Demo worked... then blank

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

Post Reply
User avatar
Entrainer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:11 am

Demo worked... then blank

Post by Entrainer » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:41 pm

Finally got my Metalbox 1/4-1/8th" box... now I can
run the outs of my 828mkII into the modular.

I ran the demo for trigger on Win XP, Cubase 4.5xx
and success!

I'm assuming that the demo has timed out after 15
minutes. I thought I could reload Silent Way to test
the other plugs, like LFO.

Every time I load SW, it still remains blank.

I'm about to pull the trigger and grab this software.
I just want to make sure SW isn't crashing vs. timing
out.

User avatar
Entrainer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:11 am

Post by Entrainer » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:22 pm

This is looking more like a bug.

I closed Cubase and relaunched.

Pulled up Silent Way Trigger in the VST instruments.

Closed the plug-in interface, pulled it back up.

Now it's blank. No time out, 1st minute.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:07 am

Hmm, that's certainly not the time-out behaviour. Sounds like a bug, either in Silent Way, in Cubase or in your graphics drivers.

Are you running the latest Silent Way?

Can you post detailed system specs (XP version, graphics card, drivers etc)?

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:53 am

Go into preferences on the Silent Way plugin and turn off Constant Redraw and Eye Candy. That stopped the Gui from locking my system up on Win 7 using a GTX 260 Nvidia graphics card.

User avatar
Entrainer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:11 am

Post by Entrainer » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:55 am

Analog>Plugins wrote:Go into preferences on the Silent Way plugin and turn off Constant Redraw and Eye Candy. That stopped the Gui from locking my system up on Win 7 using a GTX 260 Nvidia graphics card.
That's a good idea. Thanks!
(That's the video card I'm using as well)

User avatar
Entrainer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:11 am

Post by Entrainer » Sun May 09, 2010 2:59 pm

Same issue is still occurring. I thought the constant redraw, eye candy fixed the issue. Running a full license now.

PM Sent with more details, specs.

User avatar
Floyd Pepper
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Northumberland, UK

Post by Floyd Pepper » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:40 pm

I've got the same problem.

On a PC I'm running Cubase 5 with Silent Way 1.6.0 demo. The 1st Silent Way plug in I open up is fine. Close it and open another Silent Way plug in and it's GUI is blank (the rest of Cubase is fine). Close the 2nd Silent Way and open a 3rd and it's also blank. Open the 1st again and it's fine.

If I shut down Cubase and restart it I get the same thing - open any Silent Way plug in and the 1st is fine and all the rest are blank.

Everything else on the PC is fine. Cubase is fine in all other areas. Turning off eye candy and constant redraw didn't help :(

If I run Silent Way in Reaper it's fine. No blank GUIs

Any ideas?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:45 am

I think I just realised what this is. Stand by for an update in the next few days.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:50 pm

Please try these:

http://expert-sleepers.co.uk/downloads/ ... _win32.zip

Four plug-ins rebuilt with a possible fix. If I fixed it the GUIs will work simultaneously with each other, and with any of the v1.6 versions.

User avatar
Entrainer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:11 am

Post by Entrainer » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:36 pm

Floyd Pepper-

Are you using XP?

If so, how much ram is in your machine?

I'm using XP with the 3GB switch written into the boot.ini file.

The only lead I have on this is due to that switch. Yellow Tools
was having a similar issue on their sample player.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:36 pm

@Entrainer, could you try those 1.6.3 versions too please?

User avatar
Entrainer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3319
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:11 am

Post by Entrainer » Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:52 pm

Yes, certainly.

The latest version I upgraded to timed out, stating "demo expired".
Do I need to authorize them again when upgrading?

I did purchase a legitimate copy.

User avatar
Floyd Pepper
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Northumberland, UK

Post by Floyd Pepper » Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:34 am

It works!!!! No more blank GUI :party:

THANK YOU! This is by far the best support I've ever received. From anyone. Ever.

I'm now off to
1) Buy the full version and await it being patched
2) Tell anyone who'll listen about Silent Way and the speed of fixing issues

I'm running XP with 2Gb of memory by the way

:hail:

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:45 am

Entrainer wrote:The latest version I upgraded to timed out, stating "demo expired".
Do I need to authorize them again when upgrading?
You shouldn't need to. Check the status of things in the Licence Manager.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:47 am

Floyd Pepper wrote:It works!!!! No more blank GUI :party:
Awesome. It's still something of a mystery why only some users have this problem, but good to hear I fixed it.

I'll do a full release early next week, at the latest.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:54 pm

Silent Way v1.6.3 is now released to fix this problem.

Analog>Plugins
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Uk

Post by Analog>Plugins » Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:51 am

I shall try this out later, would mean so much to me if this works :hyper:

User avatar
Floyd Pepper
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Northumberland, UK

Post by Floyd Pepper » Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:54 am

It's fixed!

I checked all the Silent Way modules. No more blank GUIs for me :)

Thank again for the prompt support.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:24 pm

yay :guinness:

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”