MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Help me spec out a video system to go with an audio system
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Video Synthesis  
Author Help me spec out a video system to go with an audio system
JES
I'm new to video synthesis, and really want something that will be useful to video artists as well as for me to mess around with. This is for a multimedia space we are building at a university.

What I think I want to be able to do:

modulate and mess with images that come from the internet.
generate and synthesize video
interface with audio eurorack

So what I think I want:

LZX visual cortex
Prismatic Ray
a couple of passages

I'm kind of assuming all the usual Euro gestural controllers and sequencers can be used to control video modules as well, but if there are control translation issues, I'd like to know.

Also what is the video equivalent of "you can never have enough VCAs"? Are there special modulation issues for video that we need to account for?

Thanks and apologies for my n00bness. We are trying to spec things out for a grant application, so the actual purchase is a year away -- so the most important things are capabilitites that will be interesting to video artists.
nickciontea
First off. VCAs are still powerful. But the "you can never have enough VCAs" can be crossed over to any kind of mixing. VCA, Crossfades, and submixers.

I feel any amount of complex mixing is where the gold comes from. Hence my development of the Hexadirectional Fader.

As for your system. I think you only really need one passage with only a cortex and one prismatic ray.

But i'd take this chance to point you down a different path perhaps.

Cortex and Prismatic ray definitely.