Audio Damage ADM16 DubJr Mk2 ("glitch" demos added

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

mistertim
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:19 am
Location: London, UK

Post by mistertim » Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:39 am

Aha, great stuff - that all makes sense. Thanks for clarifying!

Cheers,

Tim

User avatar
Crandall1
KAAAAAAAAAAHHHNN!!!!
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Sandland

Post by Crandall1 » Thu Mar 10, 2016 12:42 pm

The product page is up on the Audio Damage site. 'Tis here.

I'll be packing the rest of the day (and tomorrow). We totally sold out of these almost immediately, so lots to do!

User avatar
pinhole_sunrise
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:28 pm
Location: Texas

Post by pinhole_sunrise » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:45 pm

Since this has a USB port, is there any way that the module could contain alternate delay types with a "secret handshake", long push on the clock button, etc? I'd really like to see a reverse delay.
Crandall1 wrote:I did some final touch-ups to the code today, and afterwards I made a couple recordings to show off some of the special effects. I'll do more standard stuff tomorrow, but here's some quick demos of the glitching and feedback loop.

ADM16 DubJr Mk 2 Special FX Demos
www.adampacione.com
https://infraction.bandcamp.com/album/f ... -to-motion
www.elevatorbath.com
http://auralcanyonmusic.bandcamp.com/al ... gers-split
http://soundcloud.com/adampacione
obviousless wrote:May the PCB be with you. And also with you.
Schaeffer might be the 'father', but Parmegiani is the god.

User avatar
Crandall1
KAAAAAAAAAAHHHNN!!!!
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Sandland

Post by Crandall1 » Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:34 pm

pinhole_sunrise wrote:Since this has a USB port, is there any way that the module could contain alternate delay types with a "secret handshake", long push on the clock button, etc? I'd really like to see a reverse delay.
This is entirely a personal preference, which is reflected in the design of all our products: I _HATE_ secret / hidden / whatever features. I want something to do what it says on the box, and not have to hunt around or know the cheat code or whatever to get the entire functionality.

So no, there isn't, nor will there be, any hidden functionality.

That said, as soon as I figure out how to predict the future, I can make a reverse delay. In real time, there is no such thing. Only clever fakes. But if I could predict the future, I probably would play the stock market and not make Euro modules. :hihi:

User avatar
Worwell
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 810
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:06 am
Location: California

Post by Worwell » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:01 pm

Crandall1 wrote:
pinhole_sunrise wrote:Since this has a USB port, is there any way that the module could contain alternate delay types with a "secret handshake", long push on the clock button, etc? I'd really like to see a reverse delay.
This is entirely a personal preference, which is reflected in the design of all our products: I _HATE_ secret / hidden / whatever features. I want something to do what it says on the box, and not have to hunt around or know the cheat code or whatever to get the entire functionality.

So no, there isn't, nor will there be, any hidden functionality.
I was wondering why ↑↑↓↓←→←→BA wasn't working.

User avatar
Roy72
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:35 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by Roy72 » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:48 pm

When can we expect some more demo's of this? I'd like to hear it doing some work on a straight sequence, kinda basic Kraftwerk style delay stuff. The glitchy is cool, but I'd like straight too.

User avatar
tthogs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Asheville, NC

Post by tthogs » Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:57 pm

Just loving the mk2! Here is a patch example where the feedback loop is patched through a filter (Mannequins 3 Sisters) and blended in with the uneffected wet signal.

This delay is quirky, sometimes noisy and super musical. Bravo.

https://soundcloud.com/ec-soundtrack-sf ... asy-cavern

User avatar
letitbleep
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:27 pm

Post by letitbleep » Wed Jun 01, 2016 4:30 pm

where should the rear jumper be positioned?

User avatar
letitbleep
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:27 pm

Post by letitbleep » Wed Jun 01, 2016 4:34 pm

letitbleep wrote:where should the rear jumper be positioned?
i guess "rear" was superfluous as there's only one jumper :doh:

John Murphy
Common Wiggler
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 5:46 pm
Location: Zurich

Post by John Murphy » Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:48 am

It is almost impossible to sell Dub jr MK1 with those wobbly knobs since MK2 has been released with so much improvement...I still have classic Grainshifter and Freqshift, too. I might hold off from buying MK 2 till Audio Damage comes up with a multi-effect module or Dub jr deluxe.

User avatar
savethisrocketship
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:30 am
Location: Troy, Ny

Post by savethisrocketship » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:49 pm

letitbleep wrote:where should the rear jumper be positioned?
It looks like the jumper is only for entering the bootloader, maybe? Is that what you want or are you wondering if there should be a jumper there for normal operation? If it's the latter, mine has been working fine*** without a jumper.

*** In other news - has anyone had any problems with theirs powering up with the rest of the rack? I sometimes have to turn my case of and on again to get it to go. It *seems* like it is more likely to happen when I don't already have a clock patched into the 'clock in' prior to turning on my case, but that could be a red herring. It's happened enough times that it's a thing that I am wary of, but not enough to spend too much time troubleshooting it. Just wondering... :hmm:

fedetehk
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:43 am

Post by fedetehk » Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:51 am

do you know a good European retailer that has them in stock?

User avatar
Crandall1
KAAAAAAAAAAHHHNN!!!!
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Sandland

Post by Crandall1 » Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:02 am

DubJr Mk2 (and most STM32-based modules that use that power regulator, and there are quite a few) aren't 100% happy with some power supplies that power the +12 _before_ the -12. This causes them to go in to a fugue state where they can't boot. We're working on a fix for this, but it is a minor issue that doesn't affect many people. I don't want to call out any particular manufacturer for having less-than-stellar power supplies, but in general, you get what you pay for in that regard. If you try to cut corners on your power supply and buss boards, this is one of many issues you're going to have to contend with down the road.

Regarding the jumper, that's used to tell the unit to boot in a mode where it can get a software update via the USB. All of our -03-based modules use this same method. (We're actually replacing the jumper with a switch in the next rev.) If the jumper is in the normal position, nearest the edge of the board, this is electrically the same as there not being a jumper at all. So if it falls off or is missing or whatever, it doesn't matter. If we push a software update, then you'll need the jumper. If you put it in the position away from the edge of the board, your unit won't boot in to normal operation, as it will be waiting for a software update.

User avatar
Crandall1
KAAAAAAAAAAHHHNN!!!!
Posts: 971
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Sandland

Post by Crandall1 » Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:15 am

fedetehk The following European stores have DubJr Mk2 in stock, that I know about.

MattTech Modular (UK)
London Modular (UK)
Postmodular (UK) (He doesn't update his website often; call him.)
Funky Junk London (ProAudioEurope.com) (UK)

Schneidersladen (Germany)

Note that we don't deal directly with most European stores; Alex4 is our distributor in Europe, and the stores deal with them. We happen to deal directly with MattTech, PostModular, and Funky Junk; Schneidersladen and Alex4 are the same thing.

So, basically, it's readily available in Europe. Ask at your local, or hit up Schneider's or one of the UK stores if your local doesn't have it.

User avatar
letitbleep
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:27 pm

Post by letitbleep » Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:31 pm

Crandall1 wrote:DubJr Mk2 (and most STM32-based modules that use that power regulator, and there are quite a few) aren't 100% happy with some power supplies that power the +12 _before_ the -12. This causes them to go in to a fugue state where they can't boot. We're working on a fix for this, but it is a minor issue that doesn't affect many people. I don't want to call out any particular manufacturer for having less-than-stellar power supplies, but in general, you get what you pay for in that regard. If you try to cut corners on your power supply and buss boards, this is one of many issues you're going to have to contend with down the road.
out of curiosity, can you say a bit more about how/why a power supply that powers the +12 before the -12 is cutting corners or less than stellar?

Epignosis567
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:28 am

Post by Epignosis567 » Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:01 am

savethisrocketship wrote:
*** In other news - has anyone had any problems with theirs powering up with the rest of the rack? I sometimes have to turn my case of and on again to get it to go. It *seems* like it is more likely to happen when I don't already have a clock patched into the 'clock in' prior to turning on my case, but that could be a red herring. It's happened enough times that it's a thing that I am wary of, but not enough to spend too much time troubleshooting it. Just wondering... :hmm:
Just bought one and returned it, powered on maybe half the time. :(

Footkerchief
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:43 am
Location: you can't tell me I'm not in space

Post by Footkerchief » Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:33 am

Crandall1 wrote:DubJr Mk2 (and most STM32-based modules that use that power regulator, and there are quite a few) aren't 100% happy with some power supplies that power the +12 _before_ the -12. This causes them to go in to a fugue state where they can't boot. We're working on a fix for this, but it is a minor issue that doesn't affect many people. I don't want to call out any particular manufacturer for having less-than-stellar power supplies, but in general, you get what you pay for in that regard. If you try to cut corners on your power supply and buss boards, this is one of many issues you're going to have to contend with down the road.
It seems like the alternative to naming names is that people won't know whether the module will work in their system.

User avatar
savethisrocketship
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:30 am
Location: Troy, Ny

Post by savethisrocketship » Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:47 am

Yeah, I've got the last revision Monorocket Gemini, I was under the impression they were not substandard PSU's... :hmm:

User avatar
savethisrocketship
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:30 am
Location: Troy, Ny

Post by savethisrocketship » Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:54 am

Epignosis567 wrote:
savethisrocketship wrote:
*** In other news - has anyone had any problems with theirs powering up with the rest of the rack? I sometimes have to turn my case of and on again to get it to go. It *seems* like it is more likely to happen when I don't already have a clock patched into the 'clock in' prior to turning on my case, but that could be a red herring. It's happened enough times that it's a thing that I am wary of, but not enough to spend too much time troubleshooting it. Just wondering... :hmm:
Just bought one and returned it, powered on maybe half the time. :(
That sucks! Mine is definitely not that often - and tends to come back after a power reset. My heart sank the first time it happened, thought I had fried it! Thankfully I've never noticed it happen once it has powered on, which lends credence to what CRandal said about it being a PSU issue. :cry:

User avatar
crm114
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 10:19 am
Location: Washington, DC

Post by crm114 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 10:26 am

Just got this module a few days ago and am loving it. The feedback is insanity. Thanks Chris!

User avatar
suthnear
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:03 pm
Location: located

Post by suthnear » Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:56 am

Is this module as hissy as the chronoblob? It doesn't sound like it, but the demos are all fairly busy and have a fair bit of high frequency content in them anyway

User avatar
tthogs
Common Wiggler
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Asheville, NC

Post by tthogs » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:48 pm

savethisrocketship wrote:
Epignosis567 wrote:
savethisrocketship wrote:
*** In other news - has anyone had any problems with theirs powering up with the rest of the rack? I sometimes have to turn my case of and on again to get it to go. It *seems* like it is more likely to happen when I don't already have a clock patched into the 'clock in' prior to turning on my case, but that could be a red herring. It's happened enough times that it's a thing that I am wary of, but not enough to spend too much time troubleshooting it. Just wondering... :hmm:
Just bought one and returned it, powered on maybe half the time. :(
That sucks! Mine is definitely not that often - and tends to come back after a power reset. My heart sank the first time it happened, thought I had fried it! Thankfully I've never noticed it happen once it has powered on, which lends credence to what CRandal said about it being a PSU issue. :cry:
I've been having the same issue. It happens once every 20 or 30 times I power on.

User avatar
gilesgoatboy
Common Wiggler
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 8:53 pm
Location: moon base alpha

Post by gilesgoatboy » Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:20 pm

don't suppose anyone knows if the TipTop µZeus is one of the power supplies to watch out for here?

Epignosis567
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:28 am

Post by Epignosis567 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:26 pm

Any update? Would really love to get a few of these but can't do it until the power issues are fixed. :(

User avatar
savethisrocketship
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:30 am
Location: Troy, Ny

Post by savethisrocketship » Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:31 pm

Epignosis567 wrote:Any update? Would really love to get a few of these but can't do it until the power issues are fixed. :(
I don't think it's being viewed as a 'power issue', seems like it's part of the hardware - optimally compatible with some, sub-optimally compatible with others... not sure if it flat out won't work with some PSU's or not.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”