Analog 4 and Analog RYTM screen issues..?

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: luketeaford, lisa, Kent, Joe.

User avatar
Fiddlestickz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1921
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:39 pm
Location: Australia

Analog 4 and Analog RYTM screen issues..?

Post by Fiddlestickz » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:20 pm

Has anyone else noticed a slight discoloration of the LCD screens on their analog 4 or RYTM's..??

On both of mine they seem to be kind of grey pixels in some areas..?

to the far right side on the analog 4 screen, equal to the 2 far right knobs=parameters E&J it's grey instead of the dark blue

on the RYTM all the pixels are grey instead of the 3rd row of knobs=parameters C&G which are still blue..

It's really obvious to look at and appears as though the screens are fading or something else..?

this is the analog 4 screen..
Image

this is the Analog RYTM screen..
Image

anyone else notice this on theirs..??
:confused:

User avatar
shreddoggie
Wiggling like a Pomeranian
Posts: 591
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:04 pm

Post by shreddoggie » Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:22 pm

Seems pretty lame for devices that are a year or 2 old at the most. I wonder if you leave them on all the time or turn them off and on each time? Near heat or in direct sunlight?

Not insinuating its your fault at all - its not acceptable for a professional device at that price point to develop such issues, (any device for that matter) just wondering if there my be some aggravating cause beyond the clear defect of some sort or another.
Bruce Lee wrote:"Learn the principle, abide by the principle, and dissolve the principle. In short, enter a mold without being caged in it. Obey the principle without being bound by it. LEARN, MASTER AND ACHIEVE!!!"

User avatar
Fiddlestickz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1921
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:39 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Fiddlestickz » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:43 am

My studio has no direct sunlight coming in at all, I only turn them on when I use them but they can be on for a day or two at a time occasionally, but still that shouldn't do this..??

The deterioration is very noticeable..

User avatar
Poldenstein
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:01 pm

Post by Poldenstein » Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:23 am

Maybe it's a silly question, but did you already take away the transparent protective adhesive layer? It's so sturdy that's easy to miss..
My A4 it's close to its 4th birthday and the display is perfect.

User avatar
fano
Common Wiggler
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:33 am
Location: Germany

Post by fano » Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:48 am

is each device using its own power supply?

User avatar
Fiddlestickz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1921
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:39 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Fiddlestickz » Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:12 pm

yes the plastic film was removed before i bought them both..
fano wrote:is each device using its own power supply?
yes and they are both plugged into the same power board...I thought of trying a different power supply like the one from my monomachine but it's not the same V as the newer ones on the black elektron boxes..

heckadecimal69
Common Wiggler
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Minneapolis

Post by heckadecimal69 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:18 pm

Forgive me, as you've already stated it but maybe just double check that there's no film still on the screens. It's really easy to miss. Dig your fingernail into it. That's really what this looks like to me, otherwise I can't help ya. Good luck either way.

User avatar
Fiddlestickz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1921
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:39 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Fiddlestickz » Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:56 pm

I've checked, honestly there is no film, the RYTM it was peeling off when I bought it so I took it off the day I got it, the A4 it's not there for sure..

I will just continue to monitor them and see if it gets worse, if it stays like it is I have no problems with it, just don't want it to deteriorate..

User avatar
RustyO
serious modular dude
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:31 am
Contact:

Post by RustyO » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:04 am

You haven't had a good run with Elektrons at all have you?
speak_onion wrote:@RustyO: You said compact and then listed more gear than I've ever owned. I salute you. :bananaguitar:
OctaEdit : A Software Editor and Librarian for the Elektron Octatrack

OctaZip : Intelligent Octatrack Archiver

User avatar
Fiddlestickz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1921
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:39 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Fiddlestickz » Wed Dec 16, 2015 5:21 am

RustyO wrote:You haven't had a good run with Elektrons at all have you?
hated the red screen of the machinedrum so sold it..
took me forever to get a Monomachine but now I have it I love it to pieces..
I love my A4 and RYTM and will not sell them, recently sold the Octatrack as I just wasn't using it, currently selling my Avalon too for more euro..( verbos )

Want to buy an analog keys and almost have the money for one, then I'm just buying euro euro euro...no more hardware synths or groove boxes or modules for me, just the AK and A4 and A Rytm and a wall of euro rack..

but I love the Elektron boxes I have..

:mrgreen:

indionat
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:22 am

Post by indionat » Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:28 am

hi
i am late for an answer but i had the same today with both machines A4 and AR, the room temp is 20 C. no sunlight... Both were working fine before.
greetings
indionat

User avatar
RowanH
Common Wiggler
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:43 pm
Location: Brixton, UK

Post by RowanH » Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:49 am

I had the same issue with my analog 4 after about a year. Luckily still in warranty and Elektron fixed it and got the paint chipping issue fixed at the same time, which I wasn't too fussed about initially as it was only around one screw.

nikbee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:20 pm

Post by nikbee » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:15 am

i had same issue on my RYTM. elektron replaced it (along with a bunch of other unrelated stuff!).

User avatar
trabant
Common Wiggler
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:54 pm
Location: berlin

Post by trabant » Tue Jun 21, 2016 2:28 pm

looks weird

nativestate
!!!!!!!
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by nativestate » Tue Oct 04, 2016 4:54 pm

I have an analog rytm and I have never had this issue. I do come across weird abnormalities if it is left on for sometime. A simple restart addresses this.

User avatar
amnesia
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7128
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:33 am
Location: 37 47 S 144 58 E

Post by amnesia » Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:52 pm


Panason
is banned
is banned
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:56 am

Post by Panason » Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:28 am

shreddoggie wrote:Seems pretty lame for devices that are a year or 2 old at the most. .
The mk1 boxes were declared "legacy" by Elektron, who rewarded the fans with mk2 versions ( which also have lame displays). :yay:

On the Rytm mk1 the labelling of the buttons (white paint on black) is done cheaply and stupidly. On mine (bought new less than 4 years ago) the labels of the 16 steps are getting rubbed out from use. If they had a clue they would have printed the labels ABOVE the buttons so they don't get rubbed off by hands.. and if they weren't so greedy they would have done a better quality paint job.

Elektron : a facade of quality and hi-tech concealing cheap and nasty stuff...It doesn't have to be made in China.

User avatar
Rex Coil 7
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7022
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Captain Of Outer Space

Post by Rex Coil 7 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:18 am

Panason wrote:
shreddoggie wrote:Seems pretty lame for devices that are a year or 2 old at the most. .
The mk1 boxes were declared "legacy" by Elektron, who rewarded the fans with mk2 versions ( which also have lame displays). :yay:

On the Rytm mk1 the labelling of the buttons (white paint on black) is done cheaply and stupidly. On mine (bought new less than 4 years ago) the labels of the 16 steps are getting rubbed out from use. If they had a clue they would have printed the labels ABOVE the buttons so they don't get rubbed off by hands.. and if they weren't so greedy they would have done a better quality paint job.

Elektron : a facade of quality and hi-tech concealing cheap and nasty stuff...It doesn't have to be made in China.
Graphics on devices that are meant to lay flat on a table or desk are always beneath the knobs. Graphics on devices that are meant to be mounted vertically (such as synth modules) are always above the knob.

This is done so the descriptions are not hidden by the knobs (think about it ... and look at other audio gear meant for desktop/tabletop use .... graphics beneath the control, nearly every time).
Panason wrote:If they had a clue they would have printed the labels ABOVE the buttons so they don't get rubbed off by hands.. and if they weren't so greedy they would have done a better quality paint job.
"If you had a clue you wouldn't rub the graphics with your thumb when you use the knob ... and if you weren't such a tight wad you'd have bought better gear"

:poke:
:poke:
:poke:


:mrgreen:


:razz:




Cheers my friend .... :cookiemonster:
5U NORMALIZING PROJECT (for your entertainment) viewtopic.php?t=78836&highlight=

SCREW IT ... PULL THE PIN

arnoux
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:53 am
Location: Lisbon

Post by arnoux » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:59 am

Just noticed the same issue with mine, this picture was taken running the test mode:

Image

Fiddlestickz did you manage to fix the issue somehow?

arnoux
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:53 am
Location: Lisbon

Post by arnoux » Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:10 am

I noticed another issue with my RYTM:

the FX/kit button do not always respond :ripbanana:

If I press Function FX/kit it respond every time, but pressing it all alone it doesn't always switch to the FX page.

I tried the factory reset and the software update (two times) to not avail.

Any suggestion?

Panason
is banned
is banned
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:56 am

Post by Panason » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:23 pm

There's a guy on ebay UK that sells better quality replacement screens but I think he just gets them from an electronics supplier and marks them up....At the elektron forums there is plenty of info on the displays and replacing them...


Reeeeexxxx , nice try but I' m afraid I am right (again) :twisted: . I was talking about buttons, not knobz. :tu:

Rytm :

Image

Once again, elektron are clueless and Pioneer shows how it's done right:

Image

Looks like I'm not the only one!

Image

calaveras
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3495
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:02 pm

Post by calaveras » Mon Feb 18, 2019 11:47 am

My only problem with the A4 is that it's not as familiar or easy to use as the Machinedrum I have it next to. So I end up rarely programming more than one thing at a time on it.

I do not see any fading or anything. I also don't see that funny rainbow pattern that all your pics show?

At one point I was going to sell it, but the prices it's getting right now it's easier to keep it around for the one or two things it's good at.

I'm considering getting one of the upgraded screens for the machinedrum. That dull orange glow is hard to see at an angle.

lmgrovllum
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:29 pm
Location: usa

Post by lmgrovllum » Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:52 am

This happened to my Rytm screen after heavy use for about 3 years and likely some sun exposure.

I contacted Elektron support and they sent me a new screen for free that arrived in under a week. Back to good as new :tu:

The Mk II / Digi... screens are much superior in all aspects. I ended up selling the Rytm Mk I after getting a Digitakt because I couldn't stand looking at the tiny screen of the Rytm in comparison.

User avatar
shred
desperation tentacle
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:41 am
Location: delaware

Post by shred » Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:01 pm

lmgrovllum wrote:This happened to my Rytm screen after heavy use for about 3 years and likely some sun exposure.

I contacted Elektron support and they sent me a new screen for free that arrived in under a week. Back to good as new :tu:

The Mk II / Digi... screens are much superior in all aspects. I ended up selling the Rytm Mk I after getting a Digitakt because I couldn't stand looking at the tiny screen of the Rytm in comparison.
How long ago did they send you a replacement? Was it an easy swap? I looked into the replacement ones you could get and it was mentioned that there was some easy soldering involved, which I can do, but it still worries me.

I have a second hand A4 which I love and is starting to show some fading signs. Leaving it on for an extended time helps a bit, but I'd love to have it looking new again.
A Dingleberry Monstrosity wrote:CATS OR GTFO!!!!!

www.shredderghost.bandcamp.com



lmgrovllum
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:29 pm
Location: usa

Post by lmgrovllum » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:42 am

shred wrote:
lmgrovllum wrote:...
How long ago did they send you a replacement? Was it an easy swap? I looked into the replacement ones you could get and it was mentioned that there was some easy soldering involved, which I can do, but it still worries me.

I have a second hand A4 which I love and is starting to show some fading signs. Leaving it on for an extended time helps a bit, but I'd love to have it looking new again.
Sept 2018, not too long ago. The swap wasn't too tough, but you do need to be careful about soldering in the new screen as it's like 24 (or 36, I forget...) small pins. Just take your time and you'll be fine :tu:

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”