intellijel Rainmaker

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
jmax313
Common Wiggler
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:42 am

Post by jmax313 » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:14 am

How would I fix the screen popping out of place on my rainmaker? I know I read it in this thread somewhere when I was looking for a rainmaker, but now that I have one I can't find :despair:

Thanks in advance

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4095
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Sinamsis » Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:49 pm

jmax313 wrote:How would I fix the screen popping out of place on my rainmaker? I know I read it in this thread somewhere when I was looking for a rainmaker, but now that I have one I can't find :despair:

Thanks in advance
I think I used double sided foam tape to keep it in place. Hopefully someone else will chime in.

User avatar
damase
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1614
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:33 am
Location: Texas

Post by damase » Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:01 pm

For a simple diy fix I used a small strip of pro-Velcro on the top. No need for the Velcro but the pro stuff will really hold stronger than any tape I’ve ever used. Mine has held up well for a long time now- maybe two years. I forgot about the screen issue altogether

jmax313
Common Wiggler
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:42 am

Post by jmax313 » Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:21 pm

damase wrote:For a simple diy fix I used a small strip of pro-Velcro on the top. No need for the Velcro but the pro stuff will really hold stronger than any tape I’ve ever used. Mine has held up well for a long time now- maybe two years. I forgot about the screen issue altogether
Sinamsis wrote:I think I used double sided foam tape to keep it in place. Hopefully someone else will chime in.
So simple. Sweet. Thanks fellas, now I can wiggle without worry :bananaguitar:

Cuchulainn
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:46 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Cuchulainn » Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:06 pm

Going to update this... got the firmware from intellijel website but this 'laser mammoth' site will just not let me create an account on any device/internet service or browser :/ has anyone still got the sysex files and could drop a download link for me plz?

User avatar
dhoinjo
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 1:18 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by dhoinjo » Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:03 am

Anybody has an idea if the input is protected for too high voltages? In the manual it says you can put 0-5v in. Could I patch an envelope of a quadra (0-8v) straight into the input and use that as a very short pulse to ping the comb filter if I don't set the input attenuators too high? Or is this a really bad idea?

User avatar
lohacker
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:48 am

Post by lohacker » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:48 am

dhoinjo wrote:Anybody has an idea if the input is protected for too high voltages? In the manual it says you can put 0-5v in. Could I patch an envelope of a quadra (0-8v) straight into the input and use that as a very short pulse to ping the comb filter if I don't set the input attenuators too high? Or is this a really bad idea?
I've sent some envelopes into it (probably a quadra too!), just use the onboard attenuators and you'll be fine.

User avatar
dhoinjo
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 1:18 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by dhoinjo » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:27 am

lohacker wrote:
dhoinjo wrote:Anybody has an idea if the input is protected for too high voltages? In the manual it says you can put 0-5v in. Could I patch an envelope of a quadra (0-8v) straight into the input and use that as a very short pulse to ping the comb filter if I don't set the input attenuators too high? Or is this a really bad idea?
I've sent some envelopes into it (probably a quadra too!), just use the onboard attenuators and you'll be fine.
thanks!

User avatar
atte
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:21 am
Location: Copenhagen/Denmark
Contact:

Post by atte » Sat Dec 15, 2018 4:39 pm

Quick question: will the rainmaker retain ALL its settings between power cycles?

User avatar
StateAzure
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:32 am
Location: UK

Post by StateAzure » Sat Dec 15, 2018 4:46 pm

jmax313 wrote:How would I fix the screen popping out of place on my rainmaker? I know I read it in this thread somewhere when I was looking for a rainmaker, but now that I have one I can't find :despair:

Thanks in advance
Wait! what?! Are you telling me it's common for the screens to fall out of these things? Or just on very old units or something?

User avatar
lohacker
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:48 am

Post by lohacker » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:38 pm

atte wrote:Quick question: will the rainmaker retain ALL its settings between power cycles?
No, You have to save the current state in a preset slot (saving on 1st preset will load it automatically when power up)

User avatar
dhoinjo
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 1:18 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by dhoinjo » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:52 pm

StateAzure wrote:
jmax313 wrote:How would I fix the screen popping out of place on my rainmaker? I know I read it in this thread somewhere when I was looking for a rainmaker, but now that I have one I can't find :despair:

Thanks in advance
Wait! what?! Are you telling me it's common for the screens to fall out of these things? Or just on very old units or something?
Mine is misaligned. But not much. Still easy to read the screen. It seems indeed a rather common problem.

User avatar
atte
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:21 am
Location: Copenhagen/Denmark
Contact:

Post by atte » Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:22 pm

lohacker wrote:
atte wrote:Quick question: will the rainmaker retain ALL its settings between power cycles?
No, You have to save the current state in a preset slot (saving on 1st preset will load it automatically when power up)
Hmm too bad. Will the loading of preset 1 restore the state 100% then?

User avatar
lohacker
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:48 am

Post by lohacker » Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:28 pm

atte wrote:
lohacker wrote:
atte wrote:Quick question: will the rainmaker retain ALL its settings between power cycles?
No, You have to save the current state in a preset slot (saving on 1st preset will load it automatically when power up)
Hmm too bad. Will the loading of preset 1 restore the state 100% then?
Absolutely yes, every setting is stored and the module power up always in 1st preset regardless of the last used one.

User avatar
g0lem
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:16 pm

Post by g0lem » Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:01 pm

Is this thing in stock anywhere?

Having trouble finding it for sale right now.

User avatar
Misk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:57 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Misk » Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:24 pm

lohacker wrote:
atte wrote:
lohacker wrote:
atte wrote:Quick question: will the rainmaker retain ALL its settings between power cycles?
No, You have to save the current state in a preset slot (saving on 1st preset will load it automatically when power up)
Hmm too bad. Will the loading of preset 1 restore the state 100% then?
Absolutely yes, every setting is stored and the module power up always in 1st preset regardless of the last used one.
it's easy to set preset one's trigger input to allow for preset changing via triggers/gates tho so you could have it set up to automatically be ready for preset-change via trigger on power-on. it's a versatile (not) little beast.

User avatar
cackland
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1728
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:42 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Post by cackland » Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:38 pm

g0lem wrote:Is this thing in stock anywhere?

Having trouble finding it for sale right now.
I would only assume Intellijel are waiting to release another batch until they have updated their panel manufacturing process.

I could be wrong.

User avatar
insoul8
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1037
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:48 am
Location: Washington, DC

Post by insoul8 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:17 pm

cackland wrote:
g0lem wrote:Is this thing in stock anywhere?

Having trouble finding it for sale right now.
I would only assume Intellijel are waiting to release another batch until they have updated their panel manufacturing process.

I could be wrong.
They should be hitting dealers very soon according to Intellijel.

joskery
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 434
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Post by joskery » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:26 pm

One thing I wish could be tweaked on the Rainmaker is the depth scaling of the modulation, both for the delay and comb.

If you set, say, the random waveform and set the modulation depth to 1, the lowest value, it still modulates the delay/comb filter pretty much all over the place. Subtlety cannot be achieved.

I'm hoping there'd be a workaround, but I tried doing the same via the MOD inputs and they were the same... off from 0->1, then suddenly, big jitters.

Any any any chance for firmware tweaks?

dangulberry
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:59 am
Location: Berlin

Post by dangulberry » Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:34 am

joskery wrote:One thing I wish could be tweaked on the Rainmaker is the depth scaling of the modulation, both for the delay and comb.

If you set, say, the random waveform and set the modulation depth to 1, the lowest value, it still modulates the delay/comb filter pretty much all over the place. Subtlety cannot be achieved.

I'm hoping there'd be a workaround, but I tried doing the same via the MOD inputs and they were the same... off from 0->1, then suddenly, big jitters.

Any any any chance for firmware tweaks?
I haven't played with the internal modulation, mostly because it doesn't respond to ext clock, but also because I can't get much subtlety out of it. It's a shame that the Rainmaker is lacking quite a few basic, "expected" behaviors. I'm tempted to sell it and buy a 4ms DLD at this point. Yes, I'd lose the pitch shifting and stacking, which brings a sense of polyphony to my rack. But I'm not sure that that's worth the price and HP.

User avatar
mikmanner
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

Post by mikmanner » Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:19 am

The Rainmaker is a pretty strong sound design tool:

http://soundcloud.com/mgfm_sounds/rainm ... and-spaces
I make sounds and games // www.mgfm.space

SarahB
Common Wiggler
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:33 am

Post by SarahB » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:01 am

mikmanner wrote:The Rainmaker is a pretty strong sound design tool:

http://soundcloud.com/mgfm_sounds/rainm ... and-spaces
wow, these sound amazing! What sort of techniques did you use to make them if you don't mind me asking?

User avatar
cliffemu
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by cliffemu » Thu Feb 21, 2019 3:01 pm

mikmanner wrote:The Rainmaker is a pretty strong sound design tool:

http://soundcloud.com/mgfm_sounds/rainm ... and-spaces
Nice work. Are these all initiated from the internal ping or shaped noise?

User avatar
g0lem
Common Wiggler
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:16 pm

Post by g0lem » Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:14 am

I finally got my hands on one of these...

This is ridiculous. That comb filter does something to thin digital oscillators and low-pass gates. It pairs EXTREMELY well with my Hertz Donut; in a very unexpected way.

I'm in love.

ckwjr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:30 am

Post by ckwjr » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:59 am

Got mine this week as well after a multi-month wait. The learning curve isn't nearly as daunting as I expected it to be. I've been playing with the Karplus Strong presets doing a two voice string duet-ish melody along with the 2hp Pluck, which is funny considering the amount of real estate Rainmaker now takes up in my rack next to the Pluck. My largest module by a significant margin.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”