MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Thinking of starting a Frac system...need advice.
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Fractional Rack Modules  
Author Thinking of starting a Frac system...need advice.
GYS
I am pretty new to the modular world. I have a few eurorack modules in a Doepfer minicase, mostly catered to letting me to interesting modulation and timing stuff with my Oberkorn sequencer.

I know that eventually I will want to expand my modular set up to include more traditional synth components and lately I've really been drawn to the Frac format.

I've always let my gut dictate what I go for in music gear, and for whatever reason, my gut is telling me Frac would be cool to explore. 8_)

Soooo...I have some questions:

1. Is it absurd to gravitate to Frac format given that I'll just be starting a system? I know Eurorack is insanely popular and there have been posts here wondering if Frac is dying....is it? hmmm.....

2. Will Frac modules play nicely with my existing eurorack modules, Oberkorn, and my synths (Oberheim SEM patch panel, SH-101)? Are CVs the same between the two formats?

3. Will Frac modules play well with each other? Do different Frac companies have different power requirements, or can I get a rack and just go crazy with whatever modules I want?

4. Does Frac afford a decent variety in oscs, filters, and modulation sources? Filters are going to be a big part of my set up; in general I'll be using this system to create quirky bloopy techno, acid, and detroit/german techno weird stab sounds.

...think that's it for now. Thanks for your help!
xart
I would hate to see any format die...I try and support all of them. If a system is 'open' (modular) and it can make dumb noises and blinky lights to keep me off the street at night ....I'm all for it. thumbs up