NI releases Reaktor 6

Reaktor, MAX/MSP, VST/AU, etc. A place for all things soft....

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
yghartsyrt
permanent entropy
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

Post by yghartsyrt » Wed Jun 15, 2016 2:35 am

so can anyone confirm if the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 has DC coupled outputs?

I can use my outputs to send out LFOs (although not with that much peak), but it seems I can't calibrate the Pitch output block.

Gogoolpex
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:02 pm
Location: Sweden & Austria

Ableton Live setup

Post by Gogoolpex » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:26 am

I just integrated Reaktor 6 with Blocks 1.2 as a plugin in Ableton Live. Its a bit tricky and I did not find any hints on the web. Here is how I achieved it:

1.) create an audio track with Reactor 6 as an FX (Reaktor 6 FX VST)
2.) create a midi track and route it to the audio track with Reaktor FX. In order to run sequences in sync with Ableton use a Clock block and set it to "EXT".
3.) edit the default Blocks ensemble in Reaktor (Blocks New.ens) and create multiple instances of Ins and Out (duplicate the existing once or right click -> Build-In Module -> Terminal -> "In Port" or "Out Port").

Now you need to create one Ableton audio track for the input routing and one for the output routing.
4.) Create an audio track and choose "Ext. In" and choose the input of our sound card which is connected to the output of the modular VCO. Route the audio to the Reaktor FX track and choose the first option "Reakor 2 L/ - Reaktor 6 FX"
5.) Create an audio track and choose Reakor FX as input and "Reaktor 2/- Reaktor 6 FX". Route the audio to "Ext. Ou"t and the output of your DC coupled sound card which is connected to the 1V/Oct in of the VCO.
6.) in Reaktor take the Block "Util Pitch CV out" and connect the "in" to In 3.
7.) connect the Pitch CV of the Block to Out 3.
8.) Now press "RUN" and calibrate the Pitch CV

Now the unit is calibrated and you can connect to a step sequencer or the Note In block.

Other Hints:
The channel names can be confusing and trial and error with a MIX 4 unit can help.
Configure Ableton live correct for your audio interface so that you get a lot of mono outputs of additional CVs.
You can add additional CV outs the same ensemble by repeating step 5.
You can also use multiple instances of the Pitch CV out, one for each VCO.
Once its set up you can save everything as a template.
Use Clock -> Clock divider -> Util Gates & Trigs -> out to sync your external sequencers to Reaktor and Ableton (similar for the Reset)

I guess this will replace my expert sleepers plugins, much more flexible and fun!

User avatar
lvankanten
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:29 pm

Post by lvankanten » Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:37 pm

That's awesome Googolpex, thanks for this!

Been struggling with this for awhile now, I'm hoping to use this instead of the ES plugins as well.
Les

User avatar
debolish
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:15 am
Location: Boston, MA

Post by debolish » Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:48 pm

Pretty cool walkthrough here. Thought I had posted this earlier, but perhaps it was in another thread.


User avatar
thelizard
in it for the money
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:27 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by thelizard » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:17 pm

Euro Reakt 3.0 is out:
https://www.native-instruments.com/en/r ... show/9093/

I've added 15 new Blocks, including many emulations of Nonlinear Circuits modules. Thanks to Andrew for his approval and help!

User avatar
debolish
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:15 am
Location: Boston, MA

Post by debolish » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:39 pm

thelizard wrote:Euro Reakt 3.0 is out:
https://www.native-instruments.com/en/r ... show/9093/

I've added 15 new Blocks, including many emulations of Nonlinear Circuits modules. Thanks to Andrew for his approval and help!
Thanks very much! :hail:

User avatar
shreeswifty
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:15 pm
Location: columbia, MD
Contact:

Post by shreeswifty » Wed Jun 22, 2016 7:48 pm

Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it

User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15493
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

Post by ignatius » Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:21 pm

shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:

User avatar
thelizard
in it for the money
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:27 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by thelizard » Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:59 pm

ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
Thanks! I really needed that hahah. :guinness:

We had a last-minute bug report that is borderline absurd. The amount of things that needed to line up for this to be spotted boggles my mind. It literally takes 30+ minutes for this bug to manifest under specific conditions, so testing and revising has been a bit cabin fever-y today. :bang: :bang: :bang:

User avatar
Jamnuska
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:17 pm
Location: BC

Post by Jamnuska » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:42 pm

yghartsyrt wrote:so can anyone confirm if the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 has DC coupled outputs?

I can use my outputs to send out LFOs (although not with that much peak), but it seems I can't calibrate the Pitch output block.

Another thread (not sure it answers your question because I don't even know what you are asking)...

viewtopic.php?t=133826&highlight=

User avatar
shreeswifty
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:15 pm
Location: columbia, MD
Contact:

Post by shreeswifty » Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:52 am

ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
In Reaktor? Or are these Mike's new insanity?

Please let me know, seems like we are approaching a new heydey of Digital/Analog hybridization and it's quite welcome. I relate it to when SoundFlower made piping audio a breeze and when Syphon was released by Tom and Anton. Simple creative advances that are just monumental for exploration.

Thank you Mike.

User avatar
amsonx
Grey Man Patcher
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Genova, Italy

Post by amsonx » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:11 am

debolish wrote:Just curious as to how some of you are using Blocks with your setup. Are you running Reaktor 6 in standalone, or as a plugin within your DAW? For those of you using it within your DAW, how are you getting audio back into the PITCH CV OUT block for oscillator calibration?
Right now i've do some test using Reaktor 6 as Instrument in Numerology & for now i only sending CV from reaktor to my euro and a back in only the audio, i've an es-1 but i've used only the Motu 828 MKII DC coupled output, i don't own an Expert sleepers module for Cv input and i plan to use the silent way CV input plugin.
FS (EU) Roland R8 MKII perfect condition

richard wrote:
"we just need some mutlinational to grab the copyrights over the sine wave and we are all fucked"

User avatar
amsonx
Grey Man Patcher
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Genova, Italy

Post by amsonx » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:13 am

shreeswifty wrote:
ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
In Reaktor? Or are these Mike's new insanity?

Please let me know, seems like we are approaching a new heydey of Digital/Analog hybridization and it's quite welcome. I relate it to when SoundFlower made piping audio a breeze and when Syphon was released by Tom and Anton. Simple creative advances that are just monumental for exploration.

Thank you Mike.

What about Syphon for audio ? (i use the video/audio Version within VDMX) i'm really interested , do you have some link ?
FS (EU) Roland R8 MKII perfect condition

richard wrote:
"we just need some mutlinational to grab the copyrights over the sine wave and we are all fucked"

User avatar
shreeswifty
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:15 pm
Location: columbia, MD
Contact:

Post by shreeswifty » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:52 am

I'm sorry i was correlating the development of Syphon as a video tool with SoundFlower as an audio tool. I too use Syphon with VDMX/Isadora and QC

User avatar
Stollmeister
Common Wiggler
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:28 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Post by Stollmeister » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:18 am

shreeswifty wrote:
ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
In Reaktor? Or are these Mike's new insanity?

Please let me know, seems like we are approaching a new heydey of Digital/Analog hybridization and it's quite welcome. I relate it to when SoundFlower made piping audio a breeze and when Syphon was released by Tom and Anton. Simple creative advances that are just monumental for exploration.

Thank you Mike.
"Mike's new insanity"... awesome bandname!

User avatar
amsonx
Grey Man Patcher
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Genova, Italy

Post by amsonx » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:47 am

shreeswifty wrote:I'm sorry i was correlating the development of Syphon as a video tool with SoundFlower as an audio tool. I too use Syphon with VDMX/Isadora and QC
thanks.. so i'll continue to use Soundflower to pipe audio ;)
FS (EU) Roland R8 MKII perfect condition

richard wrote:
"we just need some mutlinational to grab the copyrights over the sine wave and we are all fucked"

User avatar
thelizard
in it for the money
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:27 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by thelizard » Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:36 am

shreeswifty wrote:
ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
In Reaktor? Or are these Mike's new insanity?

Please let me know, seems like we are approaching a new heydey of Digital/Analog hybridization and it's quite welcome. I relate it to when SoundFlower made piping audio a breeze and when Syphon was released by Tom and Anton. Simple creative advances that are just monumental for exploration.

Thank you Mike.
New stuff with my company, Unfiltered Audio. We're putting this out in less than two weeks:

User avatar
secretkillerofnames
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:07 am
Location: Brisvagueness

Post by secretkillerofnames » Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:00 pm

thelizard wrote:
New stuff with my company, Unfiltered Audio. We're putting this out in less than two weeks:
They look great. Though what I really need to do is lock the doors, turn off the mobile and sit down with Euro Reakt for a few months :hmm:

User avatar
yghartsyrt
permanent entropy
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

Post by yghartsyrt » Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:21 am

Jamnuska wrote:
yghartsyrt wrote:so can anyone confirm if the Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 has DC coupled outputs?

I can use my outputs to send out LFOs (although not with that much peak), but it seems I can't calibrate the Pitch output block.

Another thread (not sure it answers your question because I don't even know what you are asking)...

viewtopic.php?t=133826&highlight=
I read that thread. Thanks. I also asked NI and the the exact same answer as the other guy.
It seems it doesn't put out that much voltage. I get some modulation with a floating ring cable, but the range leaves room for more

User avatar
synthi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 485
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:01 am
Location: La Patagonia
Contact:

Post by synthi » Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:54 pm

ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
Unfiltered audio Sandman is on sale this weekend at only 19$ !!!
Kymátika studio | facebook | soundcloud
Recording - mixing - mastering

User avatar
ignatius
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 15493
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: oregon
Contact:

Post by ignatius » Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:28 pm

synthi wrote:
ignatius wrote:
shreeswifty wrote:Holy Shit Mike, you are killing it
and just wait until you check out the new unfiltered audio plug ins :omg: :hail:
Unfiltered audio Sandman is on sale this weekend at only 19$ !!!
super fun plug in. can really jam w/it. i like the sound quality of their plug ins.

no brainer at that price for sure.

User avatar
dannyhawaii
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:22 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by dannyhawaii » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:24 am

Hey all, I've added a Mac build for the Instrument Browser over at the NI forum. Makes it nice and easy to browse this immense library of awesome blocks. Thanks so much for all the hard work on them, thelizard!

https://www.native-instruments.com/foru ... le.271818/

User avatar
hyena
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:00 pm
Location: milan, italy
Contact:

Post by hyena » Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:30 am

really cool dannyhawaii!
thelizard: last update was a blast as usual! already made good use of the squid axon on a couple of tracks :) thanks guys! you are really great!

User avatar
thelizard
in it for the money
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:27 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by thelizard » Sat Jul 02, 2016 5:30 pm

dannyhawaii wrote:Hey all, I've added a Mac build for the Instrument Browser over at the NI forum. Makes it nice and easy to browse this immense library of awesome blocks. Thanks so much for all the hard work on them, thelizard!

https://www.native-instruments.com/foru ... le.271818/
Awesome work!

User avatar
dannyhawaii
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:22 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by dannyhawaii » Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:34 am

Thanks, guys. I can't take credit for all the code, just sorting it out so the Mac build works.

Look out for an updated version soon at the link below. It will save the window size and layout so you don't have to change it every time you open it.

https://www.native-instruments.com/en/r ... show/9183/

Post Reply

Return to “Music Software”