MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Bass guitar strings
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Bass guitar strings
zodiak
I have been playing a Dynelectro Short scale bass for 30 years. During that time I have been using standard Rotosound round wound strings and cutting them down to length but I just read that its a bad idea.
Apparently I should be using thicker than normal strings so that I get the same mass as a standard mass, and indeed they wont flap as much so I can lower the action.
Is that right?
Have I been a silly plank spanker all this time?
MoogProDG
Back when that bass was made, the knowledge you speak of wasn't common.

Nothing silly about what you are doing at all man. As a guitarist, I prefer a short scale bass. I use 45-60-80-100 on my mustang bass. So did Mike Yauch on all his recordings FWIW. Pretty much every bassist I have ever worked with envies the bass tones... so I must be doing something right.

Having said that- basic physics says if you put a thicker string on the same scale length to the same tuning, the strings will have less swing. If you are looking for that- get thicker strings man smile
chromium
I play on a variety of scale lengths, and at some point went to DAddario EXL-100s - since they are relatively low cost, I can get them in short, med, and longs scale, I like the lighter 100s gauge, and I prefer nickel over stainless. They've had good longevity too (I don't change strings very often).
zodiak
Ironically I am a Physicist and tend to overthink these things, amplitude, overtones, sustain... All I really want is a lower action, less buzz, more defined tone, and inate talent.
MoogProDG
zodiak wrote: