MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Lineal VS Switching Power Supply Sound Quality
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Lineal VS Switching Power Supply Sound Quality
Socrates
Hello everybody,

Please excuse me if this question is kind of naive, but as i am quite new to many topics regarding sound quality & electronics, i would like your opinion on this. Lately i have been trying to find out the best small analogue console i could buy, i ended up with Studer 169 and few other models from the 60s & 70s as options. However, most well informed people and sellers of vintage gear i spoke to, all stressed the importance of buying a solid strong linear power supply in order to ensure the best sound quality from the console, as according to what they said, the power supply can affect a lot the sound quality, essentially giving ''cleaner'' electricity?

So, i thought that we can then assume this is the case for Eurorack systems too? Or not? Can somebody please explain if the difference is audible when using Lineal VS Switching power supply? Any other thoughts? Maybe this question is obvious to many but i would appreciate your opinions.

I see that Lineal power supplies go for good money, so i guess since they are more expensive (and bulky!) the must have something to offer.

Many thanks in advance!
daverj
There's no simple answer to your question.

Are switching supplies noisier than linear supplies? Generally yes.

Is that a problem? Sometimes.