MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Expression pedals for CV
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Expression pedals for CV
Stevenb3
I am still new to all this. I have been building up a pretty basic setup starting with the pittsburgh modular system 10.1+. I am using it for some live stuff, and thought a expression pedal would be great to have, so I went out and bought a moog EP-3. I checked with the guys at sweetwater.com, and they assured me that it would do the trick, but I have tried plugging it into a few different CV parameters with no effect.

I am not sure if the pedal is not working, or if I need something in the synth to make the pedal compatible, or if I just need to find a different pedal. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
blt
That is a passive expression pedal, it doesn't create CV, only regulates CV sent through it. There are pedals that create CV, and also modules that allow the use of passive expression pedals to control CV. Something like a Doepfer a-177 or the ADDAC 301's will do the trick.

Here is a thread with some more info:
https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=136901&highlight=
knifey
I think ADDAC is the best way to go. They've got expression and sustain pedal modules. I've been eyeing them for a while to combine with an external instrument interface (Sewastopol/Befaco Interface) so I can use my flute to trigger my Eurorack, and using foot pedals to modulate stuff.
Switched Out
Can anyone recommend a well-built, compact foot switch (not pedal) for the Doepfer a-177-2? I've used an expression pedal with it for years, but haven't ever gotten into the foot switch part, and would like to explore that.
flo
Wow those guys at Sweetwater sure didn't know their stuff hihi