
Posts: 5841
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 11:48 pm

Post by bwhittington » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:02 pm

There may be a commercial product, though I haven't seen one. It would be fairly easy to cut your own out of a blank panel, since the frac panel would cover your hacking. You could put 1/8 to 1/4 connections under the opening on the 5U panel to use the space and more easily use the orphaned module.

Cheers,
Brian

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11985
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:04 pm

Curetronic makes a panel that allows for Euro-modules. I thought that I'd bring that up in case that is what you were recollecting.

User avatar
jfm3
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:08 am

Post by jfm3 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:13 pm

If I recall correctly, at one point Blacet sold 5U high panels that would fit a 3U high frack module or two. There were a bunch of holes for 1/4" jacks at the bottom, which I guess you'd fly wires to? One way or the other they're out of production. You might look/ask at the ModularSynthPanels Yahoo group and see if they have an FPD for something similar.

My guess is that very few people ever wanted or used these. My Blacet modules are all behind their own 5U panels. It's generally better just to remount the Blacet boards onto a "stooge bracket" and fly wires to front panel controls on a 5U panel.

User avatar
nerdware
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:19 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by nerdware » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:42 pm

You can find sduck's adaptor panel designs (one with multiples, one without) in the files section of http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/Mo ... nthPanels/. However, you'll need to join that group if you're not already a member. Then you'll need to order the panel...
https://vimeo.com/user2264453
CANNOT DIY. WILL NOT DIY. DO NOT WANT.

User avatar
tobias
lovesbacon
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: East Bay CA

Post by tobias » Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:59 pm

I bought a couple from the blacet website a few years back, but I dont see them there anymore. I couldn't hurt to email John and ask.

User avatar
haricots
Droppin' Loads
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Chelsea & Cowansville, QC, Canada

Post by haricots » Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:46 pm

I acquired one of those panels in a trade. I also have a fpd file for one somewhere. I can dig it up and send it to you if you want.

User avatar
pugix
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3497
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:23 am
Location: Asheville, NC
Contact:

Post by pugix » Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:33 pm

Those adapter panels were kinda ugly, I thought. They stuck the Blacet panel in a larger 5U panel. I've put Blacet modules into 5U by two methods. The first is with a standard 5U panel.

The only MOTM panel actually made by Blacet was the StonZ, and is no longer available.
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-stonz-vc-phaser/

The Binary Zone is in an original Stooge panel. Not available now.
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-binary-zone/

The Miniwaves are in my own FPD design.
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-research- ... mini-wave/

Any of these could be made in FPD. Bridechamber hasn't added any Blacet panels.

I put several Blacet modules into a 1U wide panel. It is quite easy, except for the custom knobs, which need slivers of wood shims. You could just use the Blacet knobs. If you removed this little circle tick marks, these panels would cost a lot less.

http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-improbability-drive-2510/
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-research- ... processor/
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-io-2225-i ... tetrigger/
Richard
https://www.pugix.com

FS: US only - Mutable Instruments Streams

"Everything in our world is actually always modulated by everything else." - Peter B

User avatar
ach_gott
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by ach_gott » Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:38 pm

pugix wrote:The only MOTM panel actually made by Blacet was the StonZ, and is no longer available.
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-stonz-vc-phaser/
Blacet did a run of MOTM Time Machines as well.

User avatar
pugix
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3497
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:23 am
Location: Asheville, NC
Contact:

Post by pugix » Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:55 pm

ach_gott wrote:
pugix wrote:The only MOTM panel actually made by Blacet was the StonZ, and is no longer available.
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-stonz-vc-phaser/
Blacet did a run of MOTM Time Machines as well.
Are you sure about that? Most of the Time Machines in MOTM format used a Stooge panel. I have two of those. These required you to go DIY; they were not available from Blacet like the StonZ MOTM panel was.

http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-research- ... e-machine/
Richard
https://www.pugix.com

FS: US only - Mutable Instruments Streams

"Everything in our world is actually always modulated by everything else." - Peter B

User avatar
ach_gott
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by ach_gott » Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:00 pm

pugix wrote:
ach_gott wrote:
pugix wrote:The only MOTM panel actually made by Blacet was the StonZ, and is no longer available.
http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-stonz-vc-phaser/
Blacet did a run of MOTM Time Machines as well.
Are you sure about that? Most of the Time Machines in MOTM format used a Stooge panel. I have two of those. These required you to go DIY; they were not available from Blacet like the StonZ MOTM panel was.

http://pugix.com/synth/blacet-research- ... e-machine/
Yep, I have two kits laying around waiting to be finished all these years later. The PCB was slightly larger as well and there is a supplement to the build manual. (The PCB says "BLACET TIME MACHINE TM2050 REVB LARGE FORMAT")

User avatar
ach_gott
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by ach_gott » Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:03 pm

Also, I hate the Stonz kit... the wiring from underneath the panel made debugging impossible. When I tried to partially disassemble the thing to reflow the solder, one of the pots busted. That, too, sits in the "one day..." pile.

User avatar
ach_gott
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by ach_gott » Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:11 pm

More info from the email archives, the MOTM format TM2050 run was in February 2005 and the kits were $308 a pop. I should really finish these. :hihi:

Back to the subject at hand...

User avatar
bf
Buck Futter
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:48 pm

Post by bf » Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:38 pm

If you think that getting to them would be too much trouble I'd be happy to take one or both off your hands for you. :hihi: You know, relieve you of all that backlog pressure.

User avatar
jfm3
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:08 am

Post by jfm3 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:40 pm

bf wrote:If you think that getting to them would be too much trouble I'd be happy to take one or both off your hands for you. :hihi: You know, relieve you of all that backlog pressure.
Seconded.

User avatar
sduck
experimental use of gravity
Posts: 13858
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:03 pm
Location: Vortepexaion, TN, USA

Post by sduck » Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:38 pm

Yes indeed - Blacet did make a native Time Machine - not a stooge panel - but his own panel with his own funky fonts and everything. And a special larger pcb. He only did a run of around 20 or so of them, and I grabbed one of the last kits, and it still works, at least as well as it ever did (which isn't all that great).
Image

Blacet stopped selling the adaptor panels some years ago.

Over the last year I've designed new 1U panels for all my blacet stuff, which was all in those adaptor panels before. I sold a few of them already, but I still have 2 left if anyone wants them. PM me.

Here's those fpd files I made up a while ago. I don't remember the prices, but seem to recall that they were pretty cheap. You'll have to plug them into the fpd software to find out the prices.
Attachments
Frac-MOTM adaptor w 2x4 multiple holes.fpd
(955 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times
Frac-MOTM adaptor w-o multiple holes.fpd
(852 Bytes) Downloaded 12 times
flickr cloud of sound touyube NOT A MODERATOR ANYMORE

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:37 pm

bwhittington wrote:There may be a commercial product, though I haven't seen one. It would be fairly easy to cut your own out of a blank panel, since the frac panel would cover your hacking. You could put 1/8 to 1/4 connections under the opening on the 5U panel to use the space and more easily use the orphaned module.

Cheers,
Brian
I have cut blank dotcom panels with a decent sabre saw aka jigsaw. It wasn't nearly the big deal I thought it was going to be. Thanks to Fonik for the suggestion as I was reluctant to try it. Use a hand file to clean up the edges. It's not terribly time-consuming unless you need to do 10 of them or something.

User avatar
russma
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:50 pm
Location: Duvall, WA, USA

Post by russma » Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:20 pm

I have cut blank dotcom panels with a decent sabre saw aka jigsaw....

This was actually my initial thinking, and will probably be my approach, if and when I ever need it.

Now to go search for a Blacet Time Machine...

:mrgreen:

User avatar
doctorvague
ole fuckity fuck
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Post by doctorvague » Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:31 pm

idiotboy wrote:
I have cut blank dotcom panels with a decent sabre saw aka jigsaw....

This was actually my initial thinking, and will probably be my approach, if and when I ever need it.

Now to go search for a Blacet Time Machine...

:mrgreen:
I recommend scribing your lines in with an old X-acto or similar for a nice clean visible line to cut to. And then cover with a couple of layers of clear wide tape.

Good luck in your search. Those come up now and again. Post a WTB and bump it baby bump it.

Post Reply

Return to “5U Format Modules”