Arturia keystep controller

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Funkydroid
Common Wiggler
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:13 am
Location: Helsinki/Tallinn

Post by Funkydroid » Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:39 am

chrisdermo wrote:
Funkydroid wrote:Just wondering can it take clock from DAW via usb and send it to modular, so that when i push play on daw, modular will run? Clock as in trigger on every beat.
I think it should. I use a midi out on my interface to send midi clock into the keystep, then clock out to meng qi voltage memory sequencer. However the clock out didn't work with my double knot when I had it...... but the gate out did work to clock the double knot. Just meant I had to have the keystep on arp mode with an arp playing the whole time.
mhm..interesting

SteeVtheRipper
Common Wiggler
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by SteeVtheRipper » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:30 pm

Just got one of these to go with my new laptop for playing on the go. I think it's great but I really wish they had included a few assignable encoders. There's nothing I hate more than playing a software instrument and having to use the mouse or trackpad to adjust parameters while playing. If they had included 4/5 encoders it would have been perfect. But still enjoying it for what it is.

User avatar
slicetwo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 9:59 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Post by slicetwo » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:35 am

SteeVtheRipper wrote:Just got one of these to go with my new laptop for playing on the go. I think it's great but I really wish they had included a few assignable encoders. There's nothing I hate more than playing a software instrument and having to use the mouse or trackpad to adjust parameters while playing. If they had included 4/5 encoders it would have been perfect. But still enjoying it for what it is.
This is the only thing that's put me off from buying one. I want a more compact keyboard than my Remote SL, but I do need at least a few knobs.

User avatar
col
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:47 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by col » Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:31 pm

SteeVtheRipper wrote:Just got one of these to go with my new laptop for playing on the go. I think it's great but I really wish they had included a few assignable encoders. There's nothing I hate more than playing a software instrument and having to use the mouse or trackpad to adjust parameters while playing. If they had included 4/5 encoders it would have been perfect. But still enjoying it for what it is.
yep, same. I guess thats the Keystep Pro.

User avatar
NewNewRon
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:34 am

Post by NewNewRon » Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:36 pm

SteeVtheRipper wrote:There's nothing I hate more than playing a software instrument and having to use the mouse or trackpad to adjust parameters while playing.
;)

User avatar
Leverkusen
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Suhlendorf

Post by Leverkusen » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:19 am

col wrote:
SteeVtheRipper wrote:Just got one of these to go with my new laptop for playing on the go. I think it's great but I really wish they had included a few assignable encoders. There's nothing I hate more than playing a software instrument and having to use the mouse or trackpad to adjust parameters while playing. If they had included 4/5 encoders it would have been perfect. But still enjoying it for what it is.
yep, same. I guess thats the Keystep Pro.
I thought that's the MiniLab:

Image

User avatar
col
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:47 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by col » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:30 am

Leverkusen wrote:
col wrote:
SteeVtheRipper wrote:Just got one of these to go with my new laptop for playing on the go. I think it's great but I really wish they had included a few assignable encoders. There's nothing I hate more than playing a software instrument and having to use the mouse or trackpad to adjust parameters while playing. If they had included 4/5 encoders it would have been perfect. But still enjoying it for what it is.
yep, same. I guess thats the Keystep Pro.
I thought that's the MiniLab:

Image
rephrase: I guess a future version of the Keystep featuring both the arp/sequencer and additional encoders will be called the Keystep Pro.

User avatar
Cashman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:57 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Cashman » Sun Jul 09, 2017 4:51 pm

Can anyone enlighten me on the actual usefulness of the chord mode? Is it actually any use whatsoever if it doesn't transpose the note of the chord within a given scale? Forgive me if I'm missing something here. I'd buy this if it could do that.

User avatar
weekdayworrier
Common Wiggler
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 2:57 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post by weekdayworrier » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:36 pm

Cashman wrote:Can anyone enlighten me on the actual usefulness of the chord mode? Is it actually any use whatsoever if it doesn't transpose the note of the chord within a given scale? Forgive me if I'm missing something here. I'd buy this if it could do that.
If you mean, does chord mode move chords around diatonically (e.g., in c major it plays a cmaj triad, dmin triad, emin triad, fmaj triad etc), no, it doesn't. If you play a major triad in root position in chord mode, it will just transpose the major triad around based on whatever new root notes you play.

User avatar
Cashman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:57 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Cashman » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:57 am

weekdayworrier wrote:
Cashman wrote:Can anyone enlighten me on the actual usefulness of the chord mode? Is it actually any use whatsoever if it doesn't transpose the note of the chord within a given scale? Forgive me if I'm missing something here. I'd buy this if it could do that.
If you mean, does chord mode move chords around diatonically (e.g., in c major it plays a cmaj triad, dmin triad, emin triad, fmaj triad etc), no, it doesn't. If you play a major triad in root position in chord mode, it will just transpose the major triad around based on whatever new root notes you play.
That's what I thought. So what use is it if it's totally unmusical?

User avatar
Annwn
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Tasmania

Post by Annwn » Mon Jul 10, 2017 2:38 am

Cashman wrote:
weekdayworrier wrote:
Cashman wrote:Can anyone enlighten me on the actual usefulness of the chord mode? Is it actually any use whatsoever if it doesn't transpose the note of the chord within a given scale? Forgive me if I'm missing something here. I'd buy this if it could do that.
If you mean, does chord mode move chords around diatonically (e.g., in c major it plays a cmaj triad, dmin triad, emin triad, fmaj triad etc), no, it doesn't. If you play a major triad in root position in chord mode, it will just transpose the major triad around based on whatever new root notes you play.
That's what I thought. So what use is it if it's totally unmusical?
Because it creates instant "jazz" chords for house music without having to know what you're actually doing. :hihi:

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1262
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Jumbuktu » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:46 pm

Cashman wrote:
That's what I thought. So what use is it if it's totally unmusical?
Well, it's not 'totally unmusical'. Listen to all those songs made in the 1980s with chromatic chord riffs. If you are a jazz pianist, you can just play CM7 / DbM7 / DM7 / EbM7 without thinking ... but many of us can't. This is a function that was made available on old synth keyboards like the Korg Poly6. It's also a staple on samplers, since you can just sample a chord and play it chromatically.

Do you really need a built-in chord function to be able to play chords diatonically?

floater
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:07 am

Post by floater » Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:58 am

Side note of the keystep subject

This new Beatstep roller feature has always been possible on the keystep if you are in arp mode just use the time division knob like you would the roller strip

User avatar
jules
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 840
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:27 am

Post by jules » Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:33 am

This little thing is fantastic.
The slew problem is annoying, but not critical for most applications, and miles away from the trouble caused by the buzz on the Qnexus (made it useless for me).
Arp and seq facilities are perfect and simple.
Being able to trigger midi and CV at the time has never been so simple and make it a joy to play.
Now make one with the slew problem sorted, 2 sets of CV outs (including another modulation CV out to access aftertouch and the mod wheel independently) with a "detune" knob for each set, and I'll buy a truck load of them.
Dieter: "who needs all this??!!??"
tak poo-poom

User avatar
weekdayworrier
Common Wiggler
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 2:57 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post by weekdayworrier » Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:27 pm

jules wrote:2 sets of CV outs (including another modulation CV out to access aftertouch and the mod wheel independently)
Yep, I keep finding myself wanting this when I use my keystep, for sure.

User avatar
Jason Brock
just visiting
Posts: 4227
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:32 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by Jason Brock » Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:47 am

jules wrote:This little thing is fantastic.
The slew problem is annoying, but not critical for most applications
Hmm, I hadn't heard about this so I Googled it. Now that I know, I can barely hear it in certain circumstances, like jumping up two octaves - on mine it's like the pitch goes slightly higher than the note and then corrects very quickly. But I agree with you under typical operation it isn't noticeable. Do you have any audio that demonstrates the slew problem?

lava
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 7:05 pm

Post by lava » Wed Aug 30, 2017 6:13 pm

Quick question:

Can the Keystep ingest MIDI CCs (say, from a desktop synth's knobs) at its MIDI in port and send them to a computer over USB? The manual is not explicitly clear on this.

User avatar
metasonix
Tube Pioneer
Posts: 4513
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:35 pm

Post by metasonix » Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:25 pm

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/KeyStep
"Available Soon
Reserve yours now, risk-free, or contact us for more information. We'll ship it as soon as it's available. "

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/keyboard ... ep&index=2
"In Stock & Ready To Ship"


"Only 10 left in stock - order soon."

https://www.perfectcircuitaudio.com/art ... ystep.html
"Availability: In stock"

https://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-AUA-KEYSTEP
"In Stock! Order now, ships next business day!"

http://www.detroitmodular.com/arturia-keystep.html
"Availability: In stock"

And it's not listed by Analogue Haven, Big City Music, Schneider, CTRL or several other modular specialists. So is it available/usable or not?

(I'm most interested in it because it claims to put out Hz/v CV. Which would be usable with our oscillator products.)

User avatar
CalvaryBand
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:50 am
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by CalvaryBand » Sun Sep 03, 2017 6:29 pm

metasonix wrote:https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/KeyStep
"Available Soon
Reserve yours now, risk-free, or contact us for more information. We'll ship it as soon as it's available. "

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/keyboard ... ep&index=2
"In Stock & Ready To Ship"


"Only 10 left in stock - order soon."

https://www.perfectcircuitaudio.com/art ... ystep.html
"Availability: In stock"

https://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-AUA-KEYSTEP
"In Stock! Order now, ships next business day!"

http://www.detroitmodular.com/arturia-keystep.html
"Availability: In stock"

And it's not listed by Analogue Haven, Big City Music, Schneider, CTRL or several other modular specialists. So is it available/usable or not?

(I'm most interested in it because it claims to put out Hz/v CV. Which would be usable with our oscillator products.)
Quite usable/available. I have used the Keystep to control a MS-20 sporting Hz/v with great success.
Jordan Passmore -
ONInstagram / Live synth sessions.

jonatron
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:33 pm

Post by jonatron » Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:36 am

After spending a good deal of time trying to get this question answered here and on arturia's forum:

Is it possible to send both a clock signal AND gate/cv from a DAW simultaneously? I spent a good bit of time trying and seemingly could only send one or the other. The closest I got to sending gate and CV with the clock was using the arpeggiator... which literally arpeggiated the gate/cv output coming from my DAW. If anyone knows how to achieve sending clock PLUS gate/cv from DAW/USB, I'd love to know how...

User avatar
CalvaryBand
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:50 am
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by CalvaryBand » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:20 pm

jonatron wrote:After spending a good deal of time trying to get this question answered here and on arturia's forum:

Is it possible to send both a clock signal AND gate/cv from a DAW simultaneously? I spent a good bit of time trying and seemingly could only send one or the other. The closest I got to sending gate and CV with the clock was using the arpeggiator... which literally arpeggiated the gate/cv output coming from my DAW. If anyone knows how to achieve sending clock PLUS gate/cv from DAW/USB, I'd love to know how...
Have you tried the sync out jack from the Keystep? You can customize the type of signal coming from this jack in the Keystep's software (I used 48PPQ for my LinnDrum but there are many sync division types supported).
Jordan Passmore -
ONInstagram / Live synth sessions.

jonatron
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:33 pm

Post by jonatron » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:08 am

CalvaryBand wrote: Have you tried the sync out jack from the Keystep? You can customize the type of signal coming from this jack in the Keystep's software (I used 48PPQ for my LinnDrum but there are many sync division types supported).
Yeah. I'm using the sync out, cv and gate jacks simultaneously. I'm trying to send a MIDI sequence PLUS sync from my DAW, at the same time. the keystep only seems to output one or the other - or I can send an arpeggiated version of my MIDI sequence along with the sync.

What I want to do is output the raw cv/gate from the MIDI sequence in my DAW along with sync from that same project. I would have thought this would be simple, maybe I'm just missing something obvious.

User avatar
z3r01
The Mighty Souls
Posts: 2028
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:28 am
Location: Singapore

Post by z3r01 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:03 am

Anyone experiencing dead keys on the Keystep? Mine has about 5-6 dead keys. Started with 1-2 keys with intermittent response issues, and was away for a bit and now, about 6 keys are either dead, or are a little dodgy in response.

The Keystep is out of warranty, and was wondering if there might be a way to fix it myself? Thanks in advance!

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Post by hawkfuzz » Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:30 am

I have a one myself. The very last key. Started randomly and I also can't use he cv/gate/mod outs unless all of them are hooked up to something. Otherwise the pitch doesn't put out any pitch.

I like this keyboard but I think I'd be better off getting a midi controller and a midi module. I want more keys.

coaster0
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:50 am
Location: CA

Post by coaster0 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:03 am

I want a pro version with knobs. This would be perfect I think.

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”