MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

3U RingMod build: parts query ferrite bead and2u2 uf el cap
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Oakley Sound Systems  
Author 3U RingMod build: parts query ferrite bead and2u2 uf el cap
Pav
Hi, (3rd post to MW)

Im a newbie to ferrite beads -Mouser UK provided me with
what looks like a "staple with two small beads" instead of an axial single bead s per picture .. looks like
__
| | and not ---X--- as expected, Ok to use these at L1, L2 ?
x x
| |

Secondly i found 2.2uf 25v electrolytic only as tantalums for c4,17,13,14 at Mouser but seeing the photo in the build guide, having second thoughts.
Now I used tantalums on vca back in the early 80s, building a Maplin5000s (still have it), and know they are electrically substitutable, but when it comes to the audio quality, I seek your wisdom. Back then i didnt know any better, just happy to hear it working.

Looking forward to completing the Oakley 3U vca and ringmod -both work in progress.

Thanks in advance.
Synthbuilder
Pav wrote:
Ok to use these at L1, L2 ?

If they fit on the board they'll do their job just as well as the axial versions.

Pav wrote:
Secondly i found 2.2uf 25v electrolytic only as tantalums for c4,17,13,14 at Mouser but seeing the photo in the build guide

Personally I wouldn't use tants in C13 and C14 - in which they are connected across the supply rail. They'll work just fine but they do have a tendency to go pop if they ever get a voltage surge. They'll be perfect in C4 and C17 however because the current is limited and the voltage low.

Audio quality is unaffected by your choice of capacitor in any of these locations. So it is cheaper and just as good to get 25V electrolytic devices in all four locations.

Tony
Pav
Thanks Tony.