ADDAC 207 back?

New Interfaces for Analog Synthesizers.

Moderators: Kent, __ag

User avatar
sopresada
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:34 pm
Location: Paradise

ADDAC 207 back?

Post by sopresada » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:24 am

I noticed the ADDAC 207 was green at Schneider's

http://www.schneidersladen.de/en/addac- ... tizer.html

But last time I checked with them I was told ADDAC had ceased producing this module. I think because there were too many issue with the firmware? Or something along those lines.

Has there been a recent update of some kind? Or is it unchanged since those last fixes were pushed out a while back?

User avatar
giftculture
Common Wiggler
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:52 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

addac207

Post by giftculture » Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:36 pm

Post edited because I did a dumb thing :) again, my apologies!
Last edited by giftculture on Mon Sep 26, 2016 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Summa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2746
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Summa » Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:16 pm

giftculture After two years on this forum you should know the rules by now... :mad: I'm guessing you intended this as an PM, but that doesn't really fly too..

To answer the OP, the module is in production afaik and the new ones come with the latest firmware installed.

User avatar
giftculture
Common Wiggler
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:52 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Post by giftculture » Mon Sep 26, 2016 4:32 pm

This is my embarrassed face! :doh:

I did in fact mean that as a PM, I didn't realize the PM wasn't kosher, looks as though I need to take a refresher on the rules, which I am going to go read again right now.

*edit*

51 is definitely < 100 :(. I don't know why I thought the threshold was 50 :(

my humble apologies and I edited my original post - not sure how to delete but mods, feel free if that makes things cleaner

User avatar
Summa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2746
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Summa » Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:08 am

giftculture
Classy! :tu: :hug:

User avatar
giftculture
Common Wiggler
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:52 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Post by giftculture » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:03 am

Summa wrote:giftculture
Classy! :tu: :hug:
Thank you :)

I love that this resource exists, I have learned so much in my time here, especially after I finally took the modular plunge at the beginning of this year, though I lurked even before then when I was wanting to learn more about modular synthesis. The last thing that I would want to do would be to behave in a matter that was disrespectful to what I consider to be an awesome community!

I have a question that is germane to buying/selling on muffs, though it is technically off topic for this particular thread, that I was hoping you could help me answer.

Obviously, posting things for sale in the For Sale forum or in your sig is verboten until you've reached 100 posts, so I understand that now. Reading the rules for BST/WTB, there is something that is a little unclear to me:

"
- Two subforums have been created, 'For Sale/Trade' and 'Want To Buy'

- ANY logged in user with at least ONE post can freely view and reply to topics in either of these subforums."

The spirit of the rules seems to indicate that the reason that one should have 100 posts before trying to sell something is to make sure that they're participating in the community and aren't some random scammer, which I get and support 100%.

Does responding to somebodies WTB request if they want to buy a module that you are interested in selling fall under that? It would make sense to me that the same rules would apply, so the rules are kind of confusing to me there, because it says that anybody with at least one post can freely view and reply to WTB posts.

Just making sure that I stay on the right side of the rules and continue to do the responsible thing as a member of this community!

Thanks!!!

User avatar
Summa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2746
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Summa » Fri Sep 30, 2016 12:07 pm

Let's do this in a PM instead..

User avatar
sopresada
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:34 pm
Location: Paradise

Post by sopresada » Tue Nov 01, 2016 4:34 am

Now Schneider's does say that the module is no longer in production. I guess there were too many problems with the firmware after all.

User avatar
giftculture
Common Wiggler
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 3:52 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Post by giftculture » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:50 am

It appears that ADDAC just released a new firmware for the IQ last week - I haven't had a chance to install it yet, hopefully going to install it today

User avatar
sopresada
Common Wiggler
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:34 pm
Location: Paradise

Post by sopresada » Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:46 am

giftculture wrote:It appears that ADDAC just released a new firmware for the IQ last week - I haven't had a chance to install it yet, hopefully going to install it today
oh, where did you read this? do you have a link/more info by any chance?

cheers!

User avatar
flo
Space Jack
Posts: 4970
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:37 am
Location: Zurich

Post by flo » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:14 am


User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4399
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Sinamsis » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:36 pm

Just stumbled across this. Anyone know of somewhere in the states one can buy the update kit? I feel so stupid I didn't snag it when I ordered my 221/222 directly from ADDAC but it slipped my mind. I'd rather not have another item shipped across the Atlantic, but if I must...

I also don't know where the misinformation comes from about the 207. I know if it was pretty buggy on release, but I've owned it for 2 years now and it is by far my favorite quantizer I have ever owned. The only complaints I have are that the gate input is picky, and things go bonkers if your gate input is too short. Also, I've never managed to use the transpose function, and I think it's because I just don't understand the manual's description. In general, I find ADDAC's documentation kind of lacking. Still, I LOVE this thing.

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4399
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Sinamsis » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:48 pm

Actually, I looked over the PDF again. Does anyone know if a Pickit would work for this? I already have a Pickit 3 I use for my Harvestman modules.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11004
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Tue May 23, 2017 5:03 am

Sinamsis wrote:Actually, I looked over the PDF again. Does anyone know if a Pickit would work for this? I already have a Pickit 3 I use for my Harvestman modules.
Hey man, did you get yours upgraded? I'm considering rebuying the 207 as it seems it's bug free this time around. I really enjoyed making musical chord progressions with it.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4399
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Sinamsis » Tue May 23, 2017 7:25 am

No I ended up selling it because I had 3 OCs. Ha big mistake. It's just such an immediate and intuitive (no pun intended) quantizer. I'll probably get another at some point. The one issue I noticed when I had mine is it didn't not handle triggers well. It would get really glitchy and then I some times had to cycle the power on my case. It's still one of the best quantizers I've used.

As an aside, the OC is really good for chord based stuff. The newest firmware should be even better for that. It pairs very well with the 221/222 as well.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11004
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Tue May 23, 2017 7:29 am

Yeah, I need to upgrade my O&C but I still feel like ADDAC 207 will be much better for quad quantizing. No menu diving is great, plus the O&C can do much more it would be a waste to have it as a dedicated quantizer.

I think the latest 207 firmware is bug free. :hmm:
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4399
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Sinamsis » Tue May 23, 2017 8:36 am

I sold mine before updating so I can't comment. I was trying to say even with the old firmware that was the only thing I noticed. But if I processed the trigger through my Propagate it was not an issue.

User avatar
bonjourmyfriends
Common Wiggler
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:14 am

Post by bonjourmyfriends » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:17 am

Does anyone have the updated firmware K_3 that they could send me? Or provide the proper download link? The links on ADDAC's page go nowhere. Mac & Windows both OK.

User avatar
ADDAC System
Common Wiggler
Posts: 219
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 12:39 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Contact:

Post by ADDAC System » Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:11 am

bonjourmyfriends wrote:Does anyone have the updated firmware K_3 that they could send me? Or provide the proper download link? The links on ADDAC's page go nowhere. Mac & Windows both OK.
Hey,

sorry you're having problems with the link. We need to update links for several downloads. Click here to get the correct firmware!
Questions? Assistance? Hit me up via PM or send us an email!

ADDAC System | [www.addacsystem.com]

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11004
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Fri Sep 01, 2017 2:04 pm

Can someone please remind me, does the 207 fire gates at its outputs if nothing is plugged in at its gates inputs, whenever a quantization event takes place? :hmm:
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
SlyFrank
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:45 pm
Location: FL

Post by SlyFrank » Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:40 pm

Paranormal Patroler wrote:Can someone please remind me, does the 207 fire gates at its outputs if nothing is plugged in at its gates inputs, whenever a quantization event takes place? :hmm:
I asked myself this same question a couple of months ago, so I tried it out. Unless I was doing something wrong, it didn't work for me. Gates only fired on the outputs if gates were being received on the inputs. With no gates on the inputs no gates fired on the outputs, despite quantization events taking place.

So I plan to use an Ornament & Crime for this function (Meta-Q app). It should work but I'm traveling so haven't had a chance to check it out, but from the manual it _should_ work.

AndreasD
Common Wiggler
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:04 pm

Post by AndreasD » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:44 pm

SlyFrank wrote:
Paranormal Patroler wrote:Can someone please remind me, does the 207 fire gates at its outputs if nothing is plugged in at its gates inputs, whenever a quantization event takes place? :hmm:
I asked myself this same question a couple of months ago, so I tried it out. Unless I was doing something wrong, it didn't work for me. Gates only fired on the outputs if gates were being received on the inputs. With no gates on the inputs no gates fired on the outputs, despite quantization events taking place.
The manual says:
Gate In: Trigger Input for External Quantisation timing. If this input is used it only Quantizes next note only when a trigger is received. If it's not used then it will quantize depending to CV changes only.

That is different to what SlyFrank experienced.
Can anybody else verify this point?
I'm close to get a 207 and this behavior is important to me.
Thanks!

User avatar
SlyFrank
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:45 pm
Location: FL

Post by SlyFrank » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:48 pm

AndreasD wrote:
SlyFrank wrote:
Paranormal Patroler wrote:Can someone please remind me, does the 207 fire gates at its outputs if nothing is plugged in at its gates inputs, whenever a quantization event takes place? :hmm:
I asked myself this same question a couple of months ago, so I tried it out. Unless I was doing something wrong, it didn't work for me. Gates only fired on the outputs if gates were being received on the inputs. With no gates on the inputs no gates fired on the outputs, despite quantization events taking place.
The manual says:
Gate In: Trigger Input for External Quantisation timing. If this input is used it only Quantizes next note only when a trigger is received. If it's not used then it will quantize depending to CV changes only.

That is different to what SlyFrank experienced.
Can anybody else verify this point?
I'm close to get a 207 and this behavior is important to me.
Thanks!
No, that is what I experienced. The question was will a gate out fire if there is no gate input and there is a quantization event. The answer for me was no. It still quantizes without a gate input, but it won't output a gate.

AndreasD
Common Wiggler
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:04 pm

Post by AndreasD » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:04 pm

SlyFrank wrote:
AndreasD wrote:
SlyFrank wrote:
Paranormal Patroler wrote:Can someone please remind me, does the 207 fire gates at its outputs if nothing is plugged in at its gates inputs, whenever a quantization event takes place? :hmm:
I asked myself this same question a couple of months ago, so I tried it out. Unless I was doing something wrong, it didn't work for me. Gates only fired on the outputs if gates were being received on the inputs. With no gates on the inputs no gates fired on the outputs, despite quantization events taking place.
The manual says:
Gate In: Trigger Input for External Quantisation timing. If this input is used it only Quantizes next note only when a trigger is received. If it's not used then it will quantize depending to CV changes only.

That is different to what SlyFrank experienced.
Can anybody else verify this point?
I'm close to get a 207 and this behavior is important to me.
Thanks!
No, that is what I experienced. The question was will a gate out fire if there is no gate input and there is a quantization event. The answer for me was no. It still quantizes without a gate input, but it won't output a gate.
Sorry, my mistake. I misinterpreted the manual's text.
Thanks for clarifying!

LightsOfCérès
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:21 am
Location: SAINT DENIS

Post by LightsOfCérès » Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:37 am

Hello,

I have read lots of things about the ADDAC 207, but i have not been able to find what i want to do with.

I would like to transpose with a keyboard (QuNexus).

I have read the manual, tried to configure the assign input, but it doesn't transpose the way I expected.
It makes something, kind of changes "the color" of the sequence, but doesn't transpose like :

Sequence in C minor,
Play D on the keyboard,
it didn't play D minor.

If someone as been able to transpose with the assign input, please give me informations of how you did it ? Please

Post Reply

Return to “ADDAC System”